We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I m impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel to your Saves list
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
2.0 of 5 Capsule Hotel   |   289 Beach Road Level 3, Singapore 199552, Singapore (Kampong Glam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
1 review
“I m impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights and found it very comfortable. Whatever facilities mentioned on their website have been found even more better on site. Quiet, peaceful , clean and comfortable. WiFi and breakfast was exceptional.Beautiful location. Very cooperative, helpful and courteous staff.Only one thing I would like to mention that exhaust in the toilets needs some improvements or maintenance otherwise rest of the arrangements were all nice. Value for money which I would recommend for anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin F, Hotel Manager at The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Haiderayub,

The POD is glad to know that you had an impressive stay with us!

As there are size and speed limitations we are not able to modify the exhaust fan. Nevertheless, constant effort will be put in place in seeking enhancement to it.

Once again, thank you very much for taking time to write this review!


Kind regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    183
    38
    7
    0
See reviews for
10
45
224
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The pod is a nice experience. It's a very clean Hotel and i was suprised that the one-man-capsule is quite comfortable. The WLAN is working quite well and the location is great. It's in the Center of the Nightlife Hotspot arab street, Little india can be reached by foot and Marina bay is also quite close.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin F, Hotel Manager at The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Uh6f

Thank you for writing us this review and we are glad that you had a satisfactory stay with us. We hope to see you in the near future!

Kind regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Pod has definitely broken all my perceived negatives about staying in a shared room.

This is high class dorm living because other than a shared room and shared bath, you have everything else you could want from a comfortable and chic stay.

Clean and well designed bathrooms with shampoo shower hair dryer. Most importantly, shower is separated from the WC and basin by a glass door. Bathrooms are clean and dry, didnt haven't to wait for my turn even though the place seemed pretty packed that night.

Great breakfast. Loved the mushroom quiche and Danish pastries. They also have complimentary nespresso coffee which is a nice touch.

Could Skype in privacy of the business pods which are individual pods with doors.

Free dry cleaning and laundry was very convenient considering my long stay over 2 weeks.

Will definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin F, Hotel Manager at The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear MarcCezzane,

Thank you for taking your time to write us this thoughtful review. We are indeed please that the catering of buffet breakfast was to your liking. Here at The POD, we aim to provide quality services and facilities to meet all our guest's needs.

We look forward to your stay with us in the near future!

Kind regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Free wifi,free breakfast, coffee is nespresso ,staffs are helpful and friendly ,this hotel also provide towel,soap and shampoo,good location ,just few minutes from mtr,good value for staying,i wll come back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin F, Hotel Manager at The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Gremlinslinsfanban,

Thank you for taking your time to write us such a wonderful review. We are happy to know that our amenities are to your liking and we aim to provide quality services and facilities at affordable prices.

The POD looks forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songkhla, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The Pod busted my cherry in terms of non-hotel lodgings.

I have to say, it was not only painless, but I would definitely consider staying here again should I find myself traveling solo to Singapore in future.

Arrived around midnight, and the housekeeper (receptionist is an inaccurate term as she manned the front desk, took me up to my bunk and briefed me on the facilities as well as cleaned the dishes in the communal kitchen island) was very efficient and welcoming.

Dorms and loo look as advertised -- with the addition of a little extra shabbiness (hard to avoid with communal living) setting in. The individual pods are great and have privacy screens, an individual light and 3-point electrical outlet and a stowaway shelf in each unit. Lockers below the bunks are accessible by your key card, same as the dorm rooms. The mattresses were comfy enough and you get two pillows and a comforter.

Self-contained shower/toilets number 3, but was in too late and out too early to have any complaints about waiting to use the facilities. Soap and shampoo are provided in dispensers and you get a towel with your pod so don't worry if you didn't pack any of the necessary.

Breakfast was basic but satisfying --pastries, bread, local food in warming trays, a dessert, cereal. Coffee is nespresso (a plus point). You can basically just help yourself to what's in the fridge. Most people leave their cups lying around, and the housekeeper is really on the ball with keeping things tidy so no worries.

There's a 7-11 nearby and a bus stop right in front of the entrance. Hopped the 107 to Lavender MRT station to catch a train to Changi. Information to do so also provided by helpful housekeeper.

Overall, a good place to rest your head and get cleaned up. Nice decor, great facilities, great service, and lots of nice little extras you won't get even if you stayed in budget hotels rated a notch above this one.

Not for you if you can't sleep through the slightest noise.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin F, Hotel Manager at The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear ZalinaL,

The POD promotes effortless living to travellers and we are glad that it was achieved during your stay with us.

Once again, we appreciate and thank you for your recent review. The POD looks forward to your next visit in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hotel is nice capsule hotel. The room and bathroom are clean. Free breakfast, free wifi, all staffs are helpful and hospitality. Comfortable environment. There is good for first time to try the capsule experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin F, Hotel Manager at The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear JoeKk115,

We are really glad that you had enjoyed your stay at The POD!

The POD aims to provide quality service and facilities at an affordable prices.

We hope to serve you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Clean environment with great facilities. Free breakfast, wifi... Staffs are all friendly and helpful. The bed with your own private area. Also, location is convenient that just few minutes from 2 MRT stations. Worth for stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin F, Hotel Manager at The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear AmamdadaC,

“Comfort and friendly” that’s what we are!
Thank you so much for taking time to write this review and we look forward to your next arrival!

Kind regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel

Address: 289 Beach Road Level 3, Singapore 199552, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The POD is Singapore's latest boutique capsule hostel catering to discerning travellers who desire fuss-free and convenient living. With 83 cosy capsules inspired by modern and minimalistic living, you can look forward to convenience at your fingertips without compromising on comfort, quality or style. At The POD, personalised concierge services are on hand to satisfy your every need so that you can focus on the things that truly matter. Enjoy complimentary laundry service, hot buffet breakfast and Nespresso coffee, high-speed Wi-Fi access and more. A complete set of amenities ensures effortless living right at the centre of Singapore. Located at the fringe of the Singapore Central Business District, The POD offers quick accessibility to the heart of the financial centre or immersion in the warmth of bustling Haji Lane - rated as one of the top shopping places in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.