We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great croissant (best in town), but sandwiches average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tiong Bahru Bakery

Tiong Bahru Bakery
56 Eng Hoon street | Tiong Bahru, Singapore, Singapore
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 7,399 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
HK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great croissant (best in town), but sandwiches average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great bakery, very French and with a wide selection. Sandwiches just so so. Seating arrangement not yet efficiently done.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    14
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice pastry at an unusual spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A nice find, a bit crowded on the weekends but still has a nice vibe even then. Delicious pastries and coffee!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A taste of France in the heart of Singapore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Tiong Bahru Bakery is led by French baker Gontran Cherrier, an aetisan boulanger who owns several bakeries in Paris also.if you are dreaming of true crusty French bread, always less than two hours old, just like you had purchased it in a proper Parisian boulangerie.

The pain Au Chocolat, brioche and croissant all passed the taste test of my very discerning Parisian husband and the coffee is very decent given its local competition in the area. Choose from an impressive selection of savory breads. my favorites were their 7 seed cereal and black squid ink baguette.

Air conditioning and friendly local staff await you. Definitely making this our local.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mouth-watering food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Have visited both branches of this bakery in a week! All of the food in the cabinets look absolutely amazing. A bit pricer than other bakeries, but you pay for the quality and the atmosphere. Friendly staff and beautiful loaves of bread that you can buy to take home. A piece of Europe in Singapore. As a guide. Most sandwiches / rolls were between $8-9. Loaves of bread around $9. Two coffees will set you back just over $10 and sweet treats were around $4-5.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
2 reviews
“Puzzled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Made a visit with my wife and to daughters on 30/12/12, the place was almost full and remanded me of the Boulangeries of Paris. After reading some of the complaints about the coffee I am puzzled we ordered 3 flat whites that would have given the best Melbourne Cafes a run for their money. We didn't have the croisants but had a magnificent bagette with French butter and jams and other pastries. You did notice the clientelle where of the trendy kind. The numerous people that had a bad coffee I'm puzzled, maybe a different Barista was on duty the day we visited.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiong Bahru Bakery also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Tiong Bahru Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiong Bahru Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.