We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like something from Avatar - but in a good way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PARKROYAL on Pickering

Save Saved
You added PARKROYAL on Pickering to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PARKROYAL on Pickering
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Upper Pickering Street, Singapore 058289, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off Club Benefits
Ranked #28 of 291 hotels in Singapore
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Like something from Avatar - but in a good way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed at the Park Royal in April 2013 - this review is well overdue.
The hotel is very unique. The rooms are on the small side per any trendy hotel these days, but the architecture of the hotel is very cool with lots of greenery (hence the Avatar floating island reference).
Service was excellent throughout. Pool side was really nice, though there are some global-trotting hipsters hanging out. View is cool though. Gym was basic but did the job.
Rather than other personality-less 5-star hotels in Singapore, this would definitely be a fun pick.

Room Tip: High floor…
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Amysak, thank you for your great feedback and I’m delighted to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Interesting reference of our hotel-in-a-garden to Avatar and I’m sure the vertical gardens will look more lush the next time you visit us. Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    206
    46
    15
    10
See reviews for
98
278
38
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel to attend a friends wedding in Singapore. The hotel is very new, looks very hip and Econ friendly. The garden was nice and there are many areas for you to sit and relax.

It is right next to a food center so if you are looking for local budget food, it is just next door.

The location was convenient, the staff was friendly , even the parking uncle who helped us got a cab recommended us food places.

The food from breakfast was great, however the closing time was "too" on the dot. We saw people come at the dot was offered to eat something else.

Even if you managed to get in before the "deadline", the food was taken away way to quickly which could give guest the feeling that you are rushing them to go... Which never happened in other hotels we stayed.

Overall satisfactory , a good hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Flora C, thank you for your review and I note your comments on the breakfast timing. We are continuously looking at ways to improve our processes, particularly during peak periods and weekends. I appreciate your patience and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed her over the New Year holiday for 4 nights. First impressions are excellent, check in was quick and easy. Staff were always a pleasure and helpful, if you stay here keep an eye out for Roaf to help you with transport, always smiling and nothing ever an issue.
The room we had was on the 7th floor with a view over to Clarke Quay. Very nice, clean with a king bed and 4 big soft pillows, big wall mounted TV, nice ensuite area. The shower was good with plenty of hot water and pressure. The hotel itself is just magic with all the greenery and the pool area with its own private rest area type enclosures/tree houses. We had breakfast everyday which was always good with plenty of options to choose.
If there is any downside to the hotel we found was that things don't happen quickly when ordering from the bar, 30 minutes for 2 baileys on ice on a quiet night and ordered 2 coffees to be sent to pool but after an hour gave up and went to Starbucks.
If you stay here I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Ask for late check out if needed or they will keep your bags and you still have use of the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Familyvanelven, thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel and in particular, for acknowledging the efforts of Roaf. That means a lot to him! I’m pleased to hear that both of you had a chance to enjoy our infinity pool and unique bird-cage cabana, definitely one of the best places to relax and unwind. I note your comments on the delay experienced with your dining orders and sincerely apologise for that. We will look into that and correct that shortfall on our end immediately.We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We came across this hotel recommended by CNN travel.
We upgraded to the Orchid club and had a studio room

Check in at midnight was really quick and considerate -

We used the Orchid club - food and drink a plenty and awesome value - use this if you can - champagne breakfast The team at the Orchid club are attentive and remember your preferences - good service

We got great recommendations for local food

Used the gym every day - always a towel and bottled water waiting each day

Points to be mindful of
- walkway between the lifts and rooms a bit exposed so for those that don't like heights be aware
- service for towels and room cleaning needs some improving - every now and then our tows were late

Major plus is the pool area, Orchid Club. And incredible green Eco design of the place - we met seasoned travellers that were impressed as were we

It's central too so getting around is easy

Enjoy Singapore an amazing place



Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear PalmfamNYC, thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! I am pleased to know that you recognised the hotel's great location and that you were able to make full use of our Orchid Club privileges. Our Orchid Club associates were excited to read your review. Our brand promise is about connecting our guests to local experiences as a ‘’trusted local companion" and I'm very proud of the team for delivering on that promise. Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have been staying in Singapore for a few months so I know the city pretty well but I needed a hotel for a couple of days for a special occasion with my partner. I discovered this place one day when I walked by it and I was impressed by the architecture so I decided to book it. I was not disappointed.

The hotel is beautiful - the Christmas decorations were also very cool and different. (i.e. the Christmas tree at the entrance that looked like a Jeff Koons sculpture).

I loved the room because it was spacious and functional and had a lot of light. The bed was also very comfortable. I was impressed with housekeeping - they really paid attention to detail and even neatly folded all our clothes.

The breakfast was also nice with a wide range of selection - not as large as the other large chain hotels in Singapore but more than adequate. I ordered an iced latte extra and was never charged extra.

The highlight of the hotel for me was the terrace with the pool - really cool construction with the pods and the swimming pool.

I had to take a business call while there - there is a business center on the 2nd floor with little cubicles where one can work, if needed.

The location as mentioned is very central - right next to Chinatown. I prefer it to Orchard Road and Marina where it is very touristy.

Room Tip: I chose the basic room and was satisfied with its location and size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear tziambra, I am glad to hear that you liked the design of our guest rooms and appreciated the convenience of our lcocation. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your partner back in the near future. Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spend 2 nights after the boxing days, the hotel location & design is excellent as everyone mention. We had a warm welcome at the reception. The check-in & check-out process is quick.
One point to mention is they did not explain that there is shuttle bus service to the city, it was too late when I noticed as I am waiting for the taxi to the airport.
However, concierge desk can improve, act slowly when you come down from taxi, no help when you come down from lift. I realised they always chatting instead of pay attention to the client. Since, the lift to the taxi point do have a distance especially when you have luggage.
The turndown service only come on the first night, so when I want it (actually I want to have some ice) on the second night, you had to call them again, don't know what is their policy.

They do listen & do very much to co-operate when you wrote to them. Really want to thanks to Serena Khoo again & again. Overall, I do enjoy very much of the stay, nice hotel, nice atmosphere & people. Will try to stay longer on the next visit.

Room Tip: Higher floor room will have good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear louisakflo, thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I was very happy to read you enjoyed the overall experience but very disappointed to hear about your experiences with our Concierge and Housekeeping department. We take great pride at the PARKROYAL on Pickering in delivering genuine, relaxed and personalised service. Obviously you did not receive that and for that, I sincerely apologise. I appreciate your patience and look forward to welcoming you back to PARKROYAL on Pickering for a more successful experience. Thanks. Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent a week at PARKROYAL on Pickering over Christmas in a Premier Club Room. Room was excellent, perhaps a little short on storage space for an 8 day stay but great view, comfortable bed, great shower, great location just a short walk to Clark Quay. The Orchid Club was very worthwhile giving consideration to the fact that refreshments were available all day, cocktails and very good snacks in the evening, champagne breakfast and afternoon tea available. We were meeting up with friends and their adult children also staying at this hotel with a Club room so Orchid Club was a very useful meeting place in this respect. Staff throughout the hotel were very professional and charming, special mention to the ladies in the Orchid Club who added such a festive atmosphere to the club and Ibrahim at the front desk for giving us great customer service. Breakfast was lovely, good gym and lovely pool, albeit the water was rather cold! Cannot fault this hotel, will definitely stay again and no hesitation in recommending it to friends who want to spend time in Singapore.

Room Tip: Premium Club rooms were great, rooms overlooking the quay seemed to have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans-PARKROYAL, General Manager at PARKROYAL on Pickering, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear myview P, great to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas celebrations at PARKROYAL on Pickering. I am pleased to know that you recognised the hotel's great location and that our Orchid Club Lounge associates made you feel right at home. On behalf of the team, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to PARKROYAL on Pickering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL on Pickering

Address: 3 Upper Pickering Street, Singapore 058289, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#15 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#26 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#31 Family Hotel in Singapore
#56 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL on Pickering 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PARKROYAL on Pickering offers guests a luxury business hotel conveniently located at the gateway to Singapore’s central business district, near Raffles Place. Enjoy close proximity to key cultural, shopping and entertainment attractions. And take advantage of our spa, fitness centre, jogging path and pool – all conveniently located on the same floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Tingo, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your PARKROYAL on Pickering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
PARKROYAL On Pickering Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PARKROYAL on Pickering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.