We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vintage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vintage Inn to your Saves list
Vintage Inn
2.0 of 5 Capsule Hotel   |   60 Race Course Road, Singapore 218567, Singapore (Little India)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent hostel with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our visit to Singapore in October 2013. Place was very clean and you sleep in little pods. First night we had separate pods as the doubles were all booked up and then moved to a double for the next two. There are computers you can be used free of charge, great for backing up photos etc. They will do you washing for you for a small fee. And generally can't do enough to help...We arranged tours to the zoo and night safari through them and they even gave us a list to the airport for a small amount. Great stay would totally recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick C, Director of Sales at Vintage Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Hi Jibba84,

We would like to Thank You for your wonderful review of Vintage Inn Singapore and of our staff! We value customer service highly and to hear these wonderful comments from guests such as yourself, makes it all worth it! :)

We look forward to having you over at Vintage Inn Singapore again!

Thanks & Have A Great Day Ahead!

Best Regards,

Vick
Sales Director
Vintage Inn Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    47
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
45
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The location of this 'Inn' is great - right in the middle of Little India and about a 2 or 3 minute walk to Little India MRT to get you to the rest of Singapore. Surrounded by many Indian restaurants and 7-11 and many local stores in walking distance too. The beds in the pods were comfty enough and if it wasn't for the fact that you're sharing a room with many others, whom have different sleeping patterns and are arriving and departing at all times of the day and night, would aid you in restful sleep. My main disappointment with this pod-hostel is the fact there is nowhere to sit, chat and relax other than in your curtained pod. There is a room with stools and tables which is used for breakfast but it certainly isn't comfortable. As the pods are curtained, you tend to leave them closed when you're there, for privacy, and not to display your stuff you have left out when you're not there so youre never sure whether someone is sleeping or not so you live in a perpetual whisper.(Again, a comfortable lounge area could relieve some of this)
We stayed four nights and ate breakfast once there - no choice - curry and roti with 3in1 coffee or tea.
Bathrooms are modern and clean but shower cubicles very small and as they are your only privacy beside your pod, where you can sit, but can't stand, it makes showering, drying and dressing a stressful activity.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower bunk
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick C, Director of Sales at Vintage Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Hi Shelly74_21,

Thank you for your review of Vintage Inn Singapore. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us :) We would like to apologize to you for any inconveniences that you have faced during your stay with us. We do agree that a lounge would be highly appropriate for any hostel for travelers and guests alike to relax and/or communicate with one another. And as much as we wanted to set up a lounge within the premises, we were severely constraint by the outlay and size of the property. As such, we had to settle with have a breakfast area that doubles up as a lounge, though we also agree that the lounge could be set in a way that makes it more conducive for relaxing, and are currently looking into this.

We alternate our breakfast on a daily basis to ensure that our guests are not provide with the same breakfast daily. We do apologize if there was a mix-up with regards to this, and have ensured that all our our staff are informed on the breakfast variations for each day.

We would love to have you with us over at Vintage Inn Singapore again during your next visit to Singapore and hope to hear from you soon!

Vick
Sales Director
Vintage Inn Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Brilliant little hostel set on two floors about 5 mins walk from the little India mrt station. From check in, the staff were fantastically helpful even though obviously very busy. We stayed in a double pod which was relatively spacious, with a large lockable space underneath the bed. The pod has its own charging point (which had thoughtfully been changed to a UK power point for us) and a light. We stayed on the bottom but I would imagine the top pods are a little awkward to access as there is no ladder.

Laundry is available but staff offered to put our stuff through with the hotel laundry for sgd4, so we could go out and the laundry was done and placed back on our bed when we returned.

Would def recommend!!

Room Tip: Ask for a bottom level pod!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick C, Director of Sales at Vintage Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Hi fizzyfish998,

We would like to Thank You for your wonderful review of Vintage Inn Singapore and of our staff! We value customer service highly and to hear these wonderful comments from guests such as yourself, makes it all worth it! :)

We look forward to having you over at Vintage Inn Singapore again!

Thanks & Have A Great Day Ahead!

Best Regards,

Vick
Sales Director
Vintage Inn Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel have a very confy room and really excelent service. The room is very clean, cold. the lounge is very cozy. The receptionist really help us a lot . They show us the way to the best spot in town. And ready to help us in anyway. The location is near the little india MRT Station. Is not very far to go anywhere. It is delightfull stay in vintage inn.. We are hoping to stay in this hotel again. A special thanks to Vick for your hospitality.. See you again in Singapore.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick C, Director of Sales at Vintage Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Hi DianWulan,

We would like to Thank You for your wonderful review of Vintage Inn Singapore and of our staff! We value customer service highly and to hear these wonderful comments from guests such as yourself, makes it all worth it! :)

We look forward to having you over at Vintage Inn Singapore again!

