We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much $$$$$, too little food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catalunya

Catalunya
82 Collyer Quay | The Fullerton Pavilion, Singapore 049327, Singapore
+65 6534 0886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #451 of 7,412 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Catalunya is a contemporary Spanish restaurant situated at the iconic Fullerton Pavilion, floating in the heart of the Marina Bay district. Helmed by an international team of award-winning culinary experts from the likes of elBulli, Drolma, Sketch, and Santi,Catalunya‘s distinctive menu draws inspiration from authentic Spanish recipes, served with the finesse of Asian hospitality and Spanish charm. Designed by award-winning design firm AvroKo, Catalunya is seated in a unique glass-encased dome floating atop the waters of Marina Bay. We are open daily from 11am to 2am.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Too much $$$$$, too little food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Catalunya for a celebration after reading so much about it a. The restaurant is beautiful with a magnificent view of the Singapore skyline. We were really looking forward to our dinner. If you were to ask , "How do you find it", the answer is "I couldn't". Yes, its Tapas but the portions were just too small. We ordered an octupus casserole dish ( could not remember the name), the sauce was beautiful, smooth and rich in flavour but $20 or was it $24, there were only 4 tiny pieces of octopus in it, half the size of my thumb. Well its the starter, so we looked forward to our seafood paella. The waiter brought to our table two expresso cups, each cup was half filled with some sort of rice crispies and he proceeded to pour a broth into the espresso cups. The rice soaked up the essence of the broth which is a concentration of seafood. And that was all the essence of the paella, all condensed into half an expresso cup. As for the service, despite a restaurant filled with so many wait staff, the service was slow and unattentive. I felt that if the waiter who took our order has shown some enthusiasm and passion in explaining the dishes ( as the culinary team is after all of El Bulli and what they created there is a true work of art) , we would not have been so disappointed especially with the seafood paella as we were expecting the paella as served in the pan with actual seafood and rice. After 5 dishes, we decided even if we ordered more food, we would still be hungry and unsatisfied so we cut short our evening and went for a hearty burger down at Fullerton one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    75
    41
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Interesting food but not as good as expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Heard some good reviews and was tempted as heard it was run by the same team who was wuth El Bulli and Mugaritz. Managed to get a table at 715pm.

The restaurant is interestingly located within a dome with great view of the Marina Bay Sands.

Had a table with great view of the iconic towers of the Sands.

The menu was rather limited, with mostly tapas and only few main courses. We sought advise of the server and he commended some 10 Tapas and 2 desserts for the two of us. ie tuna Tomato salad, Tortillia de Trampo, Foe Gras and Eel Escalibada, croquetas de jamon, avocado battered roll,roasted meat canelon, bikini, few others which we couldnt remember and 2 desserts; torrija with smoked milk ice-cream, chocolate in different texture etc.

As the night drew darker, we could hardly see the dishes that was served. Lights were dimmed so that view of Marina Sands could be more prominent. We were deprived of the visual pleasures from the food and could only rely on our taste buds to guess what we are eating. What a pity, as we only realized after dinner that the tapas actually looked gorgeous from the photos taken with flash. This is doing great injustice to the team who must has spent much efforts in designing and plating the dishes.

The texture and taste of most items were interesting ! But I wouldn't say they are delicious. We were intrigued with the mix and match of the ingredients and their unusual textures. We were impressed with a few dishes though ; the tortilla de trampo, croquetas de Jamon, avocado battered roll, and smoked milk ice cream. The rest were simply interesting. ( May not order if I go again kind.)

Overal, the restaurant has great ambience, great crowd, great view , so much so that it has stolen bit of shine from the chef and their creations. A nice place to have a few drinks with cool friends occasionally, a nice place to impress your new girl friend but from gastronomical point of view, the food though interesting enough may not justify future visits unless the menu is changed periodically. The surprise element from the new created dishes will be the only reason for us to head back to Catalunya again. One thing for sure, i will request for a table with adequate lighting so that the dining experience can be more pleasant and wholesome ! Spent around SGD230 for two, excl, wine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Style & Flavour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Four of us met for a reunion lunch at Catalunya, and were treated to warm and friendly service, scrumptious tapas, and a divine setting. The restaurant is situated in an incognito spot between the the Fullerton Bayside Hotel and One Fullerton. Its not well sign-posted - I followed my nose from Clifford Pier since the only signs indicated an embarkation point for river-taxis. But sometimes the best secrets are a little bit hidden. And this one has the most spectacular view across the bay to MBS - must be even better after sunset.

The restaurant is supposedly housed in a floating pavilion, but we didn't notice the slightest rocking, although of course Marina Bay is no longer tidal anyway. The bar sits atop the restaurant which is graced with floor-to-ceiling glass, stylish banquettes, and the inevitable Catalan style decor.

Although they offered us Estrella - a Barcelona pilsner - we ended up with Stella (the guys) and Sangria (the gals). The beer served in the coolest modern pint glasses I have ever seen.

Then on to tapas. We ordered anchovies (long, slim and bristling with salty flavour), brochetas (classic fresh tomatoes with undertone of black olives), croquetas (light and tight), meatballs (stunningly presented), mini-suckling pig (melt in your mouth), calamares (can only guess it was cooked in the most delicious EVOO), Paella (rich seafood flavour & served in espresso cups - delightful !) and chorizo on egg & potatos (yum). Every dish tantalised the taste buds, enjoyed slowly over banter and laughter and by the end we were so satisfied and replete that neither mains nor desserts got a look-in.

Coffee (a la espanola, rather than the awful brew available elsewhere in Singapore) completed a perfect lunch.

I can't comment on the price since my friends paid. But I can say that this would be a 5 star review if only I had tried the other courses. There's only one thing for it - return visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great view, nice ambeince, decent food, expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had lunch with a client at Catalunya recently and would recommend it for business or lesisure. Its a unique venue in a the new Fullerton Pavillion which is spacious and intimate at the same time with great views of Marina Bay Sands.It can be a little hot on a sunny day sitting by the windows though.

The menu is broad with a good selection of tapas and main courses. Service is friendly and efficient and the lady who took our order was very helpful with suggestions and recommendations. The food was served without much delay and was well prepared.

All in all its a nice place but not cheap if you have proper three course meal with wine - it wil make a dent in wallet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Brought to you by El Bulli and Santi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Well, I didn't get to try El Bulli before it closed. Oh well, not a big fan of molecular cuisine. However, love Catalan cuisine and culture, so happy to report that this is more Catalonian then El Bulli-esque. The tapas are well executed here, we tried calamari (good), potato croquettes filled with minced beef (yum), pimento peppers, a tomato foam dish (the only molecular dish we had, and thus least interesting), anchovies (too salty but order the tomato bread to go with, that's excellent), a fried egg tapa with ham (also yum) and the standout tapa, the deconstructed tortilla. No omelette I could see and mashed potato foam. A bit pretentious but so tasty I can overlook that! After that we had to share the mains, the standout suckling pig, a decent txuleta (steak) and yummy lobster rice. We were too stuffed for dessert. Cocktails were delicious. I would go back for the suckling pig and tortilla. And another cocktail. Service was pretty decent, could have been that we went at lunchtime when it wasn't full. Room was cold but they turned up the temp at my request. It's expensive, no doubt, but not more so than many other high end places in Singapore, and finally I find a place that can hold a candle to the many excellent meals I had I Barcelona! We spent about $150 per person.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalunya also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalunya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.