We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shophouse The Social Hostel

Save Saved
You added Shophouse The Social Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shophouse The Social Hostel
48 Arab Street, Singapore 199745, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 183 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It was not hard to find the location, just 5-10 minute walk from the Bugis MRT. The area of the hostel is Kampong Glam which is muslim area and not very bustling at night so you will get good night sleep. It was easy to find good food nearby the hostel and you have 7-11 just at the opposite of the hostel. The staffs were friendly (not mentioning good looking, haha), the room was clean with comfortable bed and cold air-con, the bathroom was superclean, the internet was fast, although the breakfast was only standard: cereal and toast but they've got nutella! I stayed just for one night at the Shophouse The Social Hostel but it is enough to make me go back for my next visit to SG.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    25
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
7
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bandung
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Recommending this hostel! I stayed at Shophouse with two of my friends from June 22-June 24. We stayed in the 12 bed mixed dorm, which was really comfortable. First thing I noticed and loved from the hostel was its bold-pink-colored everything. It was nice. Other decorations (esp the wall where they paste previous traveler's photos) were also quirky in a nice way! It is also conveniently located, just a 3-mins walk to Bugis MRT station and near to 3 bus stops (which serves routes to destinations like Orchard, Clarke Quay, etc). 7-Eleven was just across the street and there were many Middle Eastern restaurant around. The staffs were very friendly as well. Bed, pillow, and blanket were very comfortable. The locker near each bed was very convenient, along with the hanger, power socket, and lamp.

I love the rooftop patio the most! It is very cozy, we stayed up from night to morning in the patio. The all-day "breakfast" was okay too, however, adding more choices to the menu wouldn't hurt :p

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Cahya,

Thank you for the awesome review! A lot of love went into building the hostel and we're glad you felt it.

We're opening our own cafe soon, so expect a better start to the day when it does! We will also start selling beers on the roof to complement your 'night to morning' experience. =)

We will see you again soon!

Cheers,
Mustaffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is the best Hostel in Singapore!! friendly staff and well-located in the arab area of Singapore. near to bugis mrt and in no time u will be at the party area of marina bay or clark quay!! the roof is the best common room i have seen so far, its a nice place to meet other travelers. the beds are very comfy and clean!! the Bathroom is very clean as well! u can storage ur stuff if you want to!! they will help you with any questions u have at any time!! I definitely made some very good friends in that hostel!! thank you Mustafa and Calvin and the others staff members!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hey Tim!

Thank you for the flattering review. It was a pleasure to have you at the hostel and we're glad you had a blast here.

We hope you'll be back soon to hang out with us again! =)

Cheers,
Mustaffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Super staff here, v friendly and helpful. The dorm beds can be tightly fitted but can are comfortable and kept clean. Nice rooftop lounge and balcony, a small shop selling some beer and soft drinks would be a great idea though lads! Reasonably priced and close to the nearest train/metro libe

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShophouseHostel, Manager at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
HI Cianwhack,

It always delights us when a guest enjoys their stay :) And you read our minds, plans are underway to run our own cafe/bar so the next time you're here pop back a beer or two with us yeah!

Cheers,
Calvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. Just as many of the other reviews have said, the staff are super friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean (and well thought out with a lamp, outlet and locker at each bed). The 'breakfast' is a nice add on, but don't get too excited it's just toast with different spreads (but nutella is one of the options!), plus tea and/or coffee. It's in an AMAZING location on Arab Street, close to the SNRT (metro) as well as Raffles City Mall, etc.

The one thing I loved was they have a movie night every Saturday eve on the rooftop, and they provide snacks too! It was perfect as I arrived late coming from Tioman Island and all I wanted was to shower and veg out... and I couldn't have been happier.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShophouseHostel, Manager at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi Megan,

Thanks for the lovely review :) Point noted on the breakfast, once we run the cafe ourselves we promise to make the breakfast choices more exciting! Eggs maybe?

Glad you enjoyed movie night, we love entertaining our guests and we can't wait to have board game nights, local food nights...

Cheers,
Calvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Nice atmosphere, convenient location, friendly staff. Beautiful view from the roof top. The only con is the price, but Singapore is expensive, so it's really not that bad. Plus, breakfast is included - you can have all the toast, cereal, tea and coffee you like, all day. Definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi Elizabeth,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We agree that Singapore is expensive (especially accommodation) but I'm sure we offered you value for money!

We look forward to hosting you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We chose this hostel initially because of the comments on this website, and have no regrets. The staff is helpful and welcoming, rooms are simple and clean with good air cond (Required given the climate) . the location is just perfect, near the subway (5 minutes), and several nice bars (2 minutes). the district is really lively and pleasant (street concerts, bars with terraces on the street and with better prices than clarky the trendy district) . there is a seven eleven right outside the hotel, perfect to buy some beer and enjoy them on the rooftop with other people of the hostel (great memories). I was there at the beginning of May 2013 with a friend, two french in Singapore, and it was an awesome stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi Antho_tls,

Thanks for the review and letting other guests know about the perks of staying with Shophouse! We enjoy having a beer or two at the rooftop terrace and lounge ourselves! ;)

Even better news, we are opening our own cafe/bar at the ground floor at the end of the year so expect an even greater experience when you come back next time!

Cheers,
Calvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shophouse The Social Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shophouse The Social Hostel

Address: 48 Arab Street, Singapore 199745, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 183 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singapore's first indie boutique hostel, the newly opened Shophouse The Social Hostel puts up clean, refurbished rooms housed in a beautiful conservation building that is unique to South-East Asia. Shophouse lies along Arab Street, an area famous for its heady mix of culture, arts, dining and fashion.We offer 6, 8, 12 and 16 bed mixed dorms as well as 8 and 12 bed female-only dorms which lie on an exclusively ladies-only floor.Guests who stay with Shophouse enjoy:Fully Air-Conditioned RoomsFree All-Day BreakfastFree Wi-Fi and Computer TerminalsPersonal Reading Lights and Electrical SocketsIndividual LockersHigh Quality Foam Mattress and BedsheetsFirm Fibre Pillows and Comfortable QuiltsFree Ear PlugsFree Hair & Body ShampooLuggage StorageCCTV Security and Room Key Card AccessDiscounted Tour and Sightseeing Tickets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Shophouse The Social Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shophouse The Social Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shophouse The Social Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.