We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earl of Hindh

Earl of Hindh
01-16, Quayside Isle, 31 Ocean Way, Sentosa Cove, Singapore 098375, Singapore
+65 6681 6694
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,279 of 7,750 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Norway
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Went here with my girl age 11 last week. She does not like too spicy food, so we asked for some dishes not too spicy. Lamb Karma - never goes wrong....very good. Garlic Naan - could been more crispy - but still very good. Rice Subz Biryani vegetables - very good, but too spicy for my girl. Luckily the yogurt dressing was very tasty and helped with reducing some of the hot taste
I also ordered a chicken Murg Makhani, which was good, but agan abit too spicy for my girl.

The atmosphere was good.

The waiter apologized for being late with the food, however that was not something we had noticed.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not authentic!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We must mention that we had great expectations about this place.. The location is spectacular! Ambience is very upscale, staff is very courteous.. And then we are handed over IPad minis as menu card! Wow all good so far! After this pretty much everything was a let down!! The iPads were convenient to browse but it was not ebabled to place orders- I mean if you have invested in iPads what remains is just an app! 4 of us- We ordered vegetarian food.. First came tomato soup- an orange colored liquid cream- there was more cream than any tomatoes.. Taste was creamy and sweet hardly any flavor.. Then came hara bhara kabab- it was 1.5 times the size of a normal ones.. Again the taste was creamy/ buttery/paneer'y'. It tasted creamy sweet with hardly any other flavor.. The main course was palak paneer and dum Aloo bharva- both tasted mild and creamy/ buttery. The palak paneer had no taste of palak.. We had more cream in a day than what we would in months.. The taste is extremely rich/ creamy buttery.. So much that u don't get to taste anything else.. Authentic indian food has to be filled with flavours.. This food is very flat.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best Indian food in singapore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Authentic Indian food, not too expensive. Great taste and well rounded menu of options. We've been a couple of times, tried different dishes each time, liked all of them. Ambience is okay with a nice view of sentosa. Staff are efficient, no complaints but could try harder

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

the location is very nice - however, the issue starts from there. the unit number for the restaurant shows first floor but then the actual restaurant and the entrance is from the 2nd.

the staff were super nice. that part of this restaurant was really hard to beat. very sincere and very caring service.

the restaurant is done up well - both inside and outside. i rather like the outside seating arrangement although the sofas were a tad too low for the tables. the sofas were pretty comfortable though.

this place has an amazing single malt collection. it should in fact be something like a whisky bar / lounge. very very good collection.

the food though is pretty average. it is set up as a fine dining outlet but the taste of the food is pretty pedestrian. we had kakori kebabs and murgh malai - both good but just a bit short of superlative. the main course dishes were OK - there was chicken, mutton and a dal. the best course was the dal. this was really good. however, if in an indian meal the chicken and mutton are not up to scratch then there is a problem. this is the problem in this place.

the lassi is also OK - not great.

overall - nice for a single visit - repeat not so sure.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Internet Review did not help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Knowing Singapore has good choice of ethnic food, this is the only place for India food. On the internet I read about kakkori kebob for a $45 is supposed to be the best. But it was average taste. I asked for recommendation for bread, she suggested 'Rumali Roti', turned out it was a frozen tortilla done in microwave. It got cold and hard soon under the electric fan. The nice thing about this restaurant was the setup and balcony seating.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earl of Hindh also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Earl of Hindh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earl of Hindh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.