We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Bencoolen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Bencoolen to your Saves list
Somerset Bencoolen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 51 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189630, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is our second stay at Bencoolen Somerset. Our two bedroom/ two bath unit is quite nice, though it feels like nothing has been upgraded since we were last here. The swimming pool is great for the kids, though it is not too large. The buffet breakfast is not great, but adequate.

Unfortunately, there is massive construction directly outside our room, which goes on into the wee hours of the night. Needless to say, the noise is intense and not great for rest or sleep.

We have stayed at various Somerset/Ascott hotels in Asia, and this is the least well done, but it still is more than adequate and acceptable for our needs.

The location is near a metro stop and easy access to food and grocery stores.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    79
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
14
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Staying here since the past 2 weeks and going to stay for the next 2 months. It is well maintained even though the building appears old. The interiors are quite good and spacious for staying with family. They have a launderette inside the hotel but its a paid service. The internet speed could have been better.
The roof top swimming pool is the main attraction, specially during the night. The view is amazing and is the best way to relax after a long days work.

Room Tip: Since the metro construction is going on ask for a room not facing the Bencoolen street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Booked the 1 bedroom apartment for my dad's 9 days stay and he's still staying when i wrote this.

Apartment was gloomy looking but still ok.

No washer/dryer in the apartment like i'm used to in other Somerset property elsewhere in other country so i guess i put my expectation a lil too high thinking that it's in Singapore anyways.

The lady who cleans the apartment everyday did a bad job. She needs to be reminded to replenish the stocks or to chg the towels.

Well... Its an ok place if u dont put ur hopes up too high..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
598 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Inspite of the construction of a new railway station, which was more of an inconvenience for the taxis this property was more than adequate for a few days stay in Singapore. The staff were more than welcoming and helpful..a complimentary upgrade to a premium two bedroom apartment provided a balcony with a view over the garden. Breakfast was more than adequate without being to expansive..still to work out who eats a garden salad for breakfast !
The location gave easy access to most of the city's attractions. The roof pool was a great way to start the day as well as some respite from the humidity after a day exploring not to mention a view of the city.
Reasonably priced and more than comfortable accommodation makes this is a property worth considering.

Room Tip: Go for the room with a balcony... the construction finishes by 8.30pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Currently staying at this property and it's exactly as I expected from reading previous reviews - except we can't hear the MRT works at all (maybe as we're on level 12?). Spacious two bedroom apartment with a queen and a double bed, and an ensuite. Big fridge in kitchen. No service on Sundays, but no concern for us as only staying three nights. Great location and easy to get around. Pools, playgrounds and washing machine on level 5 (SG$4.24) have been given a real workout! Would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here, last August (2012), we were 7 of us. When I booked it, was only 2 rooms apt, but since that some of my family would like to join us, I was thinking to rebook for 3 bedroom, but it was last minute decision, so I didn't have a chance to change the booking. Anyway, when we arrived in the apt, we're shocked, because there was a big MRT construction going on, at the Bencoolen side, so the whole front area of the apt, is covered by the construction fence. And the noise, oh noo, it's a big mistake. The manager told me, that they put the message on the web, but I might have missed it. (just blame on me, even though I didn't see any information about this conustruction business in booking.com). The manager tried to make me stay, by upgraded us to a 3 bedroom apt, with the same price of 2 bedroom apt, providing we stay there for the whole week. I thought that's fair enough. So I took that nice offer. This is the story :
1. The taxi can't drop you in front of the Apt, so always take the back way, which was not that easy, because not all of the taxi driver aware of this.
2. Basically the apt' entrance move to level 2, from the parking area.
3. The noise of the construction was annoying, ofcourse.
4. The apt, was quite basic, the furniture was getting pretty old.
5. The Kitchen, is OK, with a very basic equipment. Not for a serious cooking.
6. The bedroom, except the master bedroom, was quite small.
7. The location is very good, it's walking distance to City Hall, to Plaza Singapore, Bugis Junction, bus station, and MRT station, and easy to take a taxi too.
Overall, it was just okay. I would like to underline that the friendly and helpful staff, and the good manager, that gave us a better stay, so thank you so much to them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekasi, Indonesia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My family, 5 adults and 2 toddlers, stayed in their 2 bedroom apartment last January. The room was very clean, spacious, and comfortable even with extra bed. Kitchen is well equipped, you really can cook here (unfortunately i didnt since our stay was short). Very close to MTR station and Singapore's main attraction, you can literally walk to see them just like I did. Breakfast was ok, not many varieties but sufficient. They also have laundromat and playground (indoor and outdoor) which are perfect for family with small children. Their staff also very nice and friendly.

Just like other review had mention, there is currently a MTR construction which estimated will be completed in 2017. But the room was quiet soundproofed, even my toddlers could have a nap peacefully.

Will stay here again in my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
The Quays
Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraser Suites Singapore
#34 of 301 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Singapore
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#65 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Bencoolen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.