We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“genuine hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Bencoolen

Save Saved
You added Somerset Bencoolen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset Bencoolen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 51 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189630, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“genuine hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Friendly staff made us welcome with a no fuss check in as our taxi driver had called up a porter to the car park. Reception and all other staff always greeted us as we returned home each day. The rooftop pool, a spacious balcony,reliable wifi and the cooked breakfasts were highlights. We also used the residents lounge with libary and desktop computer but it also had a playroom, and kids library. The apartments had everything you needed, especially good air conditioning to the lounge and bed rooms. Shops/cafes were nearby and Orchard Rd was just a short walk away. A very comfortable place indeed. Although a rail station is being built outside we heard no noise from construction until we went outside the entrance.

Room Tip: Order an extra bed for older children if they don't want to share a bed as doubles are standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    56
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
8
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We just returned from our weekend away in Singapore and as always, I knew it was going to be something worth sharing on trip advisor!

First impression of the property... Multi-Level parking was a not as clean as I expected it to be. Our 3 year old ran around bare feet (I know...) and being the boy that he is, he had his hands on all the railings. Within minutes, his hands and feet were black as coal. No I am not exaggerating...but this may be caused by the construction that is going on close by... Perhaps it is something the management should look into soon? Also, we couldn't find the lift that could lead us to the lobby and instead we ended up in one that lead us to the security office! But of course the wonderful team of security guys showed us the way out :)

Check in process was relatively simple, but this could be because it was done by a relative prior to our arrival.

The unit was lovely. It comes with a kitchenette equipped with an oven, a toaster, a kettle, a microwave and a fridge. Very convenient since there is no restaurant attached to this property. There is a food court within walking distance and you can ask the friendly members of the front office for directions. Which I did. They were helpful but I ended up in the back street! Front office member Mr Azli was very attentive to note that I was heading towards the wrong direction immediately ran towards me and showed me the right way out! Thank you so much!

I also requested a top up of some amenities and this request was promptly attended to by a lovely lady from the Housekeeping department (I am sorry I didn't get your name, nice lady...)

The husband managed to squeeze in some time to swim. He enjoyed it. The pool wasn't the biggest ever, but was nice. There is a Jacuzzi too. There is also a small children's playground on the roof top but we didn't get the chance to take our 3 year old there. Perhaps next time!

Overall, we had a wonderful experience thanks to the exceptionally nice team members! Well done, guys!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights with my 4 year old daughter. We had a great time. The apartment was clean, simple and everything we needed. The pools/playground on the roof were great and the staff friendly. Although there are major works at ground level in front of the hotel, we were not bothered by it at all. There is a pedestrian walk way along the street, and cabs can drop off and pick up via the car park at the rear. There was noise, but it really didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent a few nights here in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was on a high floor, it was spacious, bright and modern. Okay, there was no dish washer, but that didn't cause a problem.
The apartments get cleaned daily, like in a normal hotel. The swimmingpool on the rooftop was nice. Supermarkets and all shops are within a short walking distance. Friendly and helpfull staff at the reception.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is our second stay at Bencoolen Somerset. Our two bedroom/ two bath unit is quite nice, though it feels like nothing has been upgraded since we were last here. The swimming pool is great for the kids, though it is not too large. The buffet breakfast is not great, but adequate.

Unfortunately, there is massive construction directly outside our room, which goes on into the wee hours of the night. Needless to say, the noise is intense and not great for rest or sleep.

We have stayed at various Somerset/Ascott hotels in Asia, and this is the least well done, but it still is more than adequate and acceptable for our needs.

The location is near a metro stop and easy access to food and grocery stores.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Staying here since the past 2 weeks and going to stay for the next 2 months. It is well maintained even though the building appears old. The interiors are quite good and spacious for staying with family. They have a launderette inside the hotel but its a paid service. The internet speed could have been better.
The roof top swimming pool is the main attraction, specially during the night. The view is amazing and is the best way to relax after a long days work.

Room Tip: Since the metro construction is going on ask for a room not facing the Bencoolen street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Booked the 1 bedroom apartment for my dad's 9 days stay and he's still staying when i wrote this.

Apartment was gloomy looking but still ok.

No washer/dryer in the apartment like i'm used to in other Somerset property elsewhere in other country so i guess i put my expectation a lil too high thinking that it's in Singapore anyways.

The lady who cleans the apartment everyday did a bad job. She needs to be reminded to replenish the stocks or to chg the towels.

Well... Its an ok place if u dont put ur hopes up too high..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Singapore
#60 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#68 Family Hotel in Singapore
#77 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Bencoolen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.