We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the nice pix” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Henderson Waves

Henderson Waves
Southern Ridges, Singapore, Singapore
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 279 Attractions in Singapore
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Henderson Waves, the highest pedestrian bridge in Singapore, connects Mount Faber Park to Telok Blangah Hill Park.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the nice pix”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Walked all the way there after lunch at Faber Bistro as this was listed as one of the must see structures.....what a disappointment!
It was nothing more than a bridge with wooden planks and paint-peeled metal 'waves' shelters on one side. If witnessing a poorly maintained tourist attraction is on your must-do list, by all means, head on up!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Waive the waves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

After all, it is only a bridge. People make a big thing of bridges: Golden gate, Sydney Harbour, London Bridge, but the Henderson Waves?
Why people make a fuss of this bridge I really don’t know. It is a bridge. It connects Mt Faber to Telok Blangah Heights. It is a mildly interesting architectural oddity en route from Mt Faber to the Kent Ridge Gardens.
If it was to be of any real use, why not complete the shelters? They have carefully built some wavy forms and futuristic resting places, grottoes even, on the side of the bridge so that you can watch the sun set. Lovely. The sad thing is: when it rains you get wet.
Why did they not add a roof? They waived the need for naves in the waves. It is a pity about that.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic picnic while watching sunset.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

There is not that much thing here apart from place to see panorama view and beautiful nature. Picnic on the bridge is a good idea. One thing I like when visiting here is that there are exercise spots for those who want to test flexibility or strength.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Walking trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I got onto the walking trail near Hort Park and walked to the Henderson Waves. A very nice elevated walking trail over some great lush tropical jungle. Heed the signs and watch out for wild monkeys. The Henderson Waves are well designed and nice to tour. GREAT views from here as well. Bring water if walking on hot or sunny days!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
168 attraction reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Great walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were most impressed with this walkway - some of which is at quite a high level off the ground. Obviously, it is hot and humid (that's Singapore for you), and it is in the open so you need to be prepared for bad weather. We went up to Mt Faber on the cable car (great ride) and walked across westwards to Kent Ridge. Here, we continued our walk along Buona Vista to the Kent Ridge MRT. That was a bit strenuous - a taxi at Kent Ridge would have been more sensible. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our walk.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henderson Waves also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Henderson Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henderson Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.