We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Less Than Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walks of Our Life

Walks of Our Life
125A Lavender Street, Singapore 338734, Singapore
+65 82926122
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Walks of our Life, we pride ourselves to share experiences which will give you lasting memories for life. Our Motto is Walks of our Life- Memories for Life. We specialise in guided coach and walking tours. You may also engage us for travel/ event management services such as educational/ corporate tours. Our signature product is the "Our Singapore Story", visitors get to trace our growth from a trading port in Raffles days, to the days when our founding fathers fought for the nation's independence. The story ends off with highlights of Singapore's success today. In a short few hours with us, visitors can indulge in countless local experiences, and enjoy meeting Singaporeans and fellow travellers from all walks of life. You may also engage us for transportation and attraction ticketing services.
Hong Kong, Hong Kong
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No Less Than Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Traveling alone, I could not wait to meet people! This so was the opportune moment. I signed up for a morning tour at the hostel where I stayed @The Little Red Dot. Desmond is so knowledgeable and he truly wants to share it with each and every one of us. He guided us through beautiful temples and introduced us to local Singaporean food. We ate lunch at a hawker food court (a must). We parted ways at about 1pm, but I and along with the new friends I made on the tour ended up hanging out the next couple of days exploring the city together; The Flyer, the Night Safari, Light show (invited Desmond to come too!). Kopi Boy made my trip that much more special. Thanks ;)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalksofOurLife, Owner at Walks of Our Life, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello Christina!

It is satisfying for me to see independent travellers like you meet new friends and travel buddies after my walks! Even though we had not prepared for the drenching drizzles, I hope that catching the waterfront light show was still memorable for you!

Thank you for your review and enthusiasm! All the best for your studies, and do keep travelling!

Cheers,
Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    4
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must join the walking trip with Desmond!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I really enjoy the time is Little Red Dot, you can join the free walk tour with Desmond, you will get lots of fun!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalksofOurLife, Owner at Walks of Our Life, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi Jamie,

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure to meet you and Ivy in Singapore, the best part being finding the refreshing coconut juice drink at the end of the day!

Best of luck for your travels and adventures in Australia!

Cheers,
Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best way to meet new people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had a wonderful time trying new foods, meeting new people and familiarizing myself with the city. The added benefit of learning local Singlish words was very interesting as well :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalksofOurLife, Owner at Walks of Our Life, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi Sinead!

Thank you for leaving me this review! Glad that the Singlish phrases, tasty local breakfast treats and AWESOME friendships made your holiday memorable here! Do keep in touch with the group via FB too!

Cherish your precious family time this Christmas season back in Ireland! :)

Cheers,
Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great walking tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Desmond (or kopi Boy) really helped us see Singapore & immerse ourselves in local customs & traditions. It was our first full day in Singapore & having wondered aimlessly about the previous afternoon and not found much he really opened our eyes to the sights that are around. This walking tour would be excellent if you had to pay a small fee, but the fact that it is free makes it even better! Desmond is very knowledgeable & any questions we had for him, even silly ones! The people we went on the walk with we traveled with for the rest of the stay in Singapore. I would thoroughly recommend & thank you Desmond for your hard work and making our first place backpacking a great experience! Prepare to lean some Singlish!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalksofOurLife, Owner at Walks of Our Life, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi Howard!

Good choice to make Singapore your first stop of the Asian backpacking trip! You guys were a great sport, be it to learn Singlish or try our local bites! I'm glad that everyone kept in touch and had a memorable "Slingapore" experience together too!

Thank you for your review and words of encouragement, I will continue to work hard! Best of luck to your onward travels too!

Cheers,
Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Kopi Boy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Kopi Boy (Desmond) is the the man! He invited me to one of his walking tours and, knowing the Singaporean heat, at first i was hesitant. I'm so glad I went because I learnt more about Singaporean culture in this 3 hour guided tour than the rest of the week i spent in the country. The tour started at the Little Red Dot and ended in Little India. Along the way, we stopped at a few temples, had a typical Singaporean breakfast where Kopi Boy served us coffee, and stopped at a few places of interest in the area. It's a bit of a walk but you wouldn't notice it as Desmond is such an engaging guide. His knowledge of the area is amazing and he encourages everyone to get to know each other. He even took us for drinks later that night at Chinatown!
This is definitely one of the best tours i've been on and is a must do if you're ever in Singapore. Keep up the good work Desmond. You're a champ mate!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalksofOurLife, Owner at Walks of Our Life, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hi Jose!

Thank you for your review and encouragement!

When the heat gets to you in Singapore, all the more you should head out with us to get a glass of Kopi Peng!! I'm glad that you had not missed out on the fun and chance to meet new friends on the walk! Hope you have been in touch with Caleb, Philip, Josh and the others too!

Let me know if you decide to come back to work at Singapore in the near future!

Cheers,
Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walks of Our Life also viewed

 

Been to Walks of Our Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walks of Our Life, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.