We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel for business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton City Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Gopeng Street, Singapore, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Modern hotel for business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Nice & modern hotel with spacious room, just 10 minutes by walk to china town, traditional market is in front of the hotel. Just 5 minutes to Tanjong Pagar MRT station. Recommended for business trip..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear fajar a,

Thank you for recommending us to business travellers. We are indeed an upscale business hotel and welcome both business and leisure travellers. Glad to hear that you were pleased with the location's convenience. See you again soon when you next stay with us on a business trip!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    242
    65
    13
    10
See reviews for
97
203
30
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was my second stay at Carlton City, I was slightly less underwhelmed this time than last. It's ok for a night on business I would be disappointed if I stayed here on holiday for longer. The plus side is that the staff are all very lovely, although bocci concierge in evidence on arrival or departure. The rooms are modern and clean although the sheets were very rough and the room has a strong new smell that you "get used too" after a while. The rooftop bar is nice and the breakfast is ok. It's convenient for office in the area, but wouldn't stay here if I was on holiday.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, General Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Jane H,

Further to your recent return stay at Carlton City Hotel, thank you for taking the time to post a review. Whilst it’s encouraging to note you found our staff lovely, we offer our apologies for the service deficiency you’ve noted with concierge services upon arrival and departure. With regards to the bed sheets being rough, this is a recent issue that has arisen and we are working as quickly as possible to remove and replace the affected linen. Rest assured that the quality of our linen is that expected of an upscale hotel and all linen in circulation is less than one year old.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Carlton City Hotel when your business travels next bring you to Singapore.

Kind regards,

Mark Bulmer
General Manager
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Carlton City Hotel wasn't recommended to me but I came across it through agoda.com, I am still staying at the hotel as I write this review and got to say that it's truly a gem. Breakfast is wonderful, with options for vegans like myself. Friendly staff adds to it's character, another behind the scene person that I would truly love to thank is the person who cleaned my room, not only did she or he did a good job cleaning but that person organized my toiletries in a practical and efficient manner. Thank you and you deserve a raise!

Room Tip: Cleaned and well maintained hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Vashti13,

Thank you for reviewing the hotel. It is heartening to hear we are "truly a gem"! We hope that you will continue to stay with us whenever you travel to Singapore for business.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Here in Singapore for work and found this hotel as the usual places are all fully booked. This hotel is at a very good location close to an MRT station and, possibly, the best Ramen you will ever have here in Singapore- Keisuke's Tonkatsu King, a two-minute walk away!

Rooms are clean and the hotel isn't as noisy as many others. You know what I mean- doors being slammed at all hours and tourists from THAT country having loud conversations in the hallway.

Will definitely return for the room and the ramen. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear EthaMafia001,

Thank you for the review and we are glad you found the available food options, within the hotel's vicinity, delicious! See you again soon.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The location is perfect, close to the MRT Station, 15 mins walk to Chinatown and also a 10 minute taxi ride to Vivo City (close to Sentosa) There's also heaps on restaurants to choose from around the area. The hotel is still new and staff are friendly. I've stayed there twice now and both times the only thing I found disappointing is the bed-linen, probably just cheap quality or they haven't been washing it well. It's is a minor thing, but seeing heaps of reviewers have mentioned it, probably something the hotel needs to look at. Otherwise, you couldn't go wrong with this hotel seeing it's location.

Room Tip: Ask for city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Angelr82,

Thank you for reviewing us as "convenient"! We'd like to assure you that we are definitely looking into the comments pertaining to the bed linen. We hope your stay has been comfortable and that you will continue staying with us when you are in Singapore for business.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We chose this on price and location, but didn't expect much as it sells as a business hotel.

We paid more for a club room and it was definitely worth it. The extras made it excellent value for money.

Service was always great, the pool isn't amazing but perfectly adequate.

The view from our room over Chinatown was better I think than the other view towards the docks.

Special thanks to Gilbert for his friendly, helpful but always professional service, it helped us feel welcome and at home.

Would I stay again? Well there are so many hotels maybe a different location for us next time, but I would happily recommend it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Melanie l,

Thank you for recommending our hotel and rating us 5-stars! We will definitely share with Gilbert, your commendation, and hope to see you again.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Carlton City Hotel is a brandnew high class hotel (1 year old) with reasonable roomrates in the business district of Singapore, close to China Town. It is a perfect place to stay due to the fine rooms, good services and the close proximity of a MRT ( subway) station or the taxistand at the front of the hotel. We had a very quiet and comfortable room on the 18th floor far away from any traffic sound. The layout of the spacy room is practical with very comfortable beds. The wall between the bedroom and the bathroom is a glasswindow wich can be sealed off bij a screen curtain. Nice spacy effect though! We have stayed 6 days in this hotel and had a great time in Singapore and we will definitely come back to stay in this hotel during our next trip to Singapore.

Room Tip: Select a room between the 18th to 23 floor to avoid any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Happytraveller0100,

A big "Thank You" for singing praises of our hotel! We appreciate your comments and we are indeed an 'upscale business hotel". We'd also like to share that our room sizes are 32 square metres and most of our guests, like yourself, enjoy the separate bathtub and standing shower (with rain shower facilities) areas. We are looking forward to your next stay with us, when you do visit Singapore again.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton City Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Gopeng Street, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton City Hotel Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton City Hotel Singapore is conveniently located on Gopeng Street off Tanjong Pagar Road, along the fringes of Chinatown, Raffles Place and within the Central Business District. The hotel offers guests an upscale and stylish experience, resonating well with international business and leisure travellers. Designed by reputed leading international interior design company Hirsch Bedner Associates (HBA), the hotel exudes designer-conceived touches and furnishings from the grand marble lobby to its spacious guestrooms. With 29 floors and 386 guestrooms, the hotel is primed to be the preferred hotel for discerning business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Carlton City Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton City Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.