We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Of the Best 3+stars Hotels in Singapore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park to your Saves list
Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Ah Hood Road, Singapore 329982 , Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One Of the Best 3+stars Hotels in Singapore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

The Ramada is an excellent 3 star property in many aspects. Experienced Management expertise is demonstrated daily in the quality of service delivered by the well trained motivated staff members. It is one of the few hotels where you witness employees changing duties with others, and enjoying the opportunities. The property is new so the rooms are fresh, and well maintained, with upscale linens upon a lux mattress. The fitness center is well planned, overlooking the pool with floor to ceiling windows. Personal instructors are there for your needs and provide professional advice. The pool and the sun bathing areas are inviting, causing you to stay for extended periods, well into the sunset hours. Some of the loungers even extend into the pool, providing a unique experience. The food presentation and the menu selection in the main restaurant is a pleasant surprise. Unexpected are the dinner steaks; perfect, delicious, and a nice portion.

Many will say the location is a disadvantage, but the attached shopping mall and the two free shuttle services, discounts that comment. Even more, the numerous local neighborhood restaurants and sidewalk cafés serve exciting varied cuisines, at unbelievable low prices when compared to the upper scale dining in Singapore. Definitely not to be missed, as all these restaurants are within immediate walking distance for the front door of the hotel. The attached Zhongshan Park provides a serene flavor to the hotel location. An added value is that with your room key allows you free admission to the Chinese Historical Museum across the street.

A positive review has to include some tips for improvement. One would be ice service. One has to call guest services to have ice delivered to the room, which can take over 30 minutes. A centrally located self service ice machine would be more convenient, than waiting so long for an ice bucket. Second, the free internet terminals in the business center are the latest high tech, but to print, involves sending documents to a hotel email address. This is in an undue process, and with confidential documents can be worrisome.

Overall, this property is a true value, a hidden jewel in the Balistier area of Singapore. No doubt this is the reason why the hotel is robust with guest activity. I would truly recommend this hotel for short and long term stays, as additional benefits accrue for guests who plan extended stays.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Cousens_GM, General Manager at Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. As an international 4 star hotel with a vision to deliver a great experience to our guests, we are pleased that you had a great experience with us and that you enjoyed many aspects of our hotels, such as our service and rooms, pool and gym facilities and complimentary inclusions such as our shuttle bus services and entry into Sun Yat Sen Memorial Hall.

We are, however, disappointed about the delay with the request for ice and apologise for the inconvenience caused. As such, we have highlighted your experience with our associates as a training exercise to better manage guest requests. We are also looking to improve the printer connectivity at our Business Centre, and are working towards serving our guests better in these areas.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again at The Ramada Singapore at Zhongshan Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    220
    63
    17
    12
See reviews for
133
131
34
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

If your budget doesn't allow for the glitzy Marina Bay properties, consider the Ramada. Reasonably new, the place does very much better than the majority of it's brand siblings stateside. Rooms are smallish (good for one, cramped for two when staying more than a couple of days), design is handsome and modern, all features work fine (except the shower curtain rail: too low). Aircon is effective, yet not too quiet, and blows about quite a bit, but not onto the bed. The window bench is nice to chill on. All rooms are alike, except corner rooms, numbers ending -60, -61 (southern end of the building, towards the road), -92, -93 northern end o.t.b.), which feature windows going out on two directions. A higher rate gives you a higher floor.
The building is right on Balestier, in a 90 degree angle, North to South, hence rooms ending -60, -61 provide a view towards the CBD, but there are clusters of other buildings obstructing the view unless you are on level, like, 12 and up, and anyway, the CBD is about 10 km away, and with the sky being murky, often, you don't actually have a city view worth mentioning. Plus the rooms at the south end of the building are exposed to traffic noises, and the windows lack soundproofing. Which is to say that all other rooms don't actually feature a 'City View', as they are either facing West (odd numbers) or East (even numbers), looking out on mostly residential buildings of varying shapes and sizes. Rooms facing West are street noise shadowed by the building's attached office wing.
The pool area is nicely designed, dimensions are fine, lounge chairs are scarce at times.
Staff is willing and friendly, but non too knowledgable, and not fluent in English. Many times they seems to be overwhelmed by number of customers, procedures and systems. Overall service quality is hence something to be improved. Don't get frustrated, patience pays.
Breakfast is fine, the choice is good and covers a number of Asian flavours, and also the American Breakfast basics. Food quality was good, but not excellent (esp. the coffee).
Location of the hotel is somewhat out of the way ... 1 km north of Novena Stn., NS20. Public transport buses (lines 21, 131) do it in 5 min., walking means a 10 min. stroll up Irrawaddy Rd. Forget the hotel's shuttle bus ... others here have commented sufficiently. All in all, a trip downtown takes 30-45 min., depending on where exactly you're headed. Public transport to or from Changi (bus, MRT's NS and EW) takes roughly an hour

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Cousens_GM, General Manager at Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our value, rooms and pool facilities, and that you found our associates friendly and willing. We are disappointed that our service was not completely to your standard, and apologise for any inconvenience caused. Your experience has been raised to our associates for training purposes.

You may like to know that we do not allocate rooms according to our rates. Rather, we allocate based on guests’ preferences and room availability. You will also be interested to know that we are augmenting our shuttle bus services from early March 2014 for the convenience of our guests. Public transport or a stroll to the MRT Station is certainly an alternative.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Ramada Singapore at Zhongshan Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel is beyond our expectation: good location, close link to the public transportation, nice service, wonderful smiles and floor-by-floor security control.
If you would really want to ask me for the pitfall, there is only a small one: The food choices from day to day do not vary much. For a family who stays more than 4 days, it would be a bit dull.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Cousens_GM, General Manager at Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to have exceeded your expectations and delight you with our location, service and security. However, we are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations with our food variety and hope to serve you better in this area on your next visit with us.

For a full Singapore experience, you may be interested in exploring the Balestier stretch, which has a variety of local delights such as Boon Tong Kee’s Chicken Rice and Bak Kut Teh, to name a few. Alternatively, 21 on Rajah, which is located at our sister hotel, serves a range of Mediterranean and local food for your enjoyment, and with the nearby Zhongshan Mall, you have more cuisines to choose from.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Ramada Singapore at Zhongshan Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for work. It's new, rooms are great, shower very nice. The location is also great. Small park with a lot of people enjoying free time. See also my review of the bar/restaurant Stärker Bier which is at crawling distance.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Cousens_GM, General Manager at Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and location, and we look forward to welcoming you again at The Ramada Singapore at Zhongshan Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park

Address: 16 Ah Hood Road, Singapore 329982 , Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#53 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Singapore at Zhongshan Park is the only four-star international chain hotel in Novena, which is flanked by an array of restaurants, providing visitors a wide choice of pubs, local, western and Chinese cuisine.The hotel features Flavours, an all-day dining restaurant serving predominantly local Singaporean and Southeast Asian culinary delights, Business Centre with Free Internet Computer stations, Gym, Swimming Pool, 540 square-meters of Meeting and Banquet space, Underground Car park and two-level retail mall.Ramada Singapore at Zhongshan Park offers 384 well-appointed guest rooms with premium Serta mattress for a good night’s rest, Complimentary High Speed Internet Access, Free Local Calls, Complimentary use of the Gymnasium and Swimming Pool and a breakfast worth waking up for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.