We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and not up to scratch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Singapore to your Saves list
The Westin Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Marina View | Asia Square Tower 2, Singapore 018961, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing and not up to scratch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

For a brand new hotel trying to compete in a mature market, the staff at the Westin Singapore let the hotel brand down. With high expectations after having been greeted at the driveway by a front desk staff member as my limo pulled up, and having her escort us to our room to be checked in, we were immediately let down by the very poor service at the Cook n Brew restaurant. We had to ask a server if we could get some service after waiting for an unacceptable period of time, and then after taking our food and drink order, one of our drinks didn't show up. When we finished our meals no one came to clear the table or enquire if we wished to order dessert or coffee. The next morning at breakfast in the buffet restaurant, the staff were more intent on setting tables than clear dishes or enquire if we wanted coffee of tea. Things did not improve on any of the following days. A real pity as the hotel has so much potential. Having stayed regularly at Westin Hotels around the world this hotel has some ways to go to attain the standards of a Westin Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance_J_Ourednik, General Manager at The Westin Singapore, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We truly value your feedback and sincerely apologized for the lapse of service you have encountered during your recent stay with us. We will definitely look into these areas of concern and ensure that service standards are not compromised and training be given a top priority for our F&B Team. Thank you for sharing with us and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Westin Singapore again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    128
    43
    21
    12
See reviews for
67
75
26
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LNZ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Yes, I came back… this time I stayed longer… a few nights at the Westin. I had time to explore the hotel, be it the gym, the pool, Seasonal Tastes, Daily Treats, Cook & Brew and room service.
The food throughout the hotel was excellent. Found a new favorite… the Sushi Bowl at Cook & Brew / room service. It’s a delicious sushi rice, with salmon nicely grilled, avocado and egg roll. I could have eaten it every day! Another new room service favorite of mine was the Quinoa salad. Delicious and very refreshing.
The gym intrigued me very much… as a matter of fact I spent much more time there, than I usually would do. The reason therefore is the fact that after every work-out on their cardio machines you get informed how much energy the work-out has produced to light up a light bulb… and you just want to be better every day… LOL!
The club lounge was very nice too. I enjoyed having a late breakfast there, preferably at the front side, so I could overlook the cargo harbor again.
I truly enjoyed my stay there, throughout my stay the service personnel was attentive, helpful and always smiling. I certainly will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance_J_Ourednik, General Manager at The Westin Singapore, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that The Westin Singapore will continue to be your choice of hotel accommodation whenever you visit Singapore and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel is good for the following things:
- Financial district location but only applicable for a business traveller. It is also close to the new Marina Bay Sands hotel & Mall.
- A good vibe on weekdays with the adjoining Tower 1 foodcourt and restaurants
- Comfortable room & spacious bathroom
- Beautiful natural light throughout the day
- Lovely harbour view from the restaurant & lobby area

Here are a few drawbacks
-Tourist areas would be $10-$20 cab ride away
- No 24 hour coffee shop, the existing coffee shop shuts at 3pm on weekday and 5pm on weekends
- Limited choice of dining in the neighbourhood on weekdays
- No free wifi in the rooms. This is surprising for a 5-star hotel
- Dark hallways

Room Tip: Both City View and Harbour View would be good choices as the hotel rooms only begin at a higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance_J_Ourednik, General Manager at The Westin Singapore, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the room and facilities at our property. For your information, the Downtown MRT Station is located just next to our building which makes it very convenient for our guests to travel around the island via this mode of transport. We truly appreciate your feedback and certainly look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Singapore again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

It was my first stay in Singapore. We arrived from a night flight from Frankfurt relatively relaxed after the A380 flight. The hotel car was waiting for us on time, and the ride to the hotel was smooth and fast.
Although that concept is not new, it was also my first time that I entered the hotel on the ground floor, and discovered that there was no real reception there, one had to go to the 23rd floor for the hotel-reception. A lift like a bullet-train made that a convenient experience in this brand-new building.

The hotel represents Singapore in many ways: friendly but not warmhearted, efficient but not thinking outside the box. An excellent attitude for business visitors, they will love it.

Our overall impression of our one-week stay was - apart of the aforementioned - very good indeed. Great staff everywhere. Sarah Ng and her staff in the executive lounge are doing an exemplary job. Nice rooms, good gym, breathtaking pool and spacious pool-area. The food-quality in breakfast is outstanding, although long-staying guests might find the choices rather limited.

We found the location of the hotel to be very convenient too: we walked all the way to Chinatown and to the marina, and for other destinations the underground is just few steps away. We never felt the need to take a taxi.

In order to be able to compare, our next stay in Singapore will be in a much older hotel. You'll read about it soon! Stay tuned :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance_J_Ourednik, General Manager at The Westin Singapore, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and truly appreciate the positive comments you have for Sarah and her team at the Westin Executive Club Lounge. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Singapore again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Westin Singapore is a brand-new luxury hotel situated at the Marina Bay, a new financial district in Singapore. The hotel is modern, well designed, rooms are spacious, bed comfy, swimming pool very relaxing and best of all I like the steam room and jacuzzi facilities available next to the swimming pool. The hotel was fully occupied but you won't feel many guests around. An excellent experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance_J_Ourednik, General Manager at The Westin Singapore, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback and truly apologized for the delay in our response due to a system glitch. However, we are really delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and managed to experience our Spa and swimming pool. We are certainly looking forward to your return and welcoming you to The Westin Singapore again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
366 reviews 366 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

A new hotel in the financial district, which is great if you are here for work, but not so great for tourists. There are quite a few food options nearby but it's a short walk to the mrt. You can walk to marina bay in about 20 mins but it's not pleasant in the humidity !
The rooms are nice, modern and light but the bathroom design is terrible as the shower doors leak thus flooding the bathroom floor.
Beds are typically Westin and very comfortable.
The executive lounge is excellent with great Westin service.
They don't really do late service in the reception bar - however they were able to 'think out of the box' and provide us and some friends with room service wine and cheese served in the bar one evening after we returned late from dinner.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance_J_Ourednik, General Manager at The Westin Singapore, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly look into the leak from the shower door as mentioned by you. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Singapore again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Wanted to try the Cook and Brew bar/resto at Westin but the waiter wouldn't let us sit at an empty table because he said that section was closed, meanwhile people were sitting at 3 other tables in the same area. Horrible service that I'm used to seeing at average local restaurants but I was shocked to have this crap service at a Westin!! Won't be coming back!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance_J_Ourednik, General Manager at The Westin Singapore, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
At the outset, please accept our most sincere apologies for any lapse of service or inconvenience caused during your recent visit to Cook & Brew. By way of explanation and definitely not intended as an excuse, we wish to assure you that it is certainly not the intention of our associates to be impolite in their behaviour towards you resulting in any miscommunication or misunderstanding in this regards. We truly hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you again and will look forward to your next visit tp The Westin Singapore. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Singapore

Address: 12 Marina View | Asia Square Tower 2, Singapore 018961, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#43 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Singapore’s financial district on Marina Bay and walking distance from corporate headquarters, retail, dining and entertainment options, The Westin Singapore occupies levels 32 to 46 of Asia Square Tower 2. 305 inviting guest rooms and suites, innovative dining options, a myriad of business and leisure facilities throughout the hotel, let you create your own experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.