We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay and meet people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traveller@SG

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Traveller@SG to your Saves list
Traveller@SG
111H King George's Avenue, Singapore, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
world
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nice place to stay and meet people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hi, i have been staying in this hostel and i found it pretty nice - free breakfast, tea, coffee, TV, friendly staff.

Location is quite and pretty central and located not far from Lavender MRT station. Also close to supermarket FairePrice.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
10
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014 via mobile

Overall the hostel is alright as my tolerance level is pretty high ever since I started backpacking. But it wasn't alright anymore when I have seen a few bedbugs on my pillow and mattress when I woke up in the middle of night. There are bites on my neck, arms, elbows and face. The experience of bedbugs bites was terrible because I had it once in New Zealand last year. I am very disappointed to the hostel response on the next day because the receptionist not apologize to me yet pretend like nothing happen when I informed her that bedbugs were found on my bed. Furthermore there was proof of bites on me and death bedbugs on a piece of paper I shown her. Ended up, I request for refund and she just refund and never say anything after that. This makes me doubt the hygienic practice of this hostel and are they really clean the hostel properly and care to deliver you a clean and safe place to stay. Hope the management will do something to look into this problem seriously. To all backpackers, think twice before you make any booking with this hostel unless the hostel management do something to improve it. Good luck!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I stayed at their female dorm with a friend when we had backpacking trip to Singapore. The female dorm had 3 bunk beds (so for 6 people). The rather strange thing is it was beside the hallway but to enter that room, we had to enter through the room beside it since the female dorm room didn't have direct door to the hallway. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It provided free wifi. It is near Lavender MRT station, so it was easy to go around Singapore from there. They provided simple breakfast; toast, coffee, tea, and milk. We can use their fridge too. They had policy to turn off room lamp after 11 pm. It was quite clean, but unfortunately when we stayed there, a visitor put tissue in the toilet so it was blocked. Overall, if you need cheap place with good location and free wifi & breakfast, this is recommended. The drawback is the hostel is located at third or fourth floor of the building with no elevator or escalator so if you don't have enough strength, it may be quite tiring.

Room Tip: They have female dorm room so if you are female who is not comfortable sharing room with men, you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Ended up staying here two nights in the beginning of my month long Asia adventure. Basic level hostel, breakfast included (toast and coffee), aircon in the dorm but not at the common area. Location was good. Lavender MRT was 5 minutes walk, Little India some 10 mins. Lots of cheap dining options close by too. Might stay here again, but might look for other options first.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, made a late check in and the staff was very friendly and helpfull. Comfortable room and clean shared bathroom. Was having a nice roommate. Has a good location, about 30minutes from changi airport, near lavender MRT Station exit B, walk until you find soccer stadium and turn right. There is Kopitiam and some foodcourt near hostel. The breakfast just standard if you ever stay at another backpacker hostel in Singapore, they just have the same breakfast.

Room Tip: I got a room inside a room, better take this room rather than the room beside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hostel and after being in the best hostel ever in KL this was quite a downer. The common area is alright and the staff appeared to be nice and helpful. We stayed in one of the 8 dorm rooms (302) - which was tiny. There are just too many beds in this small room (would be suitable for 4 max 6 beds!) which results in no privacy at all. In addition, the room had a really weird smell which we couldn't get out. In general, the hostel is not very clean. The floors, the bathrooms and common areas are quite dirty. However, the location is pretty good as it is just a 5 min walk from lavender station and 20 min to little India. In sum, the stay was ok and bearable but not nice.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Hello! I'm back again!

I stayed at this hostel only for 1 night as transit hostel from my Thailand trip. I can't share lots about this hostel because I grew up in Singapore for 12 years then everything looks ordinary for me. Overall, I really recommend you to stay here if you look for cheap room but tidy, clean, and wanna have good experience as foreign tourist. The receptionist was good and of course, can speak english-chinese well.

The location was near to Lavender MRT Station, about 5-10 mins of walking. (FYI, Lavender MRT Station is adjacent to Bugis MRT station. There's famous Bugis Street Shopping area there).There was food courts and money changer near the Lavender MRT station, you can have meals or change your money there. There're lots of some food seller and menu there. Food Price ranged from SGD 2.5-8. You can also shopping at minimart (i think it's medium-sized market) at FAIR PRICE which the location is between the Lavender MRT St and Traveller@SG hostel. You will pass this minimart on your way.

I got USD 12-15 for mixed dorm/night/person, online booked by AGODA. There were 4 beds, with AC and WIFI service. I was given a locker key too. This price was already included of breakfast (bread, strawberry-peanuts-choco jam, tea, hot water, cereals). There was plug/socket connector for you who have different type of it to Singapore type However, I suggest you to check the type before your coming to Singapore. The living room was good styled, cozy, and you can see TV and read some books. You can talk and have conversation with other foreign tourists there.

The toilet/shower room was good enough. There was shampoo/body shower gel and you can have the warm water as well from the heater machine. The weakness about this hostel that we should take staircases for almost 2 floors to reach the main floor, just like the Backpacker@SG hostel where I stayed year ago for F1 race. There's no elevator for sure.

Overall, it's a nice place with reasonable price to stay! Regards, Hendri!

Room Tip: For short-medium trip, it's good enough to book mixed-dorm room. Ask the receptionist if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traveller@SG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller@SG

Address: 111H King George's Avenue, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Traveller@SG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller@SG Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traveller@SG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.