We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sophisticated Boutique Hotel for Non-tourists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Scarlet Hotel to your Saves list
The Scarlet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Erskine Road, Singapore 069333, Singapore (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Premium Package
Ranked #32 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Sophisticated Boutique Hotel for Non-tourists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

The Scarlet is a sophisticated boutique hotel for non-tourists. It is everything I expect in a world-class boutique hotel: location reflecting the character of the city, small number of rooms (not a corporate compound), personalized service, interesting architecture, intentional interior design and unique feel, useful luxurious amenities, attention to detail.

The service was personalized. There was someone to open the doors for us, smiled and greeted us as we walked in. They were courteous at the front desk and whenever we called from our room. They offered us to walk in front of them and insisted that we always leave the elevator first.

The location was perfect for us, within easy walking distance to two MRT rail stations (Chinatown or Raffles Place) and also convenient for taxis or buses. Also across the street was the legendary Maxwell Food Centre which had the best (and cheapest) "street food" in the entire country.

Pros: VERY comfortable beds, Free fast interenet access (other hotels charged $10 or more per day), very nice slippers (see photo), close to MRT and Maxwell Food Centre, free newspaper daily, complementary water and Limonata drinks on our first day, hardwood floors in the entry.

Cons: rooms a bit small (but no smaller than average rooms in Singapore)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    393
    109
    44
    30
See reviews for
46
464
123
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

perfect located in Chinatown, especially if you are gay, many bars and sauna. very clean, super nice stuff, very helpful and nice, internet for free in the room, very good food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed in an executive room with balcony for 2 nights on our way to Vietnam which even though it is considered to be one of the larger rooms in the hotel, we found it was extremely small and found it difficult to maneouvre around the room and almost impossible to do so with 2 large suitcases ....... could only open the suitcases on the bed as there wasnt enough room to do so anywhere else. The decor was very nice and opulent looking (sort of Moulin Rouge meets Dracula with plush red velvets, gold brocade curtains and black surfaces) and the staff were very efficient, although a little disappointing in the bar/restaurant where they took our order and then promptly forgot about us, which if they were busy might have been acceptable but there were few people there. We booked this hotel due to its proximity to Chinatown which we found a little disappointing in comparison to Chinatown in KL. If we were to find ourselves in Singapore again, I would book one of the larger hotels in and around Clarke Quay as we found this area had more to offer visitors who were there for a short time only.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at The Scarlet. I'm asthmatic and love the fact that you really can't smoke in the rooms. I stayed there with 2 smokers and they had to step out to smoke which was good for me :) Although the room we had was tiny, it was designed very well. The bathroom also had ample space and was well stocked so it was a very comfortable stay. Only down-side was that the room and lifts were too far from the entrance but overall the room was great (no windows but great), the bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean and the smell pleasant. I recommend you try it for the feel of the place and the value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Before booking, I was looking for location first and foremost. I knew I wanted to avoid the generic big hotel chains of the Orchard Road area since I'm not interested in shopping. I usually don't lend much credence to self-assigned star ratings I was looking for and expecting something more spartan, but in fact the Scarlett hotel is very luxurious. It is truly boutique hotel I would recommend it most for couples on romantic getaways.

Since Expedia was selling the "Executive room" at a discount, it was cheaper than the lesser "deluxe". The room was huge and had a little desk, fridge, and all the amenities (and DVD player with free rentals at the front desk). The room was absolutely spotless (how very 'Singapore'!) and very quiet.

I remember a traveller review lamenting the long walk to the lobby (as the hotel is built length-wise). Well I got the very last room at the end of the last corridor on the second floor! It is not that bad, but because the hallway is not in a straigh tline, you may get the impression that you are stuck in a maze. But the distance from the room wasn't a concern to me I since I spent all my time in Singapore walking and using the SMRT transit.

And the hotel's location is perfect for the MRT as it sits right between Chinatown MRT and Tanjong Pagar MRT (the one to Changi Airport). A 5 minute walk either way. Since they are on different lines, you get more options.

Staff were extremely courteous and very efficient (very short wait at checkout).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

The Scarlet Hotel is located in Chinatown on a quiet street one block off the main drag. The staff is super helpful with touring advice, restaurants and local attractions. The hotel is one block from Club Street, which is a chic restaurant and club venue. The MRT subway entry is nearby giving you ready access to the whole city. Our room was ample size, free TV, modern bath (shower, no tub). A breakfast buffet is extra at US$20. The ride from the airport is about 30 mins and about US$20. The rooftop restaurant is pretty but a bit pricey. There is a fitness center and outdoor hot tub. A daily newspaper (The Straight Times) appears each morning. Hotel decor is sumptuous.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Recently stayed at the Scarlet. Were given a room that was so small we couldn't both walk around the bed at the same time. No window and only a skylight. Frustratingly, on our final day we saw some of the other rooms which looked nice and much bigger. So if you get Room 228, ask to change. Breakfast unimpressive. Bathroom a bit mouldy. Location excellent.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: 33 Erskine Road, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Singapore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#31 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#41 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scarlet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.