We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Scarlet Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Scarlet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Erskine Road, Singapore 069333, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is located in very good area for exploring Chinatown. So here's the but.
I had booked a room with expedia, a upgraded room with 2 single beds and a balcony. I had read reviews that said even if you get the executive room it does not mean you always get a window. I did not want to be stuck in a room without a window so I made sure to book a room with a balcony. When we arrived I was told they did not have our room with 2 beds because the person in our room had extended their stay. I explained that I booked a room with 2 beds. My sister and I do not like sleeping in the same bed and that it was not acceptable for 1 bed. They put us in a room below ground, no balcony, and narrow window at the ceiling level (not really a window because you could not even touch it must less see out of it. They crammed a cot into the room wedged into the bed. The only way we could have gotten in and out of the bed would have been climbing in from the foot of the bed/cot. After asking to speak to the manager 4 times and being moved to 2 different rooms and spending the first hour and a half of our 1st day in Singapore begging for the room we paid for she called. She asked what she could do to make things right and I told her she could give us the 2 bedroom suite that we had been shown earlier. The staff wanted us to take the suite in place of our deluxe room with a balcony and my son and daughter-in-laws room ( they also were given a room in the basement not the room they booked). After the manager checked to make sure the suite was not booked she had us moved to the suite and gave my son the room we had been shown with the window near the ceiling. It all worked out and we had a very beautiful suite, the manager and the staff were always polite and we enjoyed staying there very much. I just don't know what they were thinking. They wanted us to be satisfied with the rooms they gave us because someone else extended their stay????? They did end up taking care of us and I really did love the hotel, just not the run around.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with a balcony if you want a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear paulette p

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us. Allow us to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused on your arrival day and thank you for your patience. We regret that that rooms assigned to you upon check in was not up to your expectation but enjoyed your stay after all was settled. As a boutique hotel converted from conserved building like The Scarlet, most of our rooms are of different sizes and configurations dispite the room category. Most deluxe rooms are on the first level with skylight while more spacious with high ceiling. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your future reservation with us and i'll be happy to recommend the room type that most suit your preference. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at The Scarlet in the near future!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    279
    85
    42
    28
See reviews for
31
331
96
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for a night during my recent business trip to Singapore. The hotel is right next to the Maxwell Hawker Center. Staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you. Rooms are very nicely decorated.

The only draw back is that the room is very small. It's actually similar to other boutique hotels that I have stayed before in the China Town area. The bathroom, however, is of decent size compared to the ones within the neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Antony_Yiu

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing this wonderful review! We are pleased to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us and also the area around us. As we are converted from conserved building, most of our rooms are of similiar sizes expect the Premium rooms and the Suites will be more spacious with bathtubs as well. Perhaps you would like to try any of these room category during your next trip to Singapore! Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and i'll be happy to handle your reservations personally. We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a terrific, quirky little hotel that perfectly suits our non-corporate personalities. We were welcomed at our early morning arrival and every effort was made to make us feel at home whilst we waited for our room to be ready. The staff are excellent and the location is terrific - close to China Town and not far from everywhere else.
They are closing for renovations soon - but we hope it is just as good, if not better, when it re-opens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Bruce U

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with us on Tripadvisor! We are delighted that we have provided excellent service during your stay and will continue to strive and excel to the next service level. We wil be closed for refurbishment from July 21 to December 2013 and hope to welcome you back with us again thereafter!

Warmest regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Scarlet hotel for two nights on our way though Singapore and loved the hotel.
Extremely friendly and helpful staff, slightly small yet clean comfortable rooms and an excellent location in China town.
Would definitely return next trip to Singapore.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Lucyjn

Thank you for choosing us to be your gracious hosts while in Singapore! It's been a pleasure. Do visit us soon after our refurbishment in December 2013 and we look forward to your continual support!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at the Scarlet in 2006 and 2007 and it really had the 'wow' factor, even if the rooms were tiny and the service a bit shaky. The design was just so breathtaking that you had to love it. Seven years on, and they've neutered the design a bit, so my latest room was more English country house than bordello. Plus the soap tray was hanging off the wall, the bathroom door was dirty, the air conditioning was so-so and we did not have the advertised balcony. But the place is closing in a month for a revamp, and I would definitely try it again - the location and vibe are undeniably brilliant, and it has terrific character.

Room Tip: If you want a window, make sure you ask for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Indianophile

Thank you so much for your support all these years. We really appreciate you taking time to write us a review. We are closing from July to December 2013 for refurbishment and hope you will come visit soon after! Do follow us on our webpage or facebook to see our progress! Our reservations team will still be here to answer your questions during refurbishments should you have any. "Be mine again soon......"

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The Scarlet is one of the Small Luxury Hotels group. It is small, intimate with very friendly staff and the type of service the big guys have forgotten decades ago. The area is charming. Streets full of two story heritage houses, with the best bar life I have encountered since I don't know when. The Scarlet quite changed my mind about Singapore and I'll be a regular. That is after the renovation which is soon to begin. Not sure why it needs it.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Romer1342

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to give us this fabulous review! We are pleased to have met your service standards and that you appreciate heritage buildings. Going into our 9th year in operation, she hope a facelift will give all our valued guests a fresher look and to serve all better! Please check out our website for progress and please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime during our refurbishment for enquiries and we'll be happy to assist. We look forward to welcoming you home in December 2013.

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Scarlet Hotel is for people who like carefully designed rooms in a great part of town. While the rooms are small, they feel spacious, and it's hard not to appreciate the care that went into the design. The hotel staff are extremely accommodating and friendly, and you're right at China Town, which is a really fun area to explore; it's also great to grab a meal or a drink. The mango margaritas at the bar are pretty fantastic, especially in the hot Singapore weather (they're better than Singapore Slings).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Barry G

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We hope that you've thoroughly enjoyed our decor and would love that you visit us again soon after our refurbishment for another great experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time for your future reservations and we'll be happy to assist you personally!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: 33 Erskine Road, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Singapore
#34 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#34 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Splendia, TIG Global, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scarlet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.