We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scarlet starlet in Singapore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Scarlet Hotel to your Saves list
The Scarlet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Erskine Road, Singapore 069333, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Eat . Stay . Love
Ranked #29 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Scarlet starlet in Singapore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Great little boutique hotel tucked away in Chinatown but yet accessible to most trendy places either on foot or via a short taxi ride. Funky decor - always a quirky something somewhere, whether in the bar, in the gym or in your room! Hotel facilities are named for ease of recall eg 'Flaunt' for the gym and 'Breeze' for the rooftop bar.
Furniture commands attention with its gaudy colours , frills and baubles and bohemian fabric , all part of the rich artistic tapestry that makes The Scarlet unique.
With respect to the rooms, the sizes conform to the definition of 'boutique' so no complaints please but in some, you'd better have only brought your rucksack as there's not place for much else. And only one rucksack!

It's a lovely little gem manned by pleasant and efficient staff. The only occasional downside is the noise from the narrow alley behind the hotel or fellow guests being inconsiderate through apparently paper-thin walls, but this isn't common to many rooms.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Aquarius23
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for taking valuable time to give your many observations and lovely review! We sincerely regret the noise disturbance from the back alley, as much as we try to contain it. On your next visit, we'll be happy to assign one of our quieter rooms upon request. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future reservations and we'll be happly to handle them personally! We look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    332
    100
    42
    29
See reviews for
38
406
117
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is really dirty with black mildew around the shower and moisture marks all over the walls. The curtains are broken with mystery stains and so don't block out the verandah light that is permanently on outside. (there is not way to switch it off I asked) The carpets are dirty and smell of cigar smoke and the air conditioning is so loud that you can't sleep. The bathroom door had dirty marks around the handle and muck all over the glass. On top of that they tried to say that this was an upgrade. What a dump its a horrible place. The restaurant smelt of garbage as you walked in.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel and not in chinatown
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear catie d
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your personal review of The Scarlet. We regret that you have found some aspects of your accommodation to be lacking and appreciate your kind patience and understanding. As a Deluxe room with window was not available upon your arrival, an upgrade to Executive with balcony room was accorded for your stay. We are pleased to advise that The Scarlet will be undergoing refurbishment by third quarter of this year. We have an ongoing preventive maintenance in place to rectify room defects at the moment. The hotel's air conditioning and carpet will be replaced during the refurbishment. We sincerely look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next visit to Singapore and i will be happy to handle your reservation personally.

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

When people asked me where I will be checking in at Singapore, and I said Chinatown, they gave me a look. See, people always book their hotels either in Orchard Road or Marina. I read the reviews, saw the price and gave it a try. And, I SO love the hotel. The hotel is an attraction by itself. I love the complimentary red back scratch, the room decor, the welcome drink, free wi-fi. Everything was well though of. Across the hotel is one of Singapore's best hawker center, Maxwell. Love the food there. There are several chicken rice stalls and I tried 2 having limited time and stomach. I must say that with Ah-Tai, there's practically shorter queue and price is cheaper and better quality than the long queue Tian Tian. Reason being that AhTai's chef used to be the chef of Tian Tian. Then there's Beauty Empire for spa and facial. And so many nice shopping in the area. And it's not too far from Orchard Road. I am definitely going back to this hotel when I go to Singapore again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear bossrose

