We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CFJ Seafood Classic

CFJ Seafood Classic
30 Merchant Road, #2-30-31 | Riverside Point, Singapore, Singapore (The Quays)
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,605 of 7,750 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Seafood
Neighborhood: The Quays
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: The Quays
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My family went to this restaurant to celebrate my sister's 21st birthday, and we were expecting to eat good food. We were not disappointed. The food satisfied our cravings. Of particular note is the chili crab, with the chili gravy providing the dish with a rich and spicy flavour, and yet not too spicy for those who do not like spicy to enjoy.

Additionally, the staff were friendly and courteous, chatting with us amiably from time to time. They were also willing
to provide additional service th,at may not be part of their job scope, such as taking a family photo for us. The food was served to us very quickly too, so we didn't have to wait long, though it would have been better if the food was served dish by dish, so that the previous dish could be finished before we cocontinued with the next one.

All in all, it was an enjoyable experience dining here, and it will serve as a good memory for my sister on her 21st birthday. It has my recommendations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Ended up here as a second choice and are very happy we did, had Chilli crab and Black pepper crab, absolutely beautiful, staff were fantastic and service was very quick, highly recommend

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagudpud, Philippines
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Return Visit and very bit as good as the last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Decided to try the chili crab again and with a window seat overlooking Clarke Quay, and the chili crab was absolutely enjoyable as before with steamed and fried buns and the signature fried rice. Its pretty expensive of course but we enjoyed every bit of it, the service is excellent and attentive. The only negative annoyance is ambushing you with the fried fish skin snack appetizers and peanuts (already on the table and you pay whether you have it or not) same as you pay for the hand towels. So milking customers every opportunity. Still better than Jumbo downstairs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagudpud, Philippines
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Chilli Crab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I tried to get a table at Jumbo Seafood at Clarke Quay for some family visiting Singapore and as usual they were full up or had a very long wait. Fortunately this restaurant had a person downstairs with a menu card and so up the escalators above Jumbo we ended up in this place directly above and had a table with a great view overlooking the river in air conditioned comfort. Service was ourstanding and attentive and evidently this place had been open many years. The chilli crab was superb and better than Jumbo as the appear to put more care and attention into it rather than mass feeding as down below. You need a few plates of steamed buns for the sauce though its that good. We also had their signature fried rice which was very very good. We will definitely go here again and not waste time at Jumbo anymore. Highly recommended if you want to have crab

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CFJ Seafood Classic also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to CFJ Seafood Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CFJ Seafood Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.