We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kawan Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kawan Hostel to your Saves list
Kawan Hostel
28 Dunlop Street, Singapore 209356, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Budget Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm with family which lacked space. The breakfast was very basic - with just white breads and some spreads. If you don't prefer to use shared hostel utensils like me, I would strongly advise to carry your own or buy disposable party tableware (like a cup, plate, knife/fork etc.,) - just to feel clean, comfortable and also to stay away from those ugly shared utensils.

The walls of the room are very thin and there's no surprise that you can't sleep well because of a noisy neighbor. The bathrooms are also very small and it would be tough for a big & tall person to get things done. Beware of the nosy boss and his impolite nature. He never smiles and will treat you as if you have offended him.

On the good side, the receptionist was very kind and helpful. She never charged a penny for local calls and some last minute print-outs. And in case if you have sight seeing plans, do check with reception about 10% discounted tickets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very poor experience.
Sadly, this was level with about the cheapest price in Singapore, that isnt a dorm room.
ie: a room for 2 that has a bathroom.
A tiny windowless box, with 5 beds in it.
You dont get a towel, or blankets. Just 2 things that act as blankets that might have been towels in a former life.
Breakfast is included in the room rate??
We had to buy our own loaf of bread so we could partake in said breakfast, as there was no bread left for us to eat.
The only good thing about the place was its location in Little India, which is my kind of interesting and ethnically mixed neighbourhood.
In a nutshell? Dont stay here, find somewhere else!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Location on crowded Dunlop St, a bit far from Little India MRT station (20 minutes walkin), closer to Mustafa Shopping Center (15 mins walkin) a cheap place for souvenir shoppin'..also 10 mins to Orchard by MRT. We were staying in a 4 bed room for 4 of us which is quite narrow/tight however private bathroom is available with cold and hot water, air conditioned or fan plus FREE WIFI access with "good" connection. Room rate is including breakfast,you make toast by yourself (selfservice). Overall, it's perfect for Backpakers (for sleeping only), for me myself it's quite good.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was stay here in September 2013.
The location consider good, 10 minutes walking distance from "Little India" MRT station, just one more station can go to the famous 24 hours operating huge supermarket , "Mustafa".

In this area you really can experience the Indian culture and what they are eating and selling, very interesting, beside Indian food, there are few chinese shop for ocal chinese food for very reasonable price, like $4 for a fish fillet noodle.

Check in process very fast (we booked the room through official), the chineseman in the counter was friendly and recommended some place for us to go and about the transport.

Lobby is small but fully equipt with sofa, magazines, computer (for internet and upload photos), and a fridge for selling drinks.The price is similiar or cheaper than 7-11, so i suggest you can buy drinks from the hostel.

They also provide free wifi for the room guest, the connection point is strong especially in lobby.

The room was assigned to us with 8 dorms, 2 bathrooms. There is water heater in each bath room, but you need to bring your own toiletries like shampoo and shower gel. You may rent a bath towel from the hostel for S$1.00 per stay.

The room is small and short of socket for 8 peoples charge their electronic applicants at the same times, so u need to "first come first serve).

Since there are 8 persons in a room with different wake up and sleeping time, so in summary you could not get a good sleep through the night.

If you allocated to sleep in upper decker, then you must be prepare for too short distance from pillow to ceiling, and the bulds is too close to you head. And also the air conditioning is nearby you, so you will be very cool (since you cannot switch off otherwise the whole room will be hot).

I only stay here for 1 night and not sure about the condition of other room, so my comment is only for the room.

Due to the great counter service, I will come back to stay in this hostel and only if i can opt for lesser dorms in a room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I had an upper bunk as I checked in the late evening. Room was cramped and vents of the toilet face into the room, not many power plugs and walls are thin so a lot of noise from the outside. I also paid to rent a towel and did not receive it. However, after I forgot my camera there they kept it safe and I was able to collect it a few days later which I am thankful for.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

we first stayed in this hostel for one night on a stop-over on our way to indonesia, and luckily for us the hostel was near enough empty so we were give a dorm and en-suite bathroom to ourselves. hoping that this would be the case again the second time we visited, on transit from indonesia to malaysia, we returned to kawan to find that this time they had a few more guests, which was fine, so we moved into our new dorm.
the next three nights that followed were filled with terrible, if any, sleep. there were no other backpackers staying in the hostels, just local men that had been staying there for a few months, who were asleep for most of the day and somehow most of the night too. one man snored so unbelievably loud all night long that we didn't sleep at all one night. while we understand this is not the hostel's fault, it was what ultimately caused us to pack up and move down the road. there was also no common area to chill out, meaning that we had to sit in our room during all the time we spent there, making it impossible to talk due to the sleeping people.
the room itself was ok as we aren't very picky, but people used to slightly more luxurious accommodation would be driven mad by how many bunk beds they attempted to fit into such a small room and the complete lack of windows.

good points include the fact that the man and woman who work at the front desk are very friendly, and gave us discounted universal studious tickets and $10 meal vouchers for only $2. there are a couple of books at the front that you can borrow whenever you wish.
the breakfast, while simple, is unlimited. you simply help yourself to as many slices of toast as you wish and a range of jam, butter, banana and chocolate spread, peanut butter. there was also sachet coffee, tea, and a few biscuits and cakes available. i'm sure this wasnt by intention, but the chocolate spread, coffee and even the butter were dairy-free, making it great for vegans like myself who often have to make do with just jam.
another nice surprise was one day when i left some clothes and a towel out on my bed, and came back to find it had all been washed, dried and folded neatly. all my other items such as contact lense cases and supplements had also been arranged nicely beneath my bed, which i hadn't expected.
it is located in little india, which is great for a culture-loving backpacker as it truly is like a miniature india, and the MRT is just a short walk away.

all in all i probably wouldn't stay here again as there are better places just a few doors down for cheaper. ok for a one-night stop over but not a very socially stimulating place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap Province, Cambodia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Room was small, bed was uncomfortable, sheets provided were actually two small towels. Right next door to a religous building so be prepared to be serenaded with a very loud prayer at 4AM. Breakfast was serve yourself toast and tea/coffee and clean your own dishes.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kawan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawan Hostel

Address: 28 Dunlop Street, Singapore 209356, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kawan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawan Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kawan Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.