We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff with some challenging facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Perak Hotel to your Saves list
Perak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133 , Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great staff with some challenging facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Staff were fantastic - probably best local knowledge on our 7 week holiday. It was quite noisy on the first night & the room was tight (a triple room so not the usual configuration). Breakfast was good & not crowded. It was a nice looking hotel in that it had retained features. Pretty handy to MRT (little India station). Interesting area but you might want a Google map to show taxi driver. Be mindful there is a bit of construction close by. Final comment - there was no fridge or milk in the room which was a bit inconvenient. The staff were always helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    214
    106
    20
    18
See reviews for
67
189
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Easy check in, smiling staff, helpful, efficient and proactive. The Perak hotel was a great choice for our short stay in Singapore. Firstly, although the room did not have wifi, the reception area provided space and tables to sit comfortably surfing with speed. Breakfast was ample, the room was smaller than anticipated, however, it was very clean and provided all the creature comforts required. Location was brilliant. We were able to walk just 50 meters outside to discover some great little restaurants and shops right in the heart of Little India.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Excellent value for money, helpful staff and a good breakfast. The rooms are compact but very comfortable. It is an older building which adds to the charm. A well looked after hotel that has a good feel to it, a nice touch was being served a cold glass of orange juice as we checked in which was most welcome.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a room on the ground floor as the hotel has no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were there in June 2013. SGD110-135 per night including breakfast, although not very grand. It is in Little India between two metro (MRT) stations (about 15 min walk to each), Bugis & Little India. Bugis is on the green line to Changi airport (easy change at Tanah Merah); it takes 35 min and cost SGD2; very easy to buy ticket on machine; versus SGD24 by taxi. Perak hotel is also 5 min walk to Serangoon Rd where lots of indian shops and restaurants are; Komala Vilas veg restaurant had great sweet lassi (SGD3) and masala tea (SGD1.80). In the opposite direction is the Albert Centre containing large numbers of food court style small restaurants; the Rojak and carrot cake are a must; very cheap. If you prefer A/C surrounds and more upmarket, Bugis Junction is worth a visit. Victoria St (a major thoroughfare in Singapore) is 15 min away and buses 2, 12, 33 and others run to Chinatown (SGD1.10; you can pay with cash if you have exact money).
The air conditioner failed in our hotel room but staff quickly offered us another room. Rooms are not large but good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I had selected Perak hotel for my stay for 6N in Singapore after extensive research on TA and I must say it was a very right decision. Firstly, we reached the hotel early by 11 and to my surprise was given a immediate check-in and also a free upgrade to Superior double room (I had booked std double room). We were welcomed with a welcome drink. The room was very clean though small, but had a window, tv and a small bathroom. It is good enough for couples and small families.
I found the staff at the reception very friendly. esp. Kenny & Alvin. Perak hotel, IMO is a decent budget hotel and you get what you pay for. The room cleaning service was very neat and comforting.

Also, the location of the hotel is quite good. a 7 min walk to the MRT (Little India) and few paces away from the bus stop (The verge). The hotel provides complimentary breakfast, but it was a continental spread so we chose to go to the numerous indian food joints nearby. Another thing to note is Perak don't have a inhouse restaurant, but food is not a concern when you are in Little India.

Perak in my opinion is value for money if you are on a tight budget, are not claustrophobic and want to use the hotel only for sleeping at night.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room on the third floor, as the flooring is wooden and I had noticed some guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

In November, we have two nights in transit in the Perak Hotel and we were very happy with our choice. Friendly, helpful staff! Good tips to find their way around and Little India in Singapore! For the, avoid the big hotels of Singapore and wants to be closer to the population, is the Perak Hotel first choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We chose this place because it's near the MRT station and we wanted to immerse ourselves from the different cultures of Singapore. Near the the hotel theres are Hindu and Muslim
The hotel staff are accomodating, friendly and corteous. The day we checked out they allowed us to have our baggage stored since our flight is still 6 hours away and left us more time to roam for the last time before departing Singapore.
The hotel is clean and smells good. The breakfast is not that spectacular but it is filling. I advise for you to stock up on basic staple that your stomach is familliar with (i.e bread, cereal, milk, egg) before partaking the exotic dishes of Singapore because you might end up having a bum tummy.
There's always a party outside when we stayed there but it adds texture to the place, we got curious on our last nght and crashed an independent movie set that left their tripod somewhere and ended up borrowing ours. Perak is a good value for money. If ever friends wanted to visit SG I will recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Perak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perak Hotel

Address: 12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133 , Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Perak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Perak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perak Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.