We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Perak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Perak Hotel to your Saves list
Perak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133 , Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 297 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Average - Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Look I can't say there's too much to be negative about given that this property is in the budget or value category.

The location is terrific being in the heart of the unique 'Little India' precinct which is an interesting oasis in a sea of steel and glass in modern Singapore. The building itself has a heritage, colonial and guest house feel. It has a lovely vibe.

However, the rooms are small. Perhaps two people is the maximum in a standard room. Nevertheless, there is a slightly larger category of room which will take three at a pinch. The breakfast is spartan and has only one cooked option. We had the Mosque up the road calling everyone for prayer - very loudly - at 05:30 each morning we were in residence. In addition, there were mould issues in the bathroom. All things said and done, I submit that the most annoying thing was the placement of the air-con which was a distinct unit situated directly above the bed. It was noisy and blew cold air over us all night.

So we'd recommend the place but only as a short stay (stopover) and on a cost conscious basis.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    215
    107
    20
    18
See reviews for
68
190
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
penang
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Met up with friends in Singapore and they had already decided on this hotel. It was a great choice. Singapore hotels are very expensive so S$150/night was a bargain. Clean. Friendly staff - helpful. Walking distance to MRT so all attractions are easily accessible. Basic breakfast included in the price - not a great selection but sufficient. No in-house restaurant but walking distance to places selling reasonabley priced Indian food. Free fast wifi. Would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows, so if you feel claustrophobic without a window just ask when maki...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent the last 3 days of our honeymoon at Perak Hotel in Singapore - it was a good decision! We had booked a standard double, but as soon as we got there they upgraded us to one of their better rooms at no extra charge. Our room was lovely, though quite small, relatively quiet and light. It was furnished beautifully and the bathroom was spacious and very clean. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple, but tasty: they change then menu every morning. We liked the Kaya (coconut jam) so much, that we asked the lady in the kitchen where we could buy it from and bought 5 jars to take home with us.
What we really liked about Perak Hotel was its charm and characterful building, and good location: very close to Bugis MRT Train Station, although we prefered to walk and really discover Singapore. It is a fascinating city - enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The window of our room was blind, not a single ray of light was passing through and we could not open it. Maybe that it was better like that because the outside street was dirty and noisy. The room was very small and the breakfast very basic.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Hotel is amazing in terms of service , rooms, location. Very close from major MRT station like little India ( Direct conectivity to china town, clark quay & Harbour front for sentosa), Dhoby Ghaut & Bugis. You will find all type of resturants serving various cusines near to this hotel. Staff is very polite , friendly & helpful. we stayed here for 7 days and very comfortable stay.

The breakfast options are evry limited and they should try to change menu or add few more items. Major dis advantage is in night you will find lot of labors sitting on foot paths and consming alchol near by. They do not harm any body but some people may find it some what frightening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed here a few times on overnight trips to Singapore. It's perfect for a one night stopover. It's reasonably priced, and right in the middle of Little India, so all the attractions of Singapore are on the doorstep. The rooms are quite basic but well appointed. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. It's hard to think of somewhere as nice in Singapore that's not going to cost you the earth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The first night we stayed, we accepted a room with a weird smell (possibly kretek smoke) and it was terribly noisy. Second day we asked for a new room and immediately got it...very helpful and friendly staff!! Small rooms, small bathroom, windows don't open. Breakfast is very good, eggs change every day. The noise in the new room was singapore city normal and bearable. Again, great staff

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Perak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perak Hotel

Address: 12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133 , Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 297 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Perak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Perak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perak Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.