We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The InnCrowd Hostel

Save Saved
You added The InnCrowd Hostel to your Saves list
The InnCrowd Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The InnCrowd Hostel
73 Dunlop St., Singapore 209401, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 183 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Ystradgynlais, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Avoid!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

An interesting place to stay!

Room of 8 which was ok except it had no window!!! Smelt terrible!! No clean air circulating! God awful room! If you want s room here avoid the downstairs, rooms upstairs are better!!

The bathroom was disgusting! We started showering at the local beach because it was so bad!! Toilets dripped dirty water from pipes!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    51
    36
    23
    11
See reviews for
6
34
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I choose this hostel because the review told that it's good location. But actually it is far from MTR around 1km. My mom is 60 years old. We have to use taxi to go back to hotel. Moreover, when i stayed there, i found the fight of drunk people in front of the hotel. Although reception lock the main gate immediately, I'm still so scared.

Good Service,
Good Breakfast,
Few Toilet and Bathroom, all toilets(3 rooms in my floor) occupied so often

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at a quad room in Dunlop St. for the 3 of us.
Walking to the MRT station (Bugis or Little India) was under 15 minutes.
Food was readily available in the vicinity.
The the mosque.
The breakfast was decent.
While the staffs were kind enough regarding services, the hotel only provides very small, extremely worn out thin towel.. :(

But if you are after a cheap room at a convenient location, I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: stay at the Dunlop Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed one night and moved to another hostel. The bathrooms weren't that bad when we stayed and our room had a small window which I don't think others did. It was expensive and the internet only worked downstairs as we were sent to the other location. Overall a pretty dead atmosphere and quite a generic place to stay. Its location in Little India was good though for cheap tasty food. Either spend the same amount of money and stay somewhere better or check out Ali's nest, its cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

be aware that if you get a room in the other building (they have a "main" building and the "other" one) there is NO internet and NO facilities other than run down toilettes and rooms. Showers are in need of a big clean up and fixing as all shower head do not stay in place on the wall fixing so you have to keep it in your hand in order to wash up the shampoo and soap. Staff and website do not mention this but still have to pay the full price!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

During my vacation in S'pore, I had the chance to stay in this young and dynamic hostel!
It is located in the Little India area in S'pore, but its location is just a few steps far from the MRT and it is well-linked to the Int'l Airport by Train and buses.
The hostel is quite small (just 2 floors) but definitely clean, modern, welcoming and staff is polite and well-trained; rooms are large and bathrooms are really clean, large and modern.
During my stay at the InnCrowd I had the pleasure to enjoy a full-day tour provide by the hostel with the best tour guide in S'pore, Michael!!!
Really reccomended!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I had high hopes for this hostel, the website is a treasure trove of information and booking via email was efficient and helpful. I was not overly impressed when I first arrived and then even less so when I was told I would be staying in the second location round the corner (the walk feels a lot longer with all your luggage and men eying you up constatly) and that my single room was up 2 large flights of stairs. The room was like a red and orange prison cell with only a small window in the ceiling. There is a very large TV but this only works when used in conjunction with the DVD player. In fairness the room was a decent size and the AC is good. The 3 showers and 2 toilets (if you have long legs you wont be able to fit in here) were very basic and pretty gross, they are mixed sex. Wifi is free but there is no access in the second building. The breakfast, served in the main building, is basic but decent and you can have as much as you want as well as tea and coffe 24 hours a day (no milk provided). As a single female traveller I disliked the location, Little India, which is full of migrant workers who are not ashamed of open staring and generally making you feel uncomfortable, the weekends are 10 times worse. Basically if you have to stay here then ask to be housed in the main building. I believe they should pre-warn travellers that they will be shoved in a second-rate building round the corner and maybe offer a discounted price.

Room Tip: Ask to be housed in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The InnCrowd Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The InnCrowd Hostel

Address: 73 Dunlop St., Singapore 209401, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 183 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your The InnCrowd Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inncrowd Hotel Singapore
The InnCrowd Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The InnCrowd Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.