We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel in Singapore!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore to your Saves list
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   30 A,B,C Penhas Road, Singapore 208188, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hostel in Singapore!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Gusti is a good choice for solo and budget-conscious traveler. The owner Miss Sue helped us book discounted tickets plus free lunch meal voucher at US which is a great deal for us!!!!Miss Sue also helped us re-arrange our itineraries of all the places we want to visit since we were in a tight schedule and we want to maximize our stay in SG.

The room was simple & clean with nice and fresh smell. Bathroom & Shower area are always clean!! The location is perfect!! not too crowded like Little India & Bugis. It is a 5-minutes walk to Lavander MRT Station.

Be prepared to meet backpackers and all types from all over the world as it is a dormitory type bedroom (max 8person/room).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    21
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
5
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Friendly staff and lovely owner. This hostel is spotlessly clean and provides basic accommodation (although the bunks were comfy!). The dorm rooms have air-conditioning, there is a kitchen area and a fridge for the guests. Very, very close to Lavender MRT station, one stop away from Bugis Junction (a busy shopping area).
I had a lovely week-long stay at Gusti and would recommend it to friends wanting to save money on a Singapore trip.
Some negative aspects: the shower facilities are a bit small and don't have enough hooks for convenience. There was a group of young girls staying in my dorm for 2 nights who were noisy early in the morning - I did mention that to the owner and she had a chat with them. Turns out they had never stayed in a hostel before and didn't know the "rules" ;) It was all good after that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Sue the owner is lovely, everything was done very well and this is probably the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. Breakfast is bread with jam or peanut butter but there are facilities to make other things. Microwave toaster and kettle as well as a fridge. Comfortable beds and air con in the rooms. Lavender MRT is about 400 m away, there is a supermarket called fair price 200 m away and a 24/7 seven 11 next door. Below Gusti is a cake shop that looks awesome but I didn't visit it.
Only two things I found challenging. 1. The area over the wash basins are not well lit and consequently it was difficult to shave and 2. the 2 shower rooms are wet room with the toilet inside the room. Sometimes people took a long time to shower leaving me with crossed legs outside or running up and downstairs to find one that was not in use.
One other thing each bed could do with a reading light.
These are minor things, this place was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

thanks for Gusti bed & breakfast for the sevices during my stay there. although only 2 nights, but very nice to rest there. Madam who greeted us was very friendly, the maids who cleaned our room was also very quick and friendly (incidentally comes from Indonesia as well as us). very satisfying. strategic location, close to lavender station. we also easy to get halal food around the hotel area. an unfortunate thing, we got a room on the 3rd floor, stairs to room a little bit difficult for us to carry the suitcase. but overall, very impressive. please wait for our arrival again, Gusti bed & breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My partner and I stayed here in february and it was amazing. The staff team are so friendly polite and nice. The rooms were great spotless and affordable. Great location. I would definitely recommend staying here a lttle star in Singapore

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We were extremely disappointed during our stay last this week. We thought that the service was great when we read the review; HOWEVER, this was totally opposite.
1. When I made the booking about two months prior to our arrival date, the owner Audrey gave me a rate of 170 SGD for 7 adults which we both agreed and confirmed the reservation. However, a week prior to our arrival, she then sent me an email that an ADDITIONAL RATE of 10% will be added to the room rate WHICH IN THE FIRST PLACE SHE MENTIONED THAT RATE 170 SGD IS ALREADY NETT WITHOUT ADDITIONAL CHARGES. I just slipped it away since we will be arriving the soonest.
2. Since our flight is arriving at midnight, I inquired if their combivan which Audrey quoted at 55 SGD is already nett and if it includes midnight surcharge, she AGAIN mentioned that it is NETT WITH ALL CHARGES; however, she AGAIN sent an email a day prior to our arrival that there would be an additional rate of 10 SGD for midnight surcharge. To my upset, I cancelled automatically the car directly. I began to think that they are not consistent with what they are committing to their guests.
3. When we arrived past midnight due to the late arrival of the aircraft, we were hoping that someone will greet and help us, UNFORTUNATELY, a front desk staff RUDELY said to us that "Why did we arrive late for we wake her up at this time". Doesn't she have any sympathy, anricipation or common sense to ask if how are we on our long flight instead of being so rude?
4. When we arrive in our room, it smelled newly painted wooden bed so we have to open the window to get rid of the smell. At morning, breakfast was not clearly advised and instructed.
5. Lastly, when we paid the room, the front desk told me that the room rate is at 190 SGD (which was not the rate quoted to me through email). I told the front desk that the rate was 187 SGD (170+10%) and she yelled at me that it's 190. I then insisted the exact rate which was given by Audrey. When that rude and ugly front desk called her and passed the phone to me, I was shocked when she told me that the rate is 190 for she ROUNDED OFF the rate from 187 to 190. I then told her that she doesn't have the right to round off any rate that was not confirmed! I have been alot of hotel/ backpackers and I haven't experienced this kind of lame excuse and terrible service in my entire life!!!

So if you are planning to stay in this Hostel, well think about it over and over again!

BELIEVE ME THEY WILL RUIN YOU'RE VACATION!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Nicole,

Thank you so much for your detailed review.

Thank you.

Audrey Musa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights there. so comfortable, cozy, clean, good shower, nice n helpful staff, near to the Lavender MRT station, reasonable price. I was really happy to stayed in gusti bnb. Thanks to tante Audrey and Sue for help and very nice service ^^ I promise if I come to singapore again, I'll stay in gusti bnb hostel. Tante Audrey.. pokonya nanti aku nginep di sana lg, kasih discount yaaa hahaha :^D

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hi Naya,

Thank you so much for the review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hostel again.

Thank you

Audrey Musa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore

Address: 30 A,B,C Penhas Road, Singapore 208188, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, newly opened is your home in the city. Dormitory Style Bedrooms with free Wifi throughout.Breakfast provided from 7-11am.3 Min walk to Lavender Subway that will take you to all the sights in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.