Thanks & Have A Great Day Ahead!

Best Regards,

Vick
Sales Director
Vintage Inn Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I recently stayed here for one day. This hostel just 5 min walking from Little india MRT and easy to find. The staff is really friendly and helpfull. Love my room, the bed is comfortable, fast WIFI and clean bathroom with hot water.
It has lockerbox in the bottom of your bed so u can put your stuff there.
So far, all is good, really enjoyed my nite there :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick C, Director of Sales at Vintage Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Hi Ari C,

We would like to Thank You for your wonderful review of Vintage Inn Singapore and of our staff! We value customer service highly and to hear these wonderful comments from guests such as yourself, makes it all worth it! :)

We look forward to having you over at Vintage Inn Singapore again!

Thanks & Have A Great Day Ahead!

Best Regards,

Vick
Sales Director
Vintage Inn Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Nice and helpful staff, good location only a couple of minutes walking from the MRT and immersed in an indian world when you come back in the evening. The capsules and the bathroom are clean and comfortable, you get a locker for your valuables. I also enjoyed the genuine indian breakfast. Go for it !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick C, Director of Sales at Vintage Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Hi Vanessa,

We would like to Thank You for your wonderful review of Vintage Inn Singapore and of our staff! We value customer service highly and to hear these wonderful comments from guests such as yourself, makes it all worth it! :)

We look forward to having you over at Vintage Inn Singapore again!

Thanks & Have A Great Day Ahead!

Best Regards,

Vick
Sales Director
Vintage Inn Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our booking was mis-managed by the hotel as the double capsule we booked was unavailable on our first night. The hotel is in Little India - this means lots of goo local food but unfortunately means lots of noisy, inconsiderate indian residents who also cant leave the toilets in an acceptable state after use. Also you are given a set breakfast with no options/choices - if what is offered does not appeal then you miss breakfast. My partner was a vegetarian and was given a choice of meat or nothing at all. The place has potential because the location is ok and the standard of the accommodation is reasonable, however, standards of service must be significantly improved.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vick C, Director of Sales at Vintage Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hi Brian,

Thank You for taking the time to write us a review.

Firstly, we would like to apologise for the mis-handling of the booking. On the date of your arrival, we were facing a full occupancy, and we did close off all reservation channels so that there would be no overbooking on that particular date. However, your booking had come through even though no double beds were available on the night of your arrival. As such, we did our best to honour your reservation by reserving two single capsules for your first night, and then ensuring that you had the double capsule for the remainder of your nights at no extra cost.

The breakfast option does come as a surprise to us. We at Vintage Inn, provide our guests with traditional local breakfasts so that they get to experience the taste of Singapore. We have also had many vegetarian guests and couples that have stayed with us before and we have specially catered to their request for a vegetarian breakfast. All we would require from our guests is that they give us prior notice so that we can make the necessary arrangements.

All of us at Vintage Inn pride ourselves highly on customer service. And we would go out of our way to ensure that every single one of our guests has a truly unique and memorable experience staying with us. As such, to know that you had a 'disappointing' stay does truly affect us. We hope we could get another opportunity to accommodate you at Vintage Inn Singapore and change your current opinion of us.

Please do accept our sincerest apologies Brian and have a great weekend ahead.

Best Regards,

Vick
Vintage Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vintage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Inn

Address: 60 Race Course Road, Singapore 218567, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vintage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The many spoils and riches in life do not necessarily have to come with an astronomical price tag. We at Vintage Inn keep it luxuriously simple. We believe in the preservation of heritage and character and you will be surrounded with a collection of South East Asian artwork and antiquities the moment you step into our humble abode.Interacting with our team will also leave you most exuberant! Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will assist you in making your journey to our wonderful island a most enriching one. From helping you with event and restaurant bookings to advising you on the many attractions and must see places, our staff will ensure that you maximise your budget and time. We also possess a collection of literary works so that you may learn more about how this humble fishing community and port island grew exponentially into one of the world's top cities in a single generation.Our Airport and Ferry terminal transfer service and a hot gourmet local breakfast will ensure right from the very start that you will experience a fuss-free travel whether you are a tourist or a business traveller on a smart budget. Do check with us on the array of complimentary products and services which we offer to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Vintage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintage Inn Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.