We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The InnCrowd Hostel

The InnCrowd Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The InnCrowd Hostel to your Saves list
The InnCrowd Hostel
73 Dunlop St., Singapore 209401, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I visited Singapore with friends during September to catch the F1 grand prix. As we were a bunch of bachelor friends and planning to travel on budget, we chose a hostel instead of a hotel. And this was well-suited for our purpose.

Location: The hostel is located near Bugis MRT station and near Little India locality. It's at the walking distance from both and as we planned to travel mostly using metros and cabs, it wasn't much of a problem to commute to the various parts of the city. The race track wasn't too far either from the hostel.

Service/facilities: Being a hostel, as you can imagine, there aren't many facilites. They have common washrooms, which are fairly clean. Don't expect any personal service. I had respectable communication from them prior to the visit as I was visiting the city for the first time. The WiFi is available near reception/dorm, but not in the rooms which are located in the different building

Food: The breakfast is provided as part of the stay. It's just a basic breakfast like butter-toast, corn flakes. but enough to go on.

Overall, if you're really short on the budget like we were, you can opt for the hostel, or you can even choose a decent hostel around if you are willing to hike up your budget a little.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room rather than dorm, especially if you're travelling with friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    57
    37
    23
    11
See reviews for
6
36
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Hostel is clean in a good location but a few small changes could make such an improvement. I was in a ten bed dorm, a simple small mirror would have been good and there was not one single plug socket. I would hate to be here in peak season with over 30 people trying to use the minimal number of plugs in the common area. The blankets are also from aeroplanes and cover about half your body, not good when your freezing from the air con.
The WiFi wouldn't reach my dorm and at my time of stay only one of the 3 computers downstairs worked.

Overall good price and location but a few things really let it down. Sort these out and you will have a great hostel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hostel is in a ok location in Little India but there are far better and more centeral places to stay. Our hostel room on the first night was nice and cold but the air con was very loud, so on the 2nd night someone had asked for it to be turned of so our room was boiling! After asking 3 times for it to be turned down it was finally done, at 3 in the morning. Ruined our trip there. Also toilets and showers are a bit rough but you do get breakfast and wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Walking distance to MRT, breakfast provided, unlimited internet, clean environment, friendly and helpful staff and the good thing is they will always be there whenever you need them 24/7! A good experience staying at Inncrowd.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Booked a double room for one night, but when we checked in, we were given a five-bed dorm room right beside the shared bathroom on the second floor. I think they have another building for private rooms, but we stayed at the main building on Dunlop St. Short distance from Little India MRT. As expected, it was noisy most of the time. Our room was clean and the airconditioner worked fine. The shared bathroom could've been cleaner. It was a cramped place, and the lounge was small. Didn't get to try the free breakfast. For $29/night, you'd be better off elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

a lying, cheating dump of a business.

they show double rooms as having an individual double bed with quilt and pillows, ambient lamps and couch, in reality ---
we got walked down 3 backstreets away from the main building, to another building in scary dangerous back alley, the room we were given was smaller than my bathroom at home, with the *tri bunk* (not double room as promised) bed almost hitting door. the bed was firm and you can feel the wire base through the 'mattress'. the pillows are so old, thin, worn out.
shower has nowhere to sit your things, basically a stall only.

we were handed thread bare towels to sleep with - 1 per person - in what was meant to be a double 'presidential' room for a couple. the wifi obviously didnt work as it wasnt anywhere near the hostel. the staff ignored our presence when we first walked into reception room even though no1 else was around.

breakfast is included but looks fit for pigs, not even dogs.

after reading other reviews,which i regret not reading beforehand, the place ought to be shut down.

Room Tip: dont degrade yourself by staying in this dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nice little hostel, pretty easy to find from the metro station - about a 10 min walk
Dorms are compact, but clean. Each bed has a security locker just outside the door to the dorm - padlocks and keys ate provided at reception, free of charge.
The downstairs bathroom is clean and functional, though a little small.
The common area is a raised platform with a few beanbags and a table, together with a few higher tables and tall stools. It feels fairly comfortable and sociable, although there are quite a few people sitting around on laptops/iPads and not talking much!
There are a few beers available from reception for 5SGD - not a bad price for Singapore.
Wifi is available throughout the building at no cost. There are also a few computers in the common room for general use.
The whole place feels quite secure - you are given an entry pass for the front door on arrival (you need to pay a deposit).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The InnCrowd Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The InnCrowd Hostel

Address: 73 Dunlop St., Singapore 209401, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your The InnCrowd Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inncrowd Hotel Singapore
The InnCrowd Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The InnCrowd Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.