We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast flavoursome food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MTR Restaurant

MTR Restaurant
438, Serangoon Road | Opp. Sri Perumal Temple, Singapore 218133, Singapore (Formerly Mtr)
+65 6296 5800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 7,254 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Coffee Shop, Vegetarian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving Pure Vegetarian Authentic South Indian Food Since 1924. Only the Finest and Fresh Ingredients used. No MSG,Chemicals and Preservatives used. NO Service charges levied. Situated Opp. Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple on Serangoon Road. Near Ferrar Park MRT station Next to City Square Mall.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fast flavoursome food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We found this on Tripadvisor and rushed off to be completely impressed by this find at the northern end of Serangoon Rd. We parked at City Square Mall and walked the 100 metres up the road. When We arrived the place was full and we were greeted by the cashier who gave us a quick highlights of the menu and helped us place our order within minutes of having walked in the door. After a short wait we were seated and our food arrived quickly after. The food is not presented on anything particularly flash plates, and the decor wasn't overly noticeable, but the food was great, flavoursome and portions were good. Really not important in light of the quality of the food.
We had the recommended thosai, idili, and rice. All great and filled us both with the single serve of these three orders. Cost us $25 for the three meals and 2 mango lassies. Recommended, and just as good as anything twice the price. Polite service and smiles.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThampiNellikala, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Nickcoulter, Thank you for visiting MTR Singapore. We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. We also appreciate your initiative in recommending some of our dishes to other TripAdvisor users.

Our motto is to make "Most Authentic Healthy South Indian food " available in Singapore at a very affordable price. We use NO preservatives, NO MSG, NO re-used oil. All the foods are freshly prepared and all the ingredients are imported from India and kept in fixed temperature to retain the original taste. With the support and motivation from people like you, we have been rated as the "No.1 Vegetarian Restaurant in Singapore" as well as the "No.6 Restaurant among all the 7,130 restaurants in Singapore".

Please do visit us more often with your friends and families and spread the good word around. Thanking you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    134
    24
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place for South Indian food in Singapore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

If you've eaten at MTR in India, you'll know the experience is amazing but getting to eat the yummm food of MTR in Singapore just doubles the flavor. If you're there on the weekend do try their Special Thali, it gives you a little of everything.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThampiNellikala, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Prerna, Thank you for visiting MTR Singapore. We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. Our motto is to make "Most Authentic Healthy South Indian food " available in Saingapore at a very affordable price. We use NO preservatives, NO MSG, NO re-used oil. All the foods are freshly prepared and all the ingredients are imported from India and kept in fixed temperature to retain the original taste. With the support and motivation from people like you, we have been rated as the "No.1 Vegetarian Restaurant in Singapore" as well as the "No.6 Restaurant among all the 7,130 restaurants in Singapore".
Please do visit us more often with your friends and families and spread the good word around. Thanking you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Most Authentic Karnataka experience in Singapore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

For all you Dosa lovers, this is indeed the best place in Singapore. MTR is world famous for its delicious Kannada dishes and quality of food and this Singapore strives at its best to keep up the same standard. Some of the ingredients are flown down from Bangalore to maintain the authenticity.

All the dosas varieties is very good, neer dosa is also to be found here. Also everyday has a different rice variety to be tasted.

In terms of desserts and sweets, do try the Chandrahaara which is modeled after French desserts.

Overall surely a must try for Karnataka dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTRSingapore1924, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sir, Thank you for your visit to MTR Singapore and the genuine feedback. We also appreciate your rating and recommendation to others. MTR Singapore was started with the sole intention of making 'Authentic' South Indian food available in Singapore at an affordable price. Today 28% of our guests are foreigners, who loves South Indian food. In fact they spent time with us learning the story behind each of those items. However, when a person like you, who is an authority on Kannada Food gives such good comments, we feel accomplished. It is our promise to maintain the quality and standards to the best of your satisfaction. Kindly keep visiting us more often with your family and friends...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Best Vegetarian restaurant in Singapore.. I have tasted in many restaurants but never felt like at home... But MTR made me feel like home both in Quality and hospitality... Must visit place for all the foodies... U can't stop ur appetite with one dish.. Last but not the least, Best value for money in Singapore and it will never make u feel regret... :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTRSingapore1924, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Pavithra,

Thank you for your visit to MTR Singapore and for the genuine feedback.

Only because of the support and encouragement from genuine customers like you, we are rated as the "No.1 Vegetarian Restaurant in Singapore" within 6 months of our operation in Singapore. Every focus is made on serving fresh, authentic and hygienic South Indian food with a smile. All items are prepared fresh. We don't use preservatives, re-used oil or MSG. All ingredients are brought down from India and kept at specific temperature, to give the original taste.

Looking forward to see you more often at MTR Singapore with your family and friends....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place for Karnataka food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Love MTR. Being a Bangalorean, I am very happy that we have MTR here in Spore. Superb bisi bele bath, plan dosa, rava idly and Chandrahara sweet. Every time we come here we don't miss eating Chandrahara. Overall a brilliant place to get good Karnataka delicacies. I recommend this place for all, ESP vegetarians.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTRSingapore1924, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Swetha,

Thank you for your visit to MTR Singapore and for the genuine feedback. We value it more, when it comes from a Bangalorean, who has already lived through the legacy of MTR at Lalbagh in Bangalore.

Only because of the support and encouragement from genuine customers like you, we are rated as the "No.1 Vegetarian Restaurant in Singapore" within 6 months of our operation in Singapore. Every focus is made on serving fresh, authentic and hygienic South Indian food with a smile. All items are prepared fresh. We don't use preservatives, re-used oil or MSG. All ingredients are brought down from India and kept at specific temperature, to give the original taste.

Looking forward to see you more often at MTR Singapore with your family and friends....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MTR Restaurant also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to MTR Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MTR Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.