We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent French food in a nice semi-formal setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse

Boathouse
3 Fullerton Rd | 03-01, Singapore 049215, Singapore
+6565389038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 7,404 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent French food in a nice semi-formal setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I went to the Boathouse for a birthday lunch with a group of 14 friends. We all went for the set lunch (choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and 4 desserts)
The food was excellent, and the size of the portions was nice: I had the three course option and felt very satisfied without over eating.
The food tasted very French (no embellishing the dishes with expensive ingredients like they do so often at this side of the world when trying to cook European cuisine), and was very balanced.
The atmosphere was nice and the service very good.
Some of our friends were a bit surprised by the bill afterwards: although it is a set lunch, certain dishes cost more and the supplemental prices will be added to your bill. The final bill was therefore a bit higher than expected, but it was well worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chunky N, Manager at Boathouse, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear karoh h,

Thank you for taking time out to review us on TripAdvisor! We're definitely flattered and humbled by the recognition you've provided via this platform and rest assured that we will be working harder to provide the best dining experience (with value) for our guests!

We hope to serve you again in the near future, with the possibility of a new menu lined up in the 2nd half of 2013!

Warmest Regards,
CK
Maitre'D
Boathouse & Prelude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    40
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wondeful evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were a party of 6 from a diverse background (Just 2 Singaporeans and 4 foreigners) but found Boathouse amazing for its attentiveness to service as well as its well thought out menu. What sealed the deal for us was the warm atmosphere that was unpretentious and perfect for a casual business dinner after a long hard day. Would definitely bring guests back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chunky N, Manager at Boathouse, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear CarriecarrieT,

Thank you for choosing Boathouse as your preferred dining spot (as well as holding your corporate meeting over the meal) recently! We are glad that our service did enough not to intrude during the business conversations you all were having around the table.

Most importantly, the team at Boathouse would like to thank you for taking your precious time out to give us the cherished feedback via this platform and we look forward to hosting more corporate luncheons/dinners for you and your company!

Warmest Regards,
CK
Maitre'D
Boathouse & Prelude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Atrociously amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If dinner at this restaurant was the only experience I will ever have of Singapore then I've found heaven on earth. The menu is very small, about 6-8 appetizers and 3-4 fish and 3-4 meat dishes which made the decision even harder to make because it all really seemed delicious. I had the bouillabaisse which was beautiful and the salmon for the main, and I finished it off with perhaps the greatest chocolate dessert I've ever had. A 66% dark chocolate with white chocolate in a terrine style. Out of this world! Cannot recommend it enough for any occasion from romantic older family or just an evening with friends. I recommend to first grab a drink on the roof which overlooks the Marina Bay and provides a splendid view of the Marina Bay Sands hotel and a great viewing point for the light show as well. Cocktail selection is also good. I really cannot recommend this enough!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Many thanks for an excellent evening. Our guests are still talking about it & the wonderful Prelude views and Boathouse food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A delightful dining experience :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The food is simply delectable and the music playing at the rooftop bar is pretty decent. However, credit has to be given to their team of attentive and affable service staff (CK- restaurant and Steve-bar) that made our time there a truly pleasant experience. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and will certainly return.

Jamie Neo

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.