We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Strand Hotel to your Saves list
Strand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189619, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Suprisingly Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were a family of 3 who booked a room for 2 persons. The hotel did not even charged us extra for that. We re-arranged the room by pushing the two beds together so that the three of us could fit. We thought we would get charged or reprimanded by the management, but the hotel staff already cleaned our room and changed the sheets but the beds were still together! It was so accommodating for the hotel staff to do that, that's why we were really delighted by the service the hotel gives.

The room itself was excellent. Everything was clean. The Flat Screen TV worked well, along with the bathroom plumbings and the pipeworks. The breakfast as well is excellent. The local food is delicious and the breakfast choices changed daily. Yet more accommodating staff at the cafeteria. The location is perfect. A walk away from malls, a bus away from the city, and a train station away from everything else. No need for expensive taxis anymore (except when going to Singapore Zoo, I think).

The only negative review I could give this hotel is that the cafe might be too small. At the time we were booked there were only few guests, but imagine if the hotel is full. You will be cramped at the canteen. Also, there is no free wifi. Some hotels provide free wifi at the lobby, if not at the rented rooms.

Still, this hotel is a recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    131
    69
    22
    9
See reviews for
118
47
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for a night to attend a meeting the next day. The room size is alright and overall cleanliness is fine. However, the receptionists (regardless what shift they were on) looks like they hate their job. They don't smile nor greet whoever that comes to the counter. They really need to attend some customer service class or put a big mirror to reflect their faces when they talk to guests. The room does not come with drinking water at all. Barely any toiletries. You have to pay for deposit if you want the ironing board and iron, and even hair dryer. There is a 7E nearby and also a MRT station. Amenities is basically close by with this hotel and wifi is provided for free. I stayed in cheaper hotel the next day, and guess what, the room actually comes with drinking water, hair dryer and toiletries! Plus a much more friendlier and helpful receptionist who greets and welcome the guests at any time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Every time I travel with family, service & atmosphere of the hotel are more important to me than the look, get-up, etc. This time before going to Singapore, I had spent almost hundred hours to find a well recommended (by tripadvisor, obviously) family hotel with reasonable cost/ price.

In such situation, I had decided to communicate with Strand Hotel. And, I think that was the most correct decision of all. Philina, the reservation staff of Strand Hotel has been so generous, responsive and helpful to me .... which has been beyond my best expectations. We are very much thankful to her and the hotel. We received numbers of good services from the hotel. And, thus would highly recommend this hotel, specially for family visitors.

It is nearby two MRT stations (Dhobi Ghat & Bukit something); numbers of bus stops around; opposite to 'Seven Eleven' and a Hawker food Court with multiple options, a Mexican restaurant next door, money exchange 2 buildings away; just one building away from the main road. MRT construction going on in front, but no noise was there at the higher floor levels.

Only suggestion to the hotel: Please renovate your reception area and give it a modern look the way you have renovated the hotel rooms.

The hotel also allows early check in, we reached the hotel at 6:15 am and got a room with no extra charge.. as one room was available.

Breakfast was complimentary and of moderate quality (cereal, bread&butter, noodles, hashbrown, bacon, beans, juices) and more than fine with us.

Room was simply great, we got a room at 9th floor. Staff are generous and kind like all the other people in Singapore.

I liked the hotel very much... And, would like to stay there again... Thanks to the staff, specially Philina, for your wonderful and amazing supports. Best wishes to Strand.

Room Tip: While booking advice the Hotel: For room at higher floors and with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintulu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Strand is a neat place with moderate size rooms located fairly close to the metro station which makes it a boon in Singapore. Rooms are clean and well furnished.

Restaurant is basic. If you can avoid it, there is a food court around the corner.

Overall, book this place if you need a decent place to sleep over and you are looking for value for money. It is a safe bet. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Its very centrally located hotel with rooms being pretty clean, breakfast is nice and overall good value for money. The staff is pretty helpful and warm to guests. Location wise its very good and has various means of transportation available at walking distances.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

great location. walking distance to mrt sation, bus stop, taxi stand and catholic church. just across the street is a 24 hours food center (kopitiam) and 7 eleven. 5 mins by taxi going to orchard (famous shopping area), suntec mall (fountain of wealth) and funan (great area for shopping gadgets). clean and neat rooms. good american buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondokgede, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Budget and location-wise, Strand Hotel is a very good and convenient hotel. Had a good 3D2N stay with friends. The hotel is surprisingly very quiet despite the construction is taking place just outside of the hotel.

Location:
Not a lot of tourist attraction but Bras Basah and Dhoby Ghaut MRT station and bus stop is on a walking distance. Excellent!

There is Bencoolen station construction so it may be inconvenient for some of the guests. But it is not as dusty as you expected. The construction workers clean the mess and even mop the sidewalks (at least that is what I saw).

711 is right across the street. There is also kopitiam next to it with reasonably-priced and good varieties of foods. You may consider to have a breakfast here should you on a long stay at Strand.
Coffee Bean is also nearby if you want to grab some coffee and chilling up.

A health clinic is located beside the hotel.

For muslims, there is masjid just 50 meters away from the hotel and halal food stall nearby.

If you a vegetarian, there is a lot of vegetarian restaurant at Fortune Center. Just a walking distance away.

Staffs:
Front desk was very helpful but all of the staffs are unfriendly. What's wrong with smiling? It is not hotel Transylvania.

Rooms:
Room is not that spacious but very clean. The bed is fine, the pillow could be better. Air conditioning is working fine. TV placement is questionable, why did they place it between the pillars? We ended up not touching that big nice TV. But hey, who is watching TV while on a vacation?

The room has a decent sound proof materials as we didn't have in issue with construction just below our window.

Bathroom is rather small but again is very clean with good amenities and separate toilet, great for group stay I must say :D
Shower is nice and has great water pressure. Never had an issue with the hot water.

Breakfast:
Strand offers very basic and tasteless menu of breakfast:
2 chicken sausages, 2 ham bacons, sunny side up / scrambled egg and hash brown / red bean.

There is also a small buffet of:
- Coffee / Tea (both are poor).
- Cheap cereals and milk.
- Cheap toast/pancake.
- Bland fried Noodles (better mix it with sambal provided for a better taste).
- Orange / apple juice.

I suggest you to have a breakfast at Kopitiam across the street for a better taste and mood.

Wi-fi:
We have a complimentary wi-fi during our stay. Speed is reasonably quick but signal strength is kinda poor in our room.

Overall Experience:
We were not stay in the hotel most of the time, but I