We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, Authentic, Stylish, Unpretentious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vida Vino

Vida Vino
29 Keong Saik Rd, Singapore 089136, Singapore
+65 6222 1963
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 7,412 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Vida Vino, meaning 'Wine Life' in Spanish, is a place where the beauty and the vibrancy of Spain meets the classic elegance of the Mediterranean: in an honest space that pays homage to bygone days. Vida Vino is a destination for uncommon recreation, it is a space with a total dedication and attention to quality time, it is a space that celebrates life, and wine is just the host. Vida Vino offers an excellent array of wines and a simple but authentic tapas menu.
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, Authentic, Stylish, Unpretentious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great food, great wine that's also friendly to the pocket.
Good service and vibes. Aaron is as good a host you can get. Enough of pretentious cut-throat tapas places, Vida Vino keeps it real. Where good food, good wine and good company comes together.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    29
    13
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic, stylish and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I visited this place twice in one week whilst in Singapore. The food is overwhelmingly very good value for money, although there is one prawn dish which is perhaps not quite up to the mark. There is an excellent selection of wine in most price ranges and the manager provides great advice based on your budget and tastes. The place has an air of authenticity and the interior manages to feel both stylish and authentic through an eclectic mix of both traditional and very modern decor styles. The waiting staff are friendly, polite and efficient. Seating is nicely spaced out and varied (indoor/outdoor/booth etc.).
Being here feels like an expensive night out but does not need to be - although you can certainly spend some serious money if you choose to explore the upper end of the wine list.
So why is it not a 5? Two gripes. There is a single one unisex loo (by this I mean just one actual loo in there), which can mean queuing in full view of the restaurant. And secondly, although the place has a fine sound system they tend to turn it up too loud for my tastes. Given it is primarily a restaurant and not a bar, this seems unnecessary - it can be hard to hold a conversation at times. I must qualify this by saying the sound was not turned up high all the time during my second visit, so perhaps I was just unlucky the first time.
You should definitely give the place a try if you're in Singapore and like tapas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Wine, alright food, slow service, but way too loud!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Wine selection is very good, the Tapas are small and average I would say. We were a group of 6 and could therefore try quite a bit of food: piquillo peppers were 2 small pieces, average taste. tortilla was good, Bravas Fries good also. Bikini average. Chicken skewers not that great. Spanish crown had a strange taste, not quite to my liking. Prawns average. Olives were olives.
There are about 12-14 tables in total and I could count 4 people serving the tables but somehow they couldn't manage it that well. They were seldom around when you needed them (it only took a couple of minutes until one was found, but for such a small place that is too long).
The worst part though was that it was extremely loud inside, I had a lot of trouble understanding the person speaking on the other side of the table. It wasn't loud music, but just the acoustics which were awful.
All in all it was alright, but I did expect a lot more from the top of the list!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good service, average food, very loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I tried this on our trip to Singapore because it was rated #1 on Tripadvisor. We tried 4 dishes. The Bikini that everyone raves about was fairly good, but not amazing. The tomato bread was also fairly good. The prawns had no taste at all and the chicken skewers had a weird taste according to my wife, but I thought they were average. The place is not big, but something about the acoustics made it so loud, we had trouble even hearing each other. We were planning on ordering more, but after our first round, we just got the bill and headed off to another restaurant to fill us up. Service was nice, but the quality of the food left me wondering why it was rated #1 in all of Singapore.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cool, pleasant, authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

A nice, authentic place for drink and food, to chill and enjoy.
I went there a couple of times. One was a lovely presentation by Spanish wine makers. The other time for food and drink. Always had a good time. Always a great pleasure to talk with Aaron, the boss.
Decent variety and reasonable prices for Singapore.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vida Vino also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Vida Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vida Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.