We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Venue Hotel to your Saves list
Venue Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   305 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427556, Singapore (Joo Chiat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Value stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in early March (Queen and Twin rooms). The hotel is nicely decked out, and the rooms are very clean and in great condition (seems like from fairly recent renovation).

We chose this hotel to save a few dollars for our holiday, as it is located out in the East Coast area. It was still extremely easy to get around by public transport, and it didn't take long to get to any of the main sights. The staff were friendly and helpful and the stay overall was very good.

The only downside is the size of the rooms as they were pretty small, but this is pretty common in hotels in Singapore.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    115
    49
    17
    9
See reviews for
21
85
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

It is one of the better hotel that you could find in SG at this rate.
Located near to the beach which East Coast Park is nearby.
A great place especially when you get to enjoy the great food nearby at Joo Chiat Road to east coast road ranging from Peranakan (East Coast rd), Italian (East coast Road - at Peranakan Hotel) to Malay cuisine (Joo Chiat Rd) along the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very nice and neat room, friendly staff, and good location. My entire stay was great and comfortable. Free wifi is great. Hotel is close to many small restaurants and walking distance to shopping malls. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

A place with lots of foodie to try out. Interesting with the Peranakan style. Room a bit too small but good for single/ couple or business trip. Love the aroma scent when you enter the lobby. Great service from the reception. A budget boutique hotel for long stay & reasonably worth the price. :)

Room Tip: Get a bigger room for space if u travel wt family
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you are looking for a decent yet affordable place to stay then Venue Hotel should be in your list to consider. Its located along Joo Chiat Road where makan places (eatries) is just stone throw away in any directions. The newly renovated Katong Mall or now its re-named to I12 Katong has everything a mall should have. An array for specialty restaurant from sushi to sirloin steak.
The hotel lobby provides a couple of iMac for their guest to use. Or you will also be given a complimentary wifi ticket so that you can stay connected with your friends and family.
With a 24 hours reception counter you can rest assured that there will always be someone to help you out if you ever need any.
The check in and check out time are pretty standard. But for those who just flew in from a red eye flight, you can still check in based on their executive rate when you can check in at 4am and be able to have the room till 4pm. This is an excellent idea that other hotels should consider incoporating.
All in all Venue Hotel is value for money when money matters.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

There's lots of food shops along the street where the hotel was at. The hotel is fairly new and staff were friendly. Didn't like the fact that you cannot switch off the AC in the rooms AT ALL. IT GOT COLD. didn't like that the bathroom door was kinda transparent. The room lights up in the morning from the sunlight coming thought the bathroom.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed at Venue Hotel from 26th February and checked out on 3rd March 2014.

After the cabbie dropped me off, the first thing I noticed as I walked into the hotel is it is completely olfactorised and it smells really amazing! That's something I never expected even the 3 to 4 stars hotels to have!!! I think fine details like this captures clients very subconsciously and makes people returning for more without ever really knowing why we always go back to the same place.

The lighting of the lobby was classily dimmed which made it looks like this falls into the luxury category.

If I were a walk in customer, I would have expected a different kind of pricing from the smell and looks alone.

Furthermore, they have delicious crunchy apples for all their customers.

This hotel seems to have all the five senses completely covered!!!!

The Apple computers for customer use is just brilliant!

I was actually given a much smaller sized standard bedroom but because there was an extra room available, the hotel attendants were so caring and kind enough to put me into a slightly larger room which completely made my stay a perfectly satisfied even though I had to check into another room and wait for the cleaning to be done at the newly appointed room.

The attendants by the names of Alvin and Reyes were extremely professional in handling all requests and i find both of them highly knowledgeable in areas where you'd expect a tourist cum business visitor to have queries.

I even made a decision to go back there during my next visit because on top of their detailed customer experience orientation, they also have special transportation included tickets to Discovery/Universal Studios from a nearby location.

It cost me very little extra (only SG$5) to check in first after a tiring flight, and get a room change after the new room is ready.

Also, great food are available right across the street such as the Vietnamese Cafe, Loving Hut, and the obvious Chinese corner restaurant diagonally across.

There is also a Giant Supermarket several doors down and another Seven Eleven right next door which is extremely convenient for travelers like me.

All in all staying at Venue Hotel was an absolute amazing experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Venue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venue Hotel

Address: 305 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427556, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Venue Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Venue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venue Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.