We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacRitchie Nature Trail

MacRitchie Nature Trail
MacRitchie Reservoir Park, Singapore 298717, Singapore
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 565 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A short trip from the city center lies the serenity of MacRitchie Reservoir, part of Singapore’s water catchment system that captures rain water to help supply the island’s growing population. Trails surround the park, which has an upgraded visitor’s center featuring a café, restrooms and information station. The best views are from the TreeTop Walk, a 250-meter suspension bridge across the rainforest canopy, which can be accessed along the seven-kilometer Venus Loop. Wear hiking shoes and bring water.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great place for a walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We go here most Sundays for a walk. It's just a nice place to relax, you can walk as little or as much as you feel like. We like to walk all the way round and then indulge ourselves somewhere nice for lunch afterwards. Worth a visit.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    213
    28
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Natural oasis in the middle of the urban jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

MacRitchie Reservoir is a fantastic place for a run if you're craving some greenery. I'm from a very green part of the world, and even I was impressed by the existence of such a large and biologically diverse park just a few minutes by taxi from the city center.

We ran the 11 km loop, which is a great workout. There are a variety of shorter loops as well as the TreeTop walk which was closed when we were there. One thing I would recommend as a runner - go early as Singapore is so hot and humid. Also, you might want to consider bringing your own water bottles, as it there is only one water fountain while you're on the trail.

The loop was beautiful, not too crowded, and we saw a fair amount of wildlife. The best part is how far away one feels from the maddening crowds when you're in the middle of the park. It's easy and relatively cheap to take a bus or taxi to MacRitchie, there are lockers and bathrooms at the visitor's center to store your stuff, and plenty of concessions available to quench your thirst afterwards. What a fantastic place!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun but very hot of course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Enjoyed the walk and it is Singapore so seems very safe and well tended with rest stops/ toilets/ water but all a bit sanitised. We particularly went for the skywalk but it's really very short compared to how far you walk to get there. To do it quickly get dropped off on Venus Road after the Country Club rather than the car park at the bottom of the road. And wear decent walking shoes or trainers at the very least - some areas will not be fun in flip flops

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Urban Rainforest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Reachable easily by city bus, this park, trail, reservoir is chock full of outside activities. I took a 7 mile (12km) hike from the main area around the entire reservoir and visited the TreeTop walkway and a viewing tower. There are many different trails, some very short and easy, but the trail heading into the forest is moderate, especially after the heavy rain that hit ahead of my adventure. It's a dirt and rocky path, undulating up and down but well maintained and easily walkable. I was glad I put on proper tennis shoes, you could be good with hiking sandals but nothing less. The main building has a lunch bar with drinks and simple snacks such as chicken nuggets and pastries, nice after a 2 hour hike.

Most of the hike is in rainforest, even saw a few monkeys. If you like outdoor activities, this should be on your list.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic jungle experience for newbies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I took my wife to MacRitchie this weekend. It was the first time either of us had experienced real tropical jungle and I have to say it was great doing this in a safe well-marked environment. Still struggled with the heat but the highlight was the jungle canopy walk - superb. And very surprising for high density Singapore.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacRitchie Nature Trail also viewed

 

Been to MacRitchie Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacRitchie Nature Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.