We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perak Hotel

Save Saved
You added Perak Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Perak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133 , Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 292 hotels in Singapore
penang
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Met up with friends in Singapore and they had already decided on this hotel. It was a great choice. Singapore hotels are very expensive so S$150/night was a bargain. Clean. Friendly staff - helpful. Walking distance to MRT so all attractions are easily accessible. Basic breakfast included in the price - not a great selection but sufficient. No in-house restaurant but walking distance to places selling reasonabley priced Indian food. Free fast wifi. Would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows, so if you feel claustrophobic without a window just ask when maki...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    199
    94
    18
    17
See reviews for
61
176
40
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent the last 3 days of our honeymoon at Perak Hotel in Singapore - it was a good decision! We had booked a standard double, but as soon as we got there they upgraded us to one of their better rooms at no extra charge. Our room was lovely, though quite small, relatively quiet and light. It was furnished beautifully and the bathroom was spacious and very clean. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple, but tasty: they change then menu every morning. We liked the Kaya (coconut jam) so much, that we asked the lady in the kitchen where we could buy it from and bought 5 jars to take home with us.
What we really liked about Perak Hotel was its charm and characterful building, and good location: very close to Bugis MRT Train Station, although we prefered to walk and really discover Singapore. It is a fascinating city - enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The window of our room was blind, not a single ray of light was passing through and we could not open it. Maybe that it was better like that because the outside street was dirty and noisy. The room was very small and the breakfast very basic.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Hotel is amazing in terms of service , rooms, location. Very close from major MRT station like little India ( Direct conectivity to china town, clark quay & Harbour front for sentosa), Dhoby Ghaut & Bugis. You will find all type of resturants serving various cusines near to this hotel. Staff is very polite , friendly & helpful. we stayed here for 7 days and very comfortable stay.

The breakfast options are evry limited and they should try to change menu or add few more items. Major dis advantage is in night you will find lot of labors sitting on foot paths and consming alchol near by. They do not harm any body but some people may find it some what frightening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed here a few times on overnight trips to Singapore. It's perfect for a one night stopover. It's reasonably priced, and right in the middle of Little India, so all the attractions of Singapore are on the doorstep. The rooms are quite basic but well appointed. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. It's hard to think of somewhere as nice in Singapore that's not going to cost you the earth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The first night we stayed, we accepted a room with a weird smell (possibly kretek smoke) and it was terribly noisy. Second day we asked for a new room and immediately got it...very helpful and friendly staff!! Small rooms, small bathroom, windows don't open. Breakfast is very good, eggs change every day. The noise in the new room was singapore city normal and bearable. Again, great staff

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our first visit to Perak Hotel and we would definitely stay again. A renovated, historic building in a good location in Little India. Prices are reasonable for Singapore and included an excellent breakfast. Staff are very helpful. Plenty of restaurants nearby and only a short walk to the Metro station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Perak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perak Hotel

Address: 12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133 , Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#108 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Perak Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Perak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perak Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.