We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good German food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magma German Wine Bistro

Magma German Wine Bistro
2 Bukit Pasoh, Singapore 089816, Singapore
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,367 of 7,399 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pretty good German food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Been to Magma on a couple of occasions and with different people and everyone has a different take on the place. Personally, I find this authentic place homely with it's slightly run down feel and place cooking. No flairs, no bells and whistles, just plain cooking. It's just like what you'd expect to be served if you visited a friend's home in Germany.

My favorites to order are the flamkucchen and the pork knuckles. They do have a good selection of beers and wines and the proprietors are very knowledgable with their products so feel free to ask for recommendations.

The service can be very different at times, I'm not sure if the staff turnover is high but they staff just seem pretty lost at times or simply clueless.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Why eat German food in Singapore?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Came here for a wine tasting paired with food. A nice night with good pairing of the wines along with German food that came from the region of the wines. All in all it was a nice night, with average food. I felt though the set up of the tables, lower ceilings gave it an atmosphere that didn't feel comfortable. The food was fine, but not great. Which is a pity as German food can be exist. But hey why eat German food in Singapore, that would be like eating Asia in Germany it doesn't quite work.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

supposed to have our dinner at brotzeit @ vivo. Due to fully booked and by knowing the queuing time, we decided to take a train down to the next station - outram park to have a try on this shop. The environment was good, suitable for people who enjoy quiet/romance atmosphere. Foods served was up to standard but a bit small portion :) Tried their Berliner weisse beer, it taste more like cocktail instead of beer, perhaps they should categorize it under cocktail instead of beer? :D

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unfriendly owner made for an unpleasant night out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Located in a trendy part of China town with lots of new competition making the area a popular night spot, we decided to try Magma which calls itself a German wine bar and bistro.

The restaurant was busy which we took as a good sign but the lady owner/manager was cold and arrogant. She was unfriendly when we were asking her for advice on wines which was uncalled for given they are selling a lesser known wine region.

If the service wasn't bad enough to put me off, then the food was the icing on the cake. My friend's dinner arrived 10 mins before mine and then when my order finally arrived, the ingredients were of such poor quality that I couldn't bear to eat it. The chef agreed that it wasn't fresh and offered us a free dessert which was a nice gesture but there was no appeal for me to wait for another under-par offering.

It is also overpriced. Wines are expensive and the food is hugely overpriced and not tasty at all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“visited magma 21/5/13”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

casseler and the stroganoff below average and staff keen to go home so we had to leave at 10-30 ,rushed eating and they charged 75-37 sing$ ,no quality and over priced for what we got .
paul and shirani

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magma German Wine Bistro also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Magma German Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magma German Wine Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.