We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manage your expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perak Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Perak Hotel to your Saves list
Perak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133 , Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 297 Hotels in Singapore
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Manage your expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I like this hotel. I have stayed here a lot and it's my first choice any time I am in Singapore (which is at least four times a year). But you DO need to know what to expect.

It's definitely basic. Tiny bathrooms, mediocre showers, noise from clubs, mosques and creaky floors. None of this bothers me overmuch.

I like the charm of the place: it's a beautiful building, well-restored, and well-kept. I like the staff (I'm amazed at some reviews claiming the staff were rude or unhelpful - I have always found them to be extremely pleasant and approachable). I like the location (best biryanis only two minutes away).

The breakfast, to be sure, is exceptionally basic, but if that bothers you just go next door to the Indian restaurant and have a couple of egg paratha instead.

As for value-for-money, this hotel can be a little on the expensive side for what you actually get, but there's often good room-rates available so the pain is limited.

I do wish they'd sort out their wifi, though. The signal somehow manages to be poor in *all* parts of the hotel!

Room Tip: Your room is going to be noisy and hot, and perhaps cramped. If that bothers you, don't stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    215
    107
    20
    18
See reviews for
68
190
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Good choice but not a budget option.
We paid USD 237.58 for two nights, thats basically what you will pay in a similar hotel in the center of Tokyo. (and sorry but Singapore is not Tokyo!)
Staff were helpful, the man in charge in reception made me print the Agoda confirmation receive before checking in so you may bring a copy already printed with you if you like to speed up the check in!

The room was small but clean. Internet wifi was working but wasn't really fast in our room. There was also LAN internet available. AC worked well and TV too.

The location is good, very close to Little India area where you will find good places to eat real indian food.
If you are coming from the airport get off at Bugis MTR station (direct line) and from there is a 10min walk to the hotel.

SIM LIM Square (Electronics Mall) is very close to Perak Hotel however I strongly advise against shopping there as it is a tourist trap full of scammers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Situated in Little India we found the Perak Hotel convenient to Bugis & Little India MTR Train Stations........
Not a 5 minute walk initially but once familiar, very easy to access.
Also close to the Bus Interchange for those travelling to Malaysia.
A decent walk to Bus Point at Marina for 'Hop on Hop off' bus, China Town, Raffles, Clarke Quay and with plenty to see on the way.
The Hotel is small, so are the rooms, but nice and clean.
Offer simple but adequate breakfast - cereal, fruit salad, toast & jam, tea/coffee.
Very helpful and efficient staff.
Don't forget to factor in additional taxes when booking.

Room Tip: If staying for any length of time..............invest in a pillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Singapore hotels have become so expensive, that I tend to keep the upmarket travel for different occasions. This time, I was travelling with a girlfriend and only passing through the Lion City for a couple of nights so we wanted a safe budget option and Perak ticks all those boxes.

The room was clean but basic and the shower reminded us of student days. However there was a safe, fridge, small TV, air-conditioning and it was quiet with breakfast included.
There is no lift and no porter service so be prepared to lug your bag up the stairs. Free Wi-Fi is in the lobby lounge/breakfast area and there is 24-hour reception although after mignight you need to ring the doorbell.

This property has family rooms and we saw a couple of family groups at breakfast, along with couples and singles so it suits all travellers on a budget who want to step up from a hostel or backpackers.

The surrounding area has some great little bars and casual restaurants and is an easy walk to the popular Bugis St shopping area. Taxis, buses and the MRT are also nearby.

In the same situation I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Myself ,my wife and son , stayed at the Perak Hotel in late September for 3 nights in a triple room. might i say we were pleasantly surprised at this budget hotel. the room was only small but had everything we needed. the bathroom , while small was clean and the shower was hot. the room was air conditioned and though we only had a small window it did not bother us as we really only came back to the hotel to sleep. the beds were really comfortable as well and not hard like most hotel beds. the breakfast was included and while simple , was sufficient for us. plenty of breads and toast as well as cereal and each morning they cooked an egg dish eg omelette or scrambled etc. there is free wi fi in the dining area and lobby. the staff were very friendly and quite helpful. the "terrible twins " behind the main desk during the morning were great guys and helped us get free transfers to Universal Studios and advised us of a cheap bus fare to Singapore Zoo which saved us a few dollars. the hotel is close to Bugis street markets and not far to the MRT stations. also the Sim Lim square is only a few hundred meters away if you want any electrionics or computer gear etc. all in all i would class this hotel as a good budget hotel and if you are only staying a few days and plan on being out and about for most of the time it is perfect. i would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our children aged 2, 8 and 11. It is a lovely hotel. All very clean, nice breakfast (but not fantastic), helpful staff and free wifi. Really quick check-in and check-out.

The rooms are small (we had one double room and one with three beds) and the bathrooms are even smaller. And the windows in our rooms were almost prison-like. And the beds are just OK. But everything was nicely decorated and clean and charming! I mean, you get what you pay for, and this is among the less expensive hotels in the city.

Little India is a nice area to stay in. Lots of nice small shops and close to MRT-station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have been guest of this Hotel since 2007. It is 100% clean, location is perfect, the best in Singapore, close to everything, to MRT, bus, shopping centres, etc...Staff is extraordinary, well educated, polite, friendly. I have ben here alone and also with family. It has free wifi internet and also computer in lobby for guests who dont have personal computer. There is 0-24 free cofee and tea. Nearby, there are many food options. If you wanna budget but exellent food than go to Sim Lim Square food court in basement. If you wanna best restaurant in Singapore, it is also nearby, and it is called FATTY ( Wing Seong Fatty is full name ) restaurant, it is oposite Sim Lim Square.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and clean, difference is in size, you should advice with staff what you want. Che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Perak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perak Hotel

Address: 12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133 , Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 297 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Perak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Perak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perak Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.