We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese Pub in Boat Quay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juban Stand

The Juban Stand
62 Boat Quay, Singapore 049850, Singapore (The Quays)
+65 64388262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,063 of 7,256 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Bar, Hamburgers, English, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: The Quays
Description: The Juban Stand, Singapore's first standing bar! The bar was started by a group of friends who wanted to bring something unique and different to Boat Quay. It's based on a Japanese style pub that is popular amongst locals and foreigners alike in a small town in Tokyo called Azabu Ju~ban. The food is authentic Japanese "pub" food where speed and simplicity are just as important as great taste and quality.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Japanese Pub in Boat Quay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was actually our first time checking out the Boat Quay area. Felt cozy with the breeze of wind along the river, seeing lots of bars and pubs along the river, it's quite difficult to choose which one you wanna enter, since they all seem so similar...

Our friends brought us to a Japanese Pub which is totally not running by any Japanese...

Cocktails are nice, there are some nice and interesting choices for cocktails. Snacks are so-so, nothing really exciting.

Overall atmosphere was cozy and relaxing, is a nice chill place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Owner at The Juban Stand, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for you positive review and we are pleased you enjoyed your night at The Juban Stand!

Just for your info, one of our owners, Maki who is also the Bar Manageress, is Japanese.

We look forward to see you again soon at The Juban Stand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My new favourite night out while in Singapore, great food and service,. Thirsty thursdays a great night!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Owner at The Juban Stand, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks Claire for the positive review, it was great to see you at The Juban Stand. Thirsty Thursday is definitely a hit! So you again when you are next in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly Service, Ice Cold Beer & Japanese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Juban Stand is close to our work and we've frequently since they opened a few months back. The owners and staff are always very friendly and welcoming. Its got a good spot at the 'quieter' end of Boat Quay, and they do ice cold Asahi direct from Japan. They also do a really good Japanese curry set for lunch & dinner - need I say more

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Owner at The Juban Stand, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks Dave for the positive review and its good to see you down at The Juban Stand on a regular basis now! See you soon Dave!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Juban Stand also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Juban Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juban Stand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.