We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service of a 5 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Strand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strand Hotel
25 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189619, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Service of a 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Because of the stinky smell in hotel 81 we looked around for other options for a hotel in the city.

The old lady on the reception sounds very warming when she gave us her rate,at that time,hotel 81 offered S$ 225 for one more night while hotel bencoolen just beside hotel 81 gave us S$265 for a night and says we will be given S$10 less for our 2nd night,Strand hotel gave us S$180 for the deluxe room and S$200 for their new rooms for me,my mom and my brother,while hotel 81 doesnt have breakfast,the rate that was given to us includes morning buffet amd free wifi.hotel 81 gives wifi per device and when you wake up in the morning,the internet is not working properly anymore.

The room is way better,3 single beds big space,big tv and smells nice.opposite to the stinky room,smal space and sofa bed,bad internet, no breakfast we experienced in hotel 81.the old lady and old man on the reception are very accomodating and the staffs are very warm and friendly.

Perfect for family and location is walking distance between orchard and suntec/esplanade

We felt like we checked in to a 5star hotel bec of their service

It took us 2days to get over how regretful we are not to find this hotel first which is just beside the hotel (hotel 81) we stayed in


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    95
    46
    17
    7
See reviews for
89
35
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angeles City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were a family of 3 who booked a room for 2 persons. The hotel did not even charged us extra for that. We re-arranged the room by pushing the two beds together so that the three of us could fit. We thought we would get charged or reprimanded by the management, but the hotel staff already cleaned our room and changed the sheets but the beds were still together! It was so accommodating for the hotel staff to do that, that's why we were really delighted by the service the hotel gives.

The room itself was excellent. Everything was clean. The Flat Screen TV worked well, along with the bathroom plumbings and the pipeworks. The breakfast as well is excellent. The local food is delicious and the breakfast choices changed daily. Yet more accommodating staff at the cafeteria. The location is perfect. A walk away from malls, a bus away from the city, and a train station away from everything else. No need for expensive taxis anymore (except when going to Singapore Zoo, I think).

The only negative review I could give this hotel is that the cafe might be too small. At the time we were booked there were only few guests, but imagine if the hotel is full. You will be cramped at the canteen. Also, there is no free wifi. Some hotels provide free wifi at the lobby, if not at the rented rooms.

Still, this hotel is a recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for a night to attend a meeting the next day. The room size is alright and overall cleanliness is fine. However, the receptionists (regardless what shift they were on) looks like they hate their job. They don't smile nor greet whoever that comes to the counter. They really need to attend some customer service class or put a big mirror to reflect their faces when they talk to guests. The room does not come with drinking water at all. Barely any toiletries. You have to pay for deposit if you want the ironing board and iron, and even hair dryer. There is a 7E nearby and also a MRT station. Amenities is basically close by with this hotel and wifi is provided for free. I stayed in cheaper hotel the next day, and guess what, the room actually comes with drinking water, hair dryer and toiletries! Plus a much more friendlier and helpful receptionist who greets and welcome the guests at any time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Every time I travel with family, service & atmosphere of the hotel are more important to me than the look, get-up, etc. This time before going to Singapore, I had spent almost hundred hours to find a well recommended (by tripadvisor, obviously) family hotel with reasonable cost/ price.

In such situation, I had decided to communicate with Strand Hotel. And, I think that was the most correct decision of all. Philina, the reservation staff of Strand Hotel has been so generous, responsive and helpful to me .... which has been beyond my best expectations. We are very much thankful to her and the hotel. We received numbers of good services from the hotel. And, thus would highly recommend this hotel, specially for family visitors.

It is nearby two MRT stations (Dhobi Ghat & Bukit something); numbers of bus stops around; opposite to 'Seven Eleven' and a Hawker food Court with multiple options, a Mexican restaurant next door, money exchange 2 buildings away; just one building away from the main road. MRT construction going on in front, but no noise was there at the higher floor levels.

Only suggestion to the hotel: Please renovate your reception area and give it a modern look the way you have renovated the hotel rooms.

The hotel also allows early check in, we reached the hotel at 6:15 am and got a room with no extra charge.. as one room was available.

Breakfast was complimentary and of moderate quality (cereal, bread&butter, noodles, hashbrown, bacon, beans, juices) and more than fine with us.

Room was simply great, we got a room at 9th floor. Staff are generous and kind like all the other people in Singapore.

I liked the hotel very much... And, would like to stay there again... Thanks to the staff, specially Philina, for your wonderful and amazing supports. Best wishes to Strand.

Room Tip: While booking advice the Hotel: For room at higher floors and with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintulu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Strand is a neat place with moderate size rooms located fairly close to the metro station which makes it a boon in Singapore. Rooms are clean and well furnished.

Restaurant is basic. If you can avoid it, there is a food court around the corner.

Overall, book this place if you need a decent place to sleep over and you are looking for value for money. It is a safe bet. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Its very centrally located hotel with rooms being pretty clean, breakfast is nice and overall good value for money. The staff is pretty helpful and warm to guests. Location wise its very good and has various means of transportation available at walking distances.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

great location. walking distance to mrt sation, bus stop, taxi stand and catholic church. just across the street is a 24 hours food center (kopitiam) and 7 eleven. 5 mins by taxi going to orchard (famous shopping area), suntec mall (fountain of wealth) and funan (great area for shopping gadgets). clean and neat rooms. good american buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel

Address: 25 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189619, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#130 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#130 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.