We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hostel, but a bit expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore to your Saves list
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   30 A,B,C Penhas Road, Singapore 208188, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Clean hostel, but a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at Gusti for 1 night in August 2013 after attended a conference. Overall, it is a worth it hostel. It is very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Here is the list of the (+) and (-):

(+):
Clean hostel
Helpful and friendly staff
Great location
Personal locker is available (you need to bring your own lock)
Free breakfast (bread, jam, tea, coffee)
Free wifi


(-):
No lift. This can be a problem if you bring a big suitcase as there are only steep stairs available and the hostel is located on the 2nd and 3rd floors.
No bed curtain.
No personal power point.
The water heater in the bathroom didn't work at the time I stayed.
A bit expensive if you compared with other backpacker hostel with the same facilities.





  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tash D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Tash,

Thank you for your review.
We apologize about the water heater however we do hope that you will come back and stay with us again.
Thank you

Cheers;
Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Batam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Audrey who is running the B&B has a great personality and she is very kind and helpful to all guests. Gusti is the best choice in Singapore when you want to have a clean and friendly stay in the center of Singapore. Gusti is very close to Lavender MRT. Enjoy your time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Chris,

Its so good to know you are one of our many repeat guests and is always happy staying with us.
Thank you for your word of encouragement, support and feedback.
We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you

Cheers;
Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The lady in the reception was very friendly and great hospitality. Since its a b&b you get what you pay for. Rooms were simple and clean with air condition. Great location and close to the MRT. There is a big grocery store 30meter away were we bought some compliments to the toasts you get at the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enzell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Enzell,

Thank you for your review. Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you to our hostel.

Thank you

Cheers;
Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

After the first day at Gusti, I could see how they get the rateings they do on trip advisor. The place felt like a home. The dorms we stayed in only had 6 beds. The place was aircondioned and included free breakfast. Audrey & Sue were so helpful who made it feel like home and any questions we had about Gusti or Singapore were answered.

The price is very reasonable considering the cost of rent in Singapore & The place was safe and clean.

I will defiantly be returning before the end of the year and will highly recommend this to anyone looking for a hostel in Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsmithaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Justin,

Thank you for the awesome review. We are so happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. And we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you

Cheers;
Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The owner and her sister are very warm and welcoming. The owner even let me took shower after I checked out, the evening when I came back to took the luggage before heading to airport.

Location is great, near 24 hour food court, convenient store, and SMRT.

Wifi worked perfectly.

Room for improvement is for electricity, maybe don't save too much. When I arrived t hostel around 7pm, I was the 1st one who checked in on 3rd floor. Common room, kitchen, and all other rooms are dark, which was kinda scary.. Water heater was also off. Actually the next morning I tried to turn on the heater, it still didn't work. Pretty annoying to "see" the heater but it wasn't working, but not such a big deal as SG is hot.

Cleanliness is OK, only dusty on the stairs as they r renovating.

I stayed in a 6-bed mixed dorm, with a Philippines family of 4, who checked in at midnight. They and their other family members staying at other rooms keep coming in and out, and even kept the door opened for a while, doing their family things while letting all the cool oir out. They also didn't turn their mobile phones to silent mode, so during the night their phone rang a few times. Their mom snored and keep coughing during her sleep. So I completely got beaten up cannot sleep because of the manner of this family that night. However, this is not hostel's fault. They probably can do better by alocating solo traveller with another solo travellers though, not among a family like that.

However, I was really impressed by their service. Coming back? Yes, with better preparation - bring ear plugs & eye cover :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_backpackgal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Google Translation
Hi Lucy,

Apa khabar? Makasi ya reviewnya.

Kita akan selalu mencoba buat improve membuat hostel kami lebih better. Hopefully akan jauh lebih baik on your next visit.

Sampe ketemu ya.

Makasi

Cheers;
Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

very strategic location with MRT and shopping malls are cheap. very friendly. near the bus stop. lodging is cheap and very good. the staff were very friendly. thanks to audrey and sue who made ​​us feel at home. and thanks also to vitri who have recommended this Inn to our family. wonderful first experience and so much fun. I love Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoewhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Google Translation
Hello :)

Wah reviewsnya keren banget. Makasi ya.

Kapan ke sini lagi?

Semoga kita bias ketemu lagi ya.

Makasi

Cheers;
Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location is great, very close to dining places and MRT station(s). Very friendly and helpful receptionists who would give complete information of what to see and where to go without hesitant The bedroom and bathroom are clean. Definitely a great value for money and a good recommendation for travelers in group or big families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justhiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Enny,

Thank you for your positive review. We are really encouraged by the good review and will definitely keep up to the standard at all times.

We hope to welcome you and your family back soon to our hostel.

Thank you

Cheers;
Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Rucksack Inn (Lavender)
#30 of 211 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Fisher BnB
#4 of 211 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#27 of 211 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#51 of 211 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Lotus Hostel
#3 of 211 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Traveller@SG
#65 of 211 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore

Address: 30 A,B,C Penhas Road, Singapore 208188, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, newly opened is your home in the city. Dormitory Style Bedrooms with free Wifi throughout.Breakfast provided from 7-11am.3 Min walk to Lavender Subway that will take you to all the sights in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing