We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cosy hotel in the middle of Little India!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perak Hotel

Save Saved
You added Perak Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Perak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133 , Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice cosy hotel in the middle of Little India!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights last October and found the staff very helpful and kind,the rooms are very clean and everything is in perfect working order.We wanted to stay in Little India and this place is right in the middle of it with countless places around with good food and lots of shopping.The noise from a club next door is a little bothersome, and the call to prayer at 6am can be irritating but we got used to it after the first day,it actually added a bit of spice to our holiday.Train station is very close,so you can go anywhere easily but Singapore is not as small as we imagined and it takes a little organizing to get around.We will stay closer to the city next time,not because we don`t like this hotel but because we already explored everything around that area,we absolutely recommended this hotel to anyone that would like to stay in Little India

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from club nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    203
    97
    18
    16
See reviews for
61
175
40
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I like this hotel. I have stayed here a lot and it's my first choice any time I am in Singapore (which is at least four times a year). But you DO need to know what to expect.

It's definitely basic. Tiny bathrooms, mediocre showers, noise from clubs, mosques and creaky floors. None of this bothers me overmuch.

I like the charm of the place: it's a beautiful building, well-restored, and well-kept. I like the staff (I'm amazed at some reviews claiming the staff were rude or unhelpful - I have always found them to be extremely pleasant and approachable). I like the location (best biryanis only two minutes away).

The breakfast, to be sure, is exceptionally basic, but if that bothers you just go next door to the Indian restaurant and have a couple of egg paratha instead.

As for value-for-money, this hotel can be a little on the expensive side for what you actually get, but there's often good room-rates available so the pain is limited.

I do wish they'd sort out their wifi, though. The signal somehow manages to be poor in *all* parts of the hotel!

Room Tip: Your room is going to be noisy and hot, and perhaps cramped. If that bothers you, don't stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Good choice but not a budget option.
We paid USD 237.58 for two nights, thats basically what you will pay in a similar hotel in the center of Tokyo. (and sorry but Singapore is not Tokyo!)
Staff were helpful, the man in charge in reception made me print the Agoda confirmation receive before checking in so you may bring a copy already printed with you if you like to speed up the check in!

The room was small but clean. Internet wifi was working but wasn't really fast in our room. There was also LAN internet available. AC worked well and TV too.

The location is good, very close to Little India area where you will find good places to eat real indian food.
If you are coming from the airport get off at Bugis MTR station (direct line) and from there is a 10min walk to the hotel.

SIM LIM Square (Electronics Mall) is very close to Perak Hotel however I strongly advise against shopping there as it is a tourist trap full of scammers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Situated in Little India we found the Perak Hotel convenient to Bugis & Little India MTR Train Stations........
Not a 5 minute walk initially but once familiar, very easy to access.
Also close to the Bus Interchange for those travelling to Malaysia.
A decent walk to Bus Point at Marina for 'Hop on Hop off' bus, China Town, Raffles, Clarke Quay and with plenty to see on the way.
The Hotel is small, so are the rooms, but nice and clean.
Offer simple but adequate breakfast - cereal, fruit salad, toast & jam, tea/coffee.
Very helpful and efficient staff.
Don't forget to factor in additional taxes when booking.

Room Tip: If staying for any length of time..............invest in a pillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Singapore hotels have become so expensive, that I tend to keep the upmarket travel for different occasions. This time, I was travelling with a girlfriend and only passing through the Lion City for a couple of nights so we wanted a safe budget option and Perak ticks all those boxes.

The room was clean but basic and the shower reminded us of student days. However there was a safe, fridge, small TV, air-conditioning and it was quiet with breakfast included.
There is no lift and no porter service so be prepared to lug your bag up the stairs. Free Wi-Fi is in the lobby lounge/breakfast area and there is 24-hour reception although after mignight you need to ring the doorbell.

This property has family rooms and we saw a couple of family groups at breakfast, along with couples and singles so it suits all travellers on a budget who want to step up from a hostel or backpackers.

The surrounding area has some great little bars and casual restaurants and is an easy walk to the popular Bugis St shopping area. Taxis, buses and the MRT are also nearby.

In the same situation I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Myself ,my wife and son , stayed at the Perak Hotel in late September for 3 nights in a triple room. might i say we were pleasantly surprised at this budget hotel. the room was only small but had everything we needed. the bathroom , while small was clean and the shower was hot. the room was air conditioned and though we only had a small window it did not bother us as we really only came back to the hotel to sleep. the beds were really comfortable as well and not hard like most hotel beds. the breakfast was included and while simple , was sufficient for us. plenty of breads and toast as well as cereal and each morning they cooked an egg dish eg omelette or scrambled etc. there is free wi fi in the dining area and lobby. the staff were very friendly and quite helpful. the "terrible twins " behind the main desk during the morning were great guys and helped us get free transfers to Universal Studios and advised us of a cheap bus fare to Singapore Zoo which saved us a few dollars. the hotel is close to Bugis street markets and not far to the MRT stations. also the Sim Lim square is only a few hundred meters away if you want any electrionics or computer gear etc. all in all i would class this hotel as a good budget hotel and if you are only staying a few days and plan on being out and about for most of the time it is perfect. i would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our children aged 2, 8 and 11. It is a lovely hotel. All very clean, nice breakfast (but not fantastic), helpful staff and free wifi. Really quick check-in and check-out.

The rooms are small (we had one double room and one with three beds) and the bathrooms are even smaller. And the windows in our rooms were almost prison-like. And the beds are just OK. But everything was nicely decorated and clean and charming! I mean, you get what you pay for, and this is among the less expensive hotels in the city.

Little India is a nice area to stay in. Lots of nice small shops and close to MRT-station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Perak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perak Hotel

Address: 12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133 , Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Perak Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Perak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perak Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.