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing us a lovely review. We are pleased that you've had a wonderful stay with us as much as enjoying Chinatown and will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. It also came to me as a surprised that you have found the history of Ah Tai chicken rice! You must have loved this all time favourite local meal! It's a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back home at The Scarlet soon!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel located near the complex of china town but its not inside the complex itself. For me who travel with my 60 years old mom with walking disabilities, this is very perfect. We almost stay in the hotel inside the china town but when we see it, we were glad we changed our mind. As the environment was very busy, loud and pack. Scarlet is quiet enough but close enough for us to walk there. I like the corky decoration in the lobby, never forget about the big chair in the lounge area. Due to our mom disability, we are given the first floor hotel, so she can easily has short access to the lobby. The room is ok and not too cramped for me. We still have enough space to store our luggages and shopping bags (which quite a lot!!). But the room we got has no window. I actually don't mind at all, but if you do, you should ask and check first. As we wasn't given info about this earlier. But since the room was clean and ok, we didn't mind at all.
One thing that I noticed is that the room in the first floor is not decorated as corky as I saw in the website. Was actually expecting to experience a more surprising ambience. But our room are quite standard. Maybe its because we did say we were bringing our 60 years old mom. And she has no problem at all, so far she was very happy
The people there are also nice and very friendly. I come from Indonesia and they greet me with Malay language.
The breakfast is ok, is standard as any 4-5 star hotel can provide. Im also happy with the amenities in the hotel.

All in all, Im pretty satisfied and will go back there again next time I want to browse china town and will ask for room with more unique ambience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear LilaSepang
Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our team will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. Do try one of our signature suites on your next visit for an unforgettable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly and i'll be happy to handle your reservations personally. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at The Scarlet!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Good that hotel rooms will be due a upgrade this year since its showing signs of ageing.
Service was good. Restaurants fine. Public areas nice.
I'd rate this as good. Not v good. Will be interested to stay again and see the refurb.
Good relatively central location. Taxi about gbp3 to the business district. Check out the nice handicraft place along from the spa near the china town side streets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear P T

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to share with us your many observations and comments. It is very much appreciated. We too are excited about the refurbishment and do look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet soon! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future reservations and we'll be happy to handle them personally.

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed in room 106 for 1 night on a business trip. I will just list the things that were wrong with this hotel.
- No alarm clock
- No hot water. It took more than 30 minutes to get it going in the shower. Totally unacceptable.
- Shower water just flooded/leaked out onto the floor of the bathroom.
- Big red stain on carpet. It just looked disgusting even thought it was probably just wine.
- ants were visible in the bathroom and around the TV. There were not many of them, but still. Any ants are kind of disgusting.
- Some of the amenities - like the lotion - was not sealed closed. Not quite sanitary.

There were some positive aspects of this hotel:
- The staff were really friendly
- There was free internet which worked fine

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Steven R

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to give us your many observations and feedback. We regret that you've found some aspects of your accommodation to be lacking and do allow us to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. Please be assured that we do take all feedbacks seriously and will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. As we will be going through refurbishment soon, we hoped that your experiences have not marred your impression of The Scarlet and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It has to be said: Scarlet is a flirt.
When entering the lobby of the Scarlet hotel one is reminded of nothing so much as the dark, seductive, refined hedonist stylings of a Shanghai nightclub in the late twenties of the last century: Scarlet enjoys seducing you with chandeliers, dark reflective marble, semi-naughty figurines, high-rise leather chairs and Chinese Red everywhere.

The clean, stylish rooms are creatively laid out and decorated (although you may need to walk nigh endless corridors to reach them!), and fully stocked with a great assortment of personal hygiene products (including even mouth wash!). All the expected amenities are available, and then some: we were presented daily with the morning paper (The Straits Times), and the room includes shopping bags and an umbrella (not a superfluous luxury: as always in the rain season, when it rains, it pours!).

Our umbrella happened to be missing, but the friendly concierge quickly provided us with one. The concierge incidentally is very knowledgeable: he’s *the* man to ask about the city, how to get around, travel back to KL (by train) and even Singapore’s history!

The staff are very friendly and the drinks in either the stylish brown lounge bar or the breezy rooftop bar are original and lovely, though not cheap! But the surroundings, the ambiance and the view certainly make up for it and make for a lovely few hours to spend there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Roosterdragon

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing us this exhaustive review! It is very much appreciated and encouraging! We will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations and do look forward to your continual support. Have a wonderful year ahead!

Warmest regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: 33 Erskine Road, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#29 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#39 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scarlet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.