We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great group style hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore

Save Saved
You added GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   30 A,B,C Penhas Road, Singapore 208188, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great group style hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Compared to the rest of Asia, Singapore accommodation is waaaay over priced, so I looked for the best cheaper place to stay for a 23 hour stop over waiting for the next plane, and chose Gusti based on TripAdvisor recommendations.
Good job travellers :) It was a good choice.

Management = Audrey and her sister were awesome! Great assistance getting there, in english, on the phone and email. I called from Australia, and emailed back and forward, and again in Singapore. They are ready to help nearly 24 hours a day, sleeping on site. So friendly and helpful! Maps, suggestions, power adaptors, whatever they could help with.

The rooms were very clean and tidy, air-con worked great! Free filtered water as much as you needed. Included basic breakfast, toast with things to put on it, coffee and tea etc. Very close to the MRT (train).
If you go to the right out of the door, and keep walking down the street, a close 2 blocks down you will get to the best local 'food court' area. Cheap good food, as directed by a local to me :)

The rooms are shared bunks, so be aware of that, but it's no problem as guests are put together with respect to each other.

A very small note, there is a longish stairway up to the second floor, where the BnB is located.

To wrap up, for a short stop over / travelling on a budget in Singapore, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come back again soon.

Thank you

Cheers;
Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    20
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
5
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

It is clear why Gusti is already the top rated B&B in Singapore despite only being open less than a year.
The best thing about the guest house is the people who run it. Audrey and her sister, are some of the nicest people I have met. Recommendations of where to eat and what to do in Singapore were really useful. Even better was Audrey's suggestion on my travel itinerary in Asia. I was travelling over a month and hadn't planned my next country until Audrey suggested Bali, where she had lived. She put me in contact with her brother in law, who met me in Bali and helped make the time spent unbelievable.

She didn't have to do any of that but did because she is simply a lovely person.

If you are staying in Singapore and want a very convenient, safe, clean and well priced guest house I would highly recommend Gusti. Definitely eat in the local food courts around the area and little India which has a fantastic atmosphere.

Thank you again Audrey and Bernie for making me stay and next stop in Bali very memorable.

Colin

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi Colin,

I am so touched by the review that you had written, thank you so much.

Its so encouraging to know that you had enjoyed yourself in Singapore and Bali.

We look forward to welcoming you back here.

Thank you

Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

10 reasons why stay in Gusti B&B:

1) They have the friendliest and most attentive staff of all the b&bs i've stayed at. The owner, Audrey is so nice as well as her sister who's in charge in the front desk when we were there.
2) Spacious rooms. Our room have huge entertainment and dining area.
3) Perfect place if you're travelling with family and groups.
4) So good location. Near Lavender Station.
5) Convenient store available,located beside the entrance.
6) They reply so quick when u email them (reservations matters)
7) We rode a limousine going to universal studios baby! c/o Gusti also.
8) Very heplful in arranging our tours like getting tickets and transpo.
9) You got to mingle with the other guests in the main lobby.
10) Super affordable! You get more than you pay for.

The only turn-off: No lifts! it's like 5 storey bldg, we occupied the 3rd level. Kinda okay for the not so old people but we had with us our grandma so eeerrrr, not so good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Its good to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you

Cheers;
Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Friendly, clean and reasonably quite (apart from the girl singing in our dorm!). Walking distance to the huge and delicious Lavendar food court. Right near the Lavender MRT station. And cheap! Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hostel again.

Thank you

Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I arrived in the evening after having reserved my room through whatsapp. Very easy! The rooms were quite emtpy already but I truly enjoyed my stay. The rooms are very clean, the wifi is fast and the beds are quiet (sometimes BnB's use terrible metal bed frames making terrible noises).

Breakfast is simple as I am used to at these places, but most importantly it was quiet and friendly. Top notch!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hello :)

Thank you so much for the positive review.

Am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Do visit and stay with us again.

Thank you

Cheers;

Audrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice! It is near the central City. Take the mrt(metro) from the airport(cheap) and get out at lavender station. Easy to find. Clean, cozy. We asked for an all girls dorm. The people in the reception were so helpful. Mention tripadvisor in your reservation and get 10 discount. 27 dollars pr. Night. Aircon in the room. Food court and supermarked 5 min away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello Liv,

Thank you for writing such a good review. We are so happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore. Good to know that we are able to accommodate you in all gals room as on a normal basis we are actually a mixed dormitories.
Anyway hope to welcome you back again. Take care, and have fun in your next destination Bali :)
- Audrey-GUSTI BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Everything about this place is excellent..rooms are clean, location is perfect, staff are very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay there again when i go back to singapore. Recommending it to everyone

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustiSG, Owner at GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello Hadhramy,

We are so honoured at reading your positive and encouraging reviews. Thank you so much for writing and recommending GUSTI BnB to everyone. We will definitely try to maintain standard and hope to welcome you back. Once again thank you. - Audrey GUSTI BnB Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore

Address: 30 A,B,C Penhas Road, Singapore 208188, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, newly opened is your home in the city. Dormitory Style Bedrooms with free Wifi throughout.Breakfast provided from 7-11am.3 Min walk to Lavender Subway that will take you to all the sights in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.