We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small museum to understand Singapore stamps” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Singapore Philatelic Museum

Singapore Philatelic Museum
23B Coleman Street, Singapore 179807, Singapore
65 6337 3888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 564 things to do in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Singapore Philatelic Museum celebrates everything about the world of stamps, from their unique background and connection to important historical moments in history, to stamp design and important collections.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice small museum to understand Singapore stamps”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

http://www.spm.org.sg/ ... Nice place to hangout for a couple of hours. We went there as they were having a special Star Wars exhibit. Nice little museum to know a little bit more of Singapore's past, Singapore stamps...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    48
    18
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“my fav place in singapore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

First time I visited Singapore in the year 2006 and after a hard bargain my husband agreed to visit philatelic museum at Coleman road with me, As I entered the small and cozy museum i felt in love with it, as i myself a stamp collector i always wanted to see a museum dedicated to it.
from that day i was sure that once i have a baby i will surely bring him to this beautiful place and then this month jan 2013 i got a chance to visit Singapore again and first day only i tool my son over there. he loved watching so many stamps on various theme from around the world.
there is a section in the museum which tells the history of Singapore and i told my son every thing about it.
I also loved telling my son the concept of stamp as now a days in the world of emails people hardly write post cards or letters.
After some wasted time and a great effort when finally i reached museum on a very rainy day, the old and elegant lady manager greeted me with big smile, and after listening my craze for this place she waved off my son's ticket and gave my son two beautiful post cards.
for stamp lovers its surely a paradise , please do visit it and my humble request please keep writing letters as i don't want stamps to be a part of museum only :) thanks for reading it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“a nice small museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It's interesting to know about the history about stamps, how to recognize fake stamps, the sample of stamps from all around the world. This museum provide them all, and the display is quite attractive for children who might not aware about philatelic thingy in this era of electronic mail. The heritage section on the 2nd floor is quite interesting, though some of the display were not authentic. The entrance fee is S$6 for adult, should think to buy the museum pass instead as it would saves your money.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
484 reviews 484 reviews
371 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Lovely stamp museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I like collecting stamps so I really enjoyed my visit to this lovely museum. I also bought few stamps before I left :)

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great showcase of stamp histories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you like collecting stamps, this is a great place. It shows you the history and the background of making stamps. very interesting!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Singapore Philatelic Museum also viewed

 

Been to Singapore Philatelic Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singapore Philatelic Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.