We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newish and morden hotel at a fair price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton City Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Gopeng Street, Singapore, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Newish and morden hotel at a fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is a newish hotel at Tanjong Pagar. It is about 5 mins outdoor walk to the MRT station. This hotel is part of the Carlton Hotel group - don't mistake this with the Ritz-Carlton. There are three Carlton hotels in Singapore and this is the newest one.

I have stayed here for 3 weeks and have found this to be a pleasant hotel - good location, fair price, reasonable service. What it is lacking is 24 hours laundry service and in-room dinning. This may not be important for some people but as a seasoned business travellers, I absolutely need this.

The room is reasonable size with queen bed, view to the adjacent building. Nice big flat screen TV but lack sports channels - there was no world-cup or F1GP. Bathroom is nice and clean with walk-in shower and full size bath tub. In-room Wi-Fi is fast with strong signal.

The gym is tiny and lacks equipment. I don't recall seeing any free weights. The swimming pool however is reasonable size - 25m? However, it is surrounded by all the high-rise next door so you feel very much you are being watched.

I have not eaten at the restaurant and cannot comment on the service and quality. However, in-room dinning is rather disappointing - very few choices and mostly not available after 11pm. At this time of the night, Maxwell food center is the only choice which is a good 10 mins walk away.

Overall, this is a nice hotel if you just want to sleep and shower, It is a comfortable and clean place. Don't expect any wow factor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear au_syd_traveller,

We are indeed a pretty new hotel, having opened on 5th August 2013; thank you for the comment and review! We would like to take this opportunity to clarify that laundry sent for cleaning before 5pm daily can be returned on the same day; additional charges will apply for this express service. With regards to in-room dining, there are menu items available for late-night dining from 11pm to 5.30am. Should you require room service for breakfast, this is available with the earliest service timing starting at 6.00am. We've noted on your other feedback and will certainly take them into consideration as we review our products and services. Thank you again for the positive note on us being "a nice hotel" and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel for business.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    181
    53
    11
    9
See reviews for
72
142
21
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

It is a new hotel locates at TanJong barga. So everything is new and clear. The best thing is you can call service for the ice anytime. I did it at 11PM, thank you very much! Well, the hotel is very closed to Chinatown and Maxwell. There are many Asian restaurants around the hotel. Fairprice is a 24Hrs supermarket which faces to the hotel. It is convenient to me who came back to hotel late in the night.

Room Tip: Sky bar is a must to visit on the top of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear GaryWangggg,

Thank you for the 5-stars rating and you are very much welcome with regards to the call for room service. It is our pleasure! The Graffiti Sky Bar is well-received by our guests and we hope you had a great time staying with us.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. We chose this hotel because it is close to the wedding venue and newness (open in Aug 2013). Since it is a business style hotel, we have no complaint that it is not in the downtown area and only with a simple swimming pool. In fact, the location is convenient with subway station and various types of restaurants nearby. However, given that it is a relatively new hotel, we are disappointed by its cleanliness, especially the bathroom. The condition of the bathroom is like that of a 3-5 years old hotel. The room is quite well-maintained though. Air-con (which is a must in Singapore) is very strong - a big thumb up. The buffet breakfast is reasonably good, with quite a range of choices including both western and local dishes. Yet, the service is not on par. Since we have a big group (about 10 people), we would like to sit together in a big table. The waitress refused to join a few small tables for us, despite that tables were available. Rather, she requested us to sit in a high table close to the food area, which is very warm and tight (people coming and going behind us to get food!). Having said that, the hotel is still relatively value for money, especially with free wifi of very good speed. If I return for Singapore for business, I will still choose this hotel. However, if going back for vacation, I would rather stay in a resort-type hotel and close to downtown (getting taxi in Singapore can be very challenging). Of course, expect to pay a higher tariff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear AmyDesi,

Thank you for reviewing us and sharing your feedback. We do apologise that the standards of cleanliness and service are not up to your expectations. We'd also like to highlight that during your stay, if there is any service we can render to you when needed, the "Carlton Touch" button is available on the in-room telephone. We hope your vacation was enjoyable and look forward to being of service to you again in future.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times for business. Being close to the office helps, but I like the fact it is so close to the Chinatown district with its markets and restaurants.
Nice pool and gym area.
I stayed on a club floor which gave access to the executive club which included a reasonable buffet breakfast as well as drinks and food in the evening.
The rooms are nice and large with good amenities and bathroom with seperate bath tub and shower.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Anthony B,

Thank you for the review and for highlighting our locale. We do hope that you will continue staying with us whenever you are in Singapore for work. Safe travels!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north america
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

What is says on the tin. Nice place. Good meals. We used as a central spot to visit varies places. Good central hotel.Staff are polite. Rooms are clean and affordable. Nothing bad to say. A must see destination.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear janetruss,

We are happy to hear that our location is a "central spot" and you were satisfied with your stay. Thank you for the 5-stars review!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a work trip, and will come back from now on. The hotel was great and the staff were super attentive. Great location with so many places to eat within a 2 block walking distance and in Ranking Pagar district so right in the financial district. Hard to beat!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear OzSupermodels,

Thank you for rating us 5-stars and that we are "hard to beat"! We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Visited Singapore for work and stayed at the new Carlton City hotel. The hotel was a stone throw away from my office and was picked for proximity more than any other reason. However my stay here turned out to be fantastic. The rooms were comfy and had a great view. The service was quite good and it was even close to the MRT station! Highly recommended :)

Room Tip: Good views from higher floors :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear G_the_Globetrotter84,

A big "Thank You" for highly recommending the hotel. We are a mere 2-minutes walk away from Tanjong Pagar MRT Station (East West line). See you again soon!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton City Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Gopeng Street, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton City Hotel Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton City Hotel Singapore is conveniently located on Gopeng Street off Tanjong Pagar Road, along the fringes of Chinatown, Raffles Place and within the Central Business District. The hotel offers guests an upscale and stylish experience, resonating well with international business and leisure travellers. Designed by reputed leading international interior design company Hirsch Bedner Associates (HBA), the hotel exudes designer-conceived touches and furnishings from the grand marble lobby to its spacious guestrooms. With 29 floors and 386 guestrooms, the hotel is primed to be the preferred hotel for discerning business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carlton City Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton City Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.