We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world market charm with Disney-style flair” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PasarBella - A Farmers' Market

PasarBella - A Farmers' Market
200 Turf Club Road | The Grandstand Bukit Timah, Singapore 287994, Singapore
+65 6887 0077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 190 Shopping in Singapore
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Housed within a warm community-based environment, PasarBella encompasses a seafood market, meat, dairy, fresh produce, wines and craft beers, global cuisines and personal services.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old world market charm with Disney-style flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Fantastic new concept- part market, a little bit bistro, wine, cheese and cookware, all under one roof. You have to go to appreciate it. They have cooking demonstrations in the cookware store, and all the food vendors have open kitchens so you can watch your food being prepared. It's a short ride from downtown, and a really nice change from the typical shopping mall experience. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“So recommended!!! Comfort and cozy place, good food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Located quite far from bustling singapore downtown, taxi is the most convenient transport to get there, beside shuttle from some points in singapore...

Consist of many stall that sell a large range of food. I try the paella, squid ink pasta, and the crackling suckling pig... All is good, and i also had a small cheese tasting at the cheese counter.. Delicate!!!

This place was so comfortable and cozy.. Not too much people around, and the interior are made us feel like we are in the middle of traditional market.. So recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Its our first time here and we wer much impressed and very happy that we can find such a lovely market in Singapore. Pasarbella reminded us very much of those marketrs we have in Melbourne that combines restaurants, food stalls, fruits and vegetables, fresh seafood all under one roof. The market is airconditioned, and its beautifully decorated with a rustic charm. There are gourmet food stalls selling beef, seafood, organic produce as well as smaller food stalls selling many different types of food of different cuisine. The paella looked very impressive ! The Japanese seafood section is also a much visit for exotic seasonal fresh fish, fresh boston lobsters, oysters and Alaskan king crab. There is also a cheese shop here with a large cheese selection .It has been a very enjoyable afternoon. Parking is free and easily available. Good Sunday well spent in this lovely market.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A long taxi ride, but well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I am really surprised to read the poor ratings a few reviewers gave this place - I suspect they were looking for faults for some reason. And the comments on cost fail to reflect the fact that the tenants probably pay high rents to be there. So, what did I experience? A busy, varied and interesting morning. A great variety of food stalls, fresh vegetables, delicatessens, meat market, fish market, and a fantastic cheese shop. Top that off with a wine store where you can buy a glass of wine to enjoy with your meal, and you are in gastronomic heaven. No wonder the place was busy. A lot of people, hubbub, noise, fun, etc. Definitely don't miss it, but don't be a Ms. Prissy either and expect it to be something it's not!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Expensive, lacks aircon and not particularly clean!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Visited PasarBella for the first time today, having heard so much about the place over the last few months. The concept is a mix of high end food stores mixed with restaurants serving food in 'Marche' style. However one of the big differences is the cost. Definitely not cheap. I paid over $60 for 2 dishes and a single appertiser. The food I had was excellent standard but there was not much of it and I still felt hungry after the meal. Seating is 'freestyle' so be prepared for mucky tables and full up trash bins! I never saw anybody cleaning up for the whole time I was there. I am not sure if there is aircon in the place or if it just wasn't working but the atmosphere was hot and humid. Food is served on paper plates and eaten with plastic knife and forks. Generally the concept doesn't equal the price level charged. It's tough to see a sustainable future for this type of restaurant restaurant model but if it does survive it wil be without my custom!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PasarBella - A Farmers' Market also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to PasarBella - A Farmers' Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PasarBella - A Farmers' Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.