We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Strand Hotel to your Saves list
Strand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189619, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location and good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed recently for 3 nights and are very pleased we did. The hotel is only a short walk to the MRT (train station) and to bus stops. Orchard Road, Raffels Hotel, China Town & Little India are all within walking distance. If you don't like walking then use the efficient train & bus service. Purchase a convenient prepaid ezlink card from the 7/11 store across the road to pay for your train & bus travel. Any left over credit can be used to purchase goods from the store. There is an Asian food court across the road with numerous tasty dishes available at very affordable prices. All staff were polite, friendly & helpful. Breakfast was available every day with cereal, fruit, toast, juice, tea & coffee as well as a cooked meal brought to our table. We stayed on the 8th floor at the back of the building and did not hear any noise from any construction work . The free WiFi worked well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the building - the 8th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ann_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Location , location ,location ... after all a standard hotel beds unfortunately the hard asian kind but apart from that breakfast was decent . room size good and staff reasonable helpful , there is still construction going on , for the subway station next door . (this probably not finsh till 2015 but i didnt hear anything on my side of building.) just painful for catching taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frangii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Because of the stinky smell in hotel 81 we looked around for other options for a hotel in the city.

The old lady on the reception sounds very warming when she gave us her rate,at that time,hotel 81 offered S$ 225 for one more night while hotel bencoolen just beside hotel 81 gave us S$265 for a night and says we will be given S$10 less for our 2nd night,Strand hotel gave us S$180 for the deluxe room and S$200 for their new rooms for me,my mom and my brother,while hotel 81 doesnt have breakfast,the rate that was given to us includes morning buffet amd free wifi.hotel 81 gives wifi per device and when you wake up in the morning,the internet is not working properly anymore.

The room is way better,3 single beds big space,big tv and smells nice.opposite to the stinky room,smal space and sofa bed,bad internet, no breakfast we experienced in hotel 81.the old lady and old man on the reception are very accomodating and the staffs are very warm and friendly.

Perfect for family and location is walking distance between orchard and suntec/esplanade

We felt like we checked in to a 5star hotel bec of their service

It took us 2days to get over how regretful we are not to find this hotel first which is just beside the hotel (hotel 81) we stayed in


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaetlyn_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were a family of 3 who booked a room for 2 persons. The hotel did not even charged us extra for that. We re-arranged the room by pushing the two beds together so that the three of us could fit. We thought we would get charged or reprimanded by the management, but the hotel staff already cleaned our room and changed the sheets but the beds were still together! It was so accommodating for the hotel staff to do that, that's why we were really delighted by the service the hotel gives.

The room itself was excellent. Everything was clean. The Flat Screen TV worked well, along with the bathroom plumbings and the pipeworks. The breakfast as well is excellent. The local food is delicious and the breakfast choices changed daily. Yet more accommodating staff at the cafeteria. The location is perfect. A walk away from malls, a bus away from the city, and a train station away from everything else. No need for expensive taxis anymore (except when going to Singapore Zoo, I think).

The only negative review I could give this hotel is that the cafe might be too small. At the time we were booked there were only few guests, but imagine if the hotel is full. You will be cramped at the canteen. Also, there is no free wifi. Some hotels provide free wifi at the lobby, if not at the rented rooms.

Still, this hotel is a recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Criminy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for a night to attend a meeting the next day. The room size is alright and overall cleanliness is fine. However, the receptionists (regardless what shift they were on) looks like they hate their job. They don't smile nor greet whoever that comes to the counter. They really need to attend some customer service class or put a big mirror to reflect their faces when they talk to guests. The room does not come with drinking water at all. Barely any toiletries. You have to pay for deposit if you want the ironing board and iron, and even hair dryer. There is a 7E nearby and also a MRT station. Amenities is basically close by with this hotel and wifi is provided for free. I stayed in cheaper hotel the next day, and guess what, the room actually comes with drinking water, hair dryer and toiletries! Plus a much more friendlier and helpful receptionist who greets and welcome the guests at any time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsianWalkAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
166 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Every time I travel with family, service & atmosphere of the hotel are more important to me than the look, get-up, etc. This time before going to Singapore, I had spent almost hundred hours to find a well recommended (by tripadvisor, obviously) family hotel with reasonable cost/ price.

In such situation, I had decided to communicate with Strand Hotel. And, I think that was the most correct decision of all. Philina, the reservation staff of Strand Hotel has been so generous, responsive and helpful to me .... which has been beyond my best expectations. We are very much thankful to her and the hotel. We received numbers of good services from the hotel. And, thus would highly recommend this hotel, specially for family visitors.

It is nearby two MRT stations (Dhobi Ghat & Bukit something); numbers of bus stops around; opposite to 'Seven Eleven' and a Hawker food Court with multiple options, a Mexican restaurant next door, money exchange 2 buildings away; just one building away from the main road. MRT construction going on in front, but no noise was there at the higher floor levels.

Only suggestion to the hotel: Please renovate your reception area and give it a modern look the way you have renovated the hotel rooms.

The hotel also allows early check in, we reached the hotel at 6:15 am and got a room with no extra charge.. as one room was available.

Breakfast was complimentary and of moderate quality (cereal, bread&butter, noodles, hashbrown, bacon, beans, juices) and more than fine with us.

Room was simply great, we got a room at 9th floor. Staff are generous and kind like all the other people in Singapore.

I liked the hotel very much... And, would like to stay there again... Thanks to the staff, specially Philina, for your wonderful and amazing supports. Best wishes to Strand.

Room Tip: While booking advice the Hotel: For room at higher floors and with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Imrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintulu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Strand is a neat place with moderate size rooms located fairly close to the metro station which makes it a boon in Singapore. Rooms are clean and well furnished.

Restaurant is basic. If you can avoid it, there is a food court around the corner.

Overall, book this place if you need a decent place to sleep over and you are looking for value for money. It is a safe bet. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Czar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#56 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 5,358 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#147 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Bayview Hotel Singapore
#195 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Hotel
#118 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Rochor
Hotel Bencoolen
Hotel Bencoolen
#168 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Hotel Kai
#85 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel

Address: 25 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189619, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing