We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pelican Seafood Bar & Grill

The Pelican Seafood Bar & Grill
One Fullerton #01-01 | 1 Fullerton Road, Singapore 049213, Singapore (Formerly The Pelican)
64380400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #626 of 7,256 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

It was friendly and light hearted. The service staff were good in the recommendations without being pushy.
Wines were reasonably priced.
Food was simple fresh and reasonable.
Music was just right without being too loud.
We shifted to outdoors al fresco for desserts as it was a lovely cool night.
One of the great new restaurants which I would visit again for an evening out with friends.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    49
    39
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect package - went back the next night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We enjoyed the food and atmosphere so much we went back again the next night! The Pelican was a good find! It was our first night in Singapore. We only intended to go down to Fullerton to see the spitting Merlion and take some pics of the MBS, but were tempted by the 1 for 1 happy hour from 5pm, stayed for a meal and the MBS laser light show at 8pm. We started with half dozen Fanny Bay oysters - highly overpriced at S$ 48, but the nicest oysters we have had in a long while! For mains we had grilled Red Bream (highly recommended) and the Swordfish (OK). On the next night we aimed for a less expensive bill so held the oysters and each of us ordered the Snapper Pie - huge and full of flavour. For us, The Pelican was the perfect package - two lovely evenings outdoors under the frangipani trees; great view; great meals; happy and fun staff with the added bonus of the amazing laser light show!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
644 helpful votes 644 helpful votes
“Bad seafood and even worse prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We just had lunch at this place. Not a one person ate their entire dish. I had the seafood chowder, and it smelled so fishy i was afraid to eat more than a few bites. My wife had a sunflower seed soup. She said it was exceptionally bland. We split a summer salad which was also terrible. The sugary soy sauce dressing didn't work well with lettuce and feta cheese. Our guest and his wife had crab cakes and swordfish. The crab cakes were soft and mealy. The swordfish was dry and crumbly. One plus for this place was the mojitos . They worked well on a hot afternoon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, Good service, Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were there a few Saturday nights ago ( request for outdoor seats as close to the Singapore River as possible) and had a lovely time. The Candied Bacon is yummy, the crab cakes nice but I have to say the oysters were v overpriced. $48 for half a dozen oysters is not very friendly. Nevertheless, its a lovely way to spend an evening, admiring the view of MBS and watching the laser shows.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Seafood alternative to Jumbo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This restaurant has only been open 3 months but it is in an excellent location with great views of Marina Bay Sands and exceptyional seafood. The platter for two for $99 is great value. Good wines and service means that for those people that do not want to travel out to the Jumbo complex this is a great alternative.
I just hope it does not become too popular where I cannot get in next time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pelican Seafood Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Pelican Seafood Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pelican Seafood Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.