We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best Japanese Izakaya food in Sing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Izy

Izy
27 Club Street, Singapore 069413, Singapore (Chinatown)
+65 9678 0027
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 7,262 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Probably the best Japanese Izakaya food in Sing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Been to Izy a few times for dinner and highly recommend it. Great atmosphere and the food is out of this world, especially the Chicken Karaage. The chef makes traditional dishes combines with interesting flavors. Been there for lunch too, limited choices though when I went but apparently they were expanding the lunch time menu. If you are looking for good traditional Izakaya food with some funky flavors and a nice relaxing atmosphere I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Solid Japanese small plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I've been to Izy twice (once for a wine tasting event, and once I ordered ala carte). It's slightly pricey for small plates - but that's Singapore for you these days - but everything was really solid. I was surprised by the consistency and the interesting flavour combinations. Staff was friendly and generally obliging.

Definitely order the chicken karaage, and the wrapped bacon with sansho. If you have space, share a gyu don. Only thing I thought was just so-so was the grilled fish. It's perfectly competent, but I was expecting more, flavour-wise. I'll skip this next time (yes, I will come back).

If there's one thing I could change, it'd be the music choice. Miley Cyrus, Kylie Minogue and Madonna were on the tunes menu on my second visit (and way too loud at that). I honestly felt like I was like hanging out at the gym with a bunch of teenagers. I'd much prefer cool jazz or chill-out tracks while I dine on hip Asian small plates, and drink artisanal beer or wine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No compromise for excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Best known for their Chicken Karaage and Gyu Don! On some days, there are also interesting dishes to try out such as Onsen Tomago, Claypot Chicken Rice with Truffle - done traditionally with a twist of creativity! Say YES to Shiso Sorbet for dessert.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Food is out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Went for dinner with the husband and was blown away by the food. Ambience was good and service was very attentive. Everyone should eat there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Bang for Buck Omakase in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Izy puts a new twist on Gourmet style Cuisine with a new skool vibe! Omakase was some of the best i had, and ending with a Wagyu Truffle Bowl! Prices were very considering all the courses i had. Tucked behind the Resto was another room that just put a Capital C on the word Chic!

Great place great food and great drinks! A must try on my list!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izy also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Izy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Izy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.