We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice cozy place at little india” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perak Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Perak Hotel to your Saves list
Perak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133 , Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice cozy place at little india”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

despite singapore being an expensive city, perak hotel offers comfortable stay at affordable rates...we stayed there as a couple and it was a pleasant experience. We got a free room upgrade wherein we could open windows - not possible in most S'pore hotels. The location was great close to LIL India MRT, with lot of local eateries /shops close by for all necessary things like sim card, travel card etc...The room size was decent by S'pore standards but the bed was really cozy and comfortable...overall a nice value for money hotel in singapore

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    214
    105
    20
    18
See reviews for
67
188
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

we book a triple room around christmas, the 3 beds are on a platform, so the remaining surface for 3 persons to move around is really too small. The bathroom is also very small and not very clean.It is located in Little India (not very clean area) .If I have to come back, I would choose another location, bencoolen, for example.Breakfast was OK, with a set menu everyday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
583 helpful votes 583 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Singapore is notorious for exceptionally high priced hotels – many of which are older, tired, and not worth what you pay for them. Those that are particularly new and modern charge accordingly. Nice middle of the road options that are clean and well run are definitely in short supply. The Perak fits the ”boutique, affordable, 3 star” category very well. The location is great, on a one way street oi the central city side of Little India, just a five minute walk from Bugis Junction or Little India stations, one city block from Sim Lim Square electronics market, an surrounded by cheap eats.
The hotel (still known to taxi drivers as the Perak Lodge) is built in a row of renovated traditional shophouses, It is a four story building, with no elevator – so is not ideal for those with mobility issues.
The Perak’s 35 rooms are small, as are all rooms in inexpensive hotels in Singapore. They are very clean, with polished original wooden floors, and quite hard beds. All rooms have small room safes, mini fridges with complimentary bottled water, and tea/coffee making facilities. I found the rooms to be comfortable, although a little dark, with not much natural light. Hallways though were light and airy.
The service at the front desk was friendly and helpful, and the included basic hot continetal breakfast and wifi were appreciated.
The Abdul Gaffoor Mosque is virtually across the road, so if you are not used to the call to prayer in the early morning, you may want to request a room at the back of the hotel, rather than on the streetfront. Personally, the melodic and somewhat melancholy call to prayer is a sound I have come to love while travelling – but the close proximity to the mosque does mean that it may be loud in the front rooms. Conversely however, some people may complain about late night neighbourhood nightclub noise able to be heard from the rooms at the back, particularly on weekends. I guess if you value complete nighttime piece and quiet, don't choose to stay in Little India.
Sure, the Perak isn’t an extremely fancy, large 5 star, but I thought it was definite value for money if you are looking for a appealing middle of the road option, and I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist about the amount of natural light in the room, or whether you will be bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Look I can't say there's too much to be negative about given that this property is in the budget or value category.

The location is terrific being in the heart of the unique 'Little India' precinct which is an interesting oasis in a sea of steel and glass in modern Singapore. The building itself has a heritage, colonial and guest house feel. It has a lovely vibe.

However, the rooms are small. Perhaps two people is the maximum in a standard room. Nevertheless, there is a slightly larger category of room which will take three at a pinch. The breakfast is spartan and has only one cooked option. We had the Mosque up the road calling everyone for prayer - very loudly - at 05:30 each morning we were in residence. In addition, there were mould issues in the bathroom. All things said and done, I submit that the most annoying thing was the placement of the air-con which was a distinct unit situated directly above the bed. It was noisy and blew cold air over us all night.

So we'd recommend the place but only as a short stay (stopover) and on a cost conscious basis.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Met up with friends in Singapore and they had already decided on this hotel. It was a great choice. Singapore hotels are very expensive so S$150/night was a bargain. Clean. Friendly staff - helpful. Walking distance to MRT so all attractions are easily accessible. Basic breakfast included in the price - not a great selection but sufficient. No in-house restaurant but walking distance to places selling reasonabley priced Indian food. Free fast wifi. Would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows, so if you feel claustrophobic without a window just ask when maki...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent the last 3 days of our honeymoon at Perak Hotel in Singapore - it was a good decision! We had booked a standard double, but as soon as we got there they upgraded us to one of their better rooms at no extra charge. Our room was lovely, though quite small, relatively quiet and light. It was furnished beautifully and the bathroom was spacious and very clean. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple, but tasty: they change then menu every morning. We liked the Kaya (coconut jam) so much, that we asked the lady in the kitchen where we could buy it from and bought 5 jars to take home with us.
What we really liked about Perak Hotel was its charm and characterful building, and good location: very close to Bugis MRT Train Station, although we prefered to walk and really discover Singapore. It is a fascinating city - enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The window of our room was blind, not a single ray of light was passing through and we could not open it. Maybe that it was better like that because the outside street was dirty and noisy. The room was very small and the breakfast very basic.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Perak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perak Hotel

Address: 12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133 , Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Perak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Perak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perak Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.