We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perak Hotel - Singapore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Perak Hotel to your Saves list
Perak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133 , Singapore (Little India)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Perak Hotel - Singapore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Situated in Little India we found the Perak Hotel convenient to Bugis & Little India MTR Train Stations........
Not a 5 minute walk initially but once familiar, very easy to access.
Also close to the Bus Interchange for those travelling to Malaysia.
A decent walk to Bus Point at Marina for 'Hop on Hop off' bus, China Town, Raffles, Clarke Quay and with plenty to see on the way.
The Hotel is small, so are the rooms, but nice and clean.
Offer simple but adequate breakfast - cereal, fruit salad, toast & jam, tea/coffee.
Very helpful and efficient staff.
Don't forget to factor in additional taxes when booking.

Room Tip: If staying for any length of time..............invest in a pillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    228
    120
    22
    19
See reviews for
78
203
50
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Singapore hotels have become so expensive, that I tend to keep the upmarket travel for different occasions. This time, I was travelling with a girlfriend and only passing through the Lion City for a couple of nights so we wanted a safe budget option and Perak ticks all those boxes.

The room was clean but basic and the shower reminded us of student days. However there was a safe, fridge, small TV, air-conditioning and it was quiet with breakfast included.
There is no lift and no porter service so be prepared to lug your bag up the stairs. Free Wi-Fi is in the lobby lounge/breakfast area and there is 24-hour reception although after mignight you need to ring the doorbell.

This property has family rooms and we saw a couple of family groups at breakfast, along with couples and singles so it suits all travellers on a budget who want to step up from a hostel or backpackers.

The surrounding area has some great little bars and casual restaurants and is an easy walk to the popular Bugis St shopping area. Taxis, buses and the MRT are also nearby.

In the same situation I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Myself ,my wife and son , stayed at the Perak Hotel in late September for 3 nights in a triple room. might i say we were pleasantly surprised at this budget hotel. the room was only small but had everything we needed. the bathroom , while small was clean and the shower was hot. the room was air conditioned and though we only had a small window it did not bother us as we really only came back to the hotel to sleep. the beds were really comfortable as well and not hard like most hotel beds. the breakfast was included and while simple , was sufficient for us. plenty of breads and toast as well as cereal and each morning they cooked an egg dish eg omelette or scrambled etc. there is free wi fi in the dining area and lobby. the staff were very friendly and quite helpful. the "terrible twins " behind the main desk during the morning were great guys and helped us get free transfers to Universal Studios and advised us of a cheap bus fare to Singapore Zoo which saved us a few dollars. the hotel is close to Bugis street markets and not far to the MRT stations. also the Sim Lim square is only a few hundred meters away if you want any electrionics or computer gear etc. all in all i would class this hotel as a good budget hotel and if you are only staying a few days and plan on being out and about for most of the time it is perfect. i would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our children aged 2, 8 and 11. It is a lovely hotel. All very clean, nice breakfast (but not fantastic), helpful staff and free wifi. Really quick check-in and check-out.

The rooms are small (we had one double room and one with three beds) and the bathrooms are even smaller. And the windows in our rooms were almost prison-like. And the beds are just OK. But everything was nicely decorated and clean and charming! I mean, you get what you pay for, and this is among the less expensive hotels in the city.

Little India is a nice area to stay in. Lots of nice small shops and close to MRT-station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have been guest of this Hotel since 2007. It is 100% clean, location is perfect, the best in Singapore, close to everything, to MRT, bus, shopping centres, etc...Staff is extraordinary, well educated, polite, friendly. I have ben here alone and also with family. It has free wifi internet and also computer in lobby for guests who dont have personal computer. There is 0-24 free cofee and tea. Nearby, there are many food options. If you wanna budget but exellent food than go to Sim Lim Square food court in basement. If you wanna best restaurant in Singapore, it is also nearby, and it is called FATTY ( Wing Seong Fatty is full name ) restaurant, it is oposite Sim Lim Square.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and clean, difference is in size, you should advice with staff what you want. Che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Compared to other hotels in Singapore, this hotel was the best in price/quality. Clean and neat rooms, with airco. Breakfast was served every morning in the cafe area, good standards, nothing extra. Some personnel were nice, some less nice. If you are facing the streetside, the noise outside could be taking yout night's rest, seems that the Indians are up all night. Plus there are several nightclubs and restaurants opened until late.
The Little India metro station was at a convenient walk ( about 10-15 min), which brings you to all sites in Singapore.
Good budget hotel for relatively expensive Singapore.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a budget hotel as per Singapore standards. However, the rates are high as per rest of the world. The hotel is located in little India which is a plus point for vegetarians like me. They serve breakfast which was not too bad. Rooms are small (as they are normally in Singapore). Provide wired as well as wireless internet. Although, wireless internet did not work too well. Rooms have mini-bar, TV, table, cupboard, A/C.
Did not like the beds and could not get proper sleep. There were no window in my room :(
Overall, one of the better budget hotels in Singapore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#170 of 301 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#112 of 301 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#169 of 301 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#108 of 301 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Victoria Hotel
#107 of 301 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Kam Leng Hotel
#164 of 301 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perak Hotel

Address: 12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India , Rochor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Perak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Perak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perak Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.