We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REAL, FUN, REFRESHING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mogambo

Mogambo
03 Canton Street, #01-01 | Boat Quay, Singapore, Singapore
+65 6438 9808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 7,410 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Bar, Grill, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Mogambo is a new and fashionable bar in the happening area of Boat Quay.Set back from the river itself, the street is closed in the evenings and the comfortable al fresco street seating is put out. Inside the premises there are two bars to choose from, including one of Singapore's few 'island' bars which creates an infectious atmosphere.Now coupled with Bergs gourmet burger company you can add a delicious handmade burger to your ice cold beer.Come down and see what happens when someone 'rings the famous bell'!
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“REAL, FUN, REFRESHING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The staff are friendly and cordial, management works hard to make sure the customers are getting great service and the atmosphere is as casual as it gets.
Not pretentious at all.
If you are looking for a great place to kick back, relax and meet an eclectic blend of different people this is the place for you. It goes from chilled to rocking so you can enjoy the vibe you want by choosing when you stop by.
It's not clique, so a traveler or first timer will feel very comfortable just pulling in.
I liked the music a lot, It aint your regular latest pop mush, it's the good stuff from when they still made real music. They will even hunt down a request if it isn't too busy and they have it, probably do.
Absolutely a, "worth checking it out" place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MogamboSG, Marketing Manager at Mogambo, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi markzag,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mogambo and for your awesome comments! We do indeed do our best to make sure our customers are satisfied and aim to keep our atmosphere welcoming!
We are definitely a "come as you are" kind of place.
Thanks for the feedback on the music as well - as I have said in previous reviews, taste is very subjective, but we like to shake things up as much as we can.

Enjoy the rest of the day and we look forward to seeing you back at the bar some time soon. :)

Victoria
Marketing Manager
Mogambo Bars Singapore Pte Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cheesy Singing - Toff Rugby Wanks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Went in for a drink on a Sunday night. Music was terrible - full blast 80's rock anthems etc. Witnessed bar staff prancing around, singing like bellends, all cringe-worthily forced. The crowd round the bar doing exactly the same - again, so cringey.

I've been in there a few times. This sing-a-long at the bar seems to be something they try to promote as a positive but it's all so cheesy, staged and vomit inducing. It didnt really bother me too much before but this time I wanted the ground to swallow me up.

Crowd is the expat 'public schoolboy rugby player trying to be common' look.
Wouldn't be a bad bar if they dropped the forced, cringey bar sing-a-long.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MogamboSG, Marketing Manager at Mogambo, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi TheMadFerrit,
Thanks for taking the time to review Mogambo, and I'm sorry you were not happy with your experience.
If you were in on a Sunday night then I assume you were there on July 27, or the eve of the Hari Raya Puasa public holiday, as we usually close on Sundays. Any eve of a PH does tend to get a little rowdy.

Apologies that the music was not to your taste - taste in music is always highly subjective, of course, and what we play depends on the crowd and how they react to it.
We are always open to taking requests if the tunes fit the mood at the time.

As for your description of the "bar staff prancing around, singing like bellends, all cringe-worthily forced", I can assure you we do not "force" our staff to behave in any particular way. We do, however, encourage them to have fun. Of course, we couldn't possibly force the crowd to behave a certain way either.

Was there anything about this particular visit that made the singalong/enjoyment so displeasing? You mentioned that it did not bother you too much before.

Cheers,
Victoria
Marketing Manager
Mogambo Bars Singapore Pte Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fauske
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Great food and service :D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We had burgers, one chicken and one regular beef, all homemade, even the sauces and dressings! The aioli was especially good :) And the price isn't bad either :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MogamboSG, Marketing Manager at Mogambo, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Hannemoren,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mogambo! We certainly appreciate it, and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food. If you have the chance to stop by again, do try our latest addition to the menu - the chicken parmigiana!
Happy to hear also that you liked the service. We do try to keep it fun and friendly! :)
Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Victoria
HR & Marketing Manager
Mogambo Bars Singapore Pte Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“The Bell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

There are a lot of fun places around boat quay but this is the place to be. They always throw good parties and the place gets pretty wild on the weekends.

It is unpretentious and has a friendly atmosphere so it is very easy to meet people and the staff always make sure that you have a great time. Hanging out inside at the bar is always fun because of the bell but unlike other places in boat quay the outdoor area is spacious, lively and comfortable.

The place also has good lunch deals for a burger and a pint.

It is definitely worth checking the place out at least once if you are in Singapore.


  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MogamboSG, Marketing Manager at Mogambo, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Mayohater,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mogambo on TripAdvisor! We're ecstatic to hear that you've enjoyed your visit(s) to the bar. Yes, our bell-ringing concept (whereby customers ring the bell to buy everyone at the bar a shot) is one of the things which sets us apart. Fun, and a little dangerous!

Hope to see you again soon!

Have an awesome day. :)

Victoria
HR & Marketing Manager
Mogambo Bars Singapore Pte Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun place to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great place to hang out and make new friends. Good crowds on Fridays and Saturdays and fun theme parties too. The finger foods are good as well, I've tried the chicken wings, spring rolls and the mini burgers. You can choose three kinds of mini burgers so I chose the felafel, fish and beef with swiss cheese and they were all so good!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MogamboSG, Marketing Manager at Mogambo, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi yumz41,
Thank you for taking the time to review Mogambo and for your kind comments. We're so happy to hear you've enjoyed BERGS burgers and the finger foods from Mogambo's kitchen. We do love our theme parties as well, and they wouldn't be the same without sporting customers like yourself. Look out for the next one soon!

Have a great day.

Victoria
HR & Marketing Manager
Mogambo Bars Singapore Pte Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mogambo also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Mogambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mogambo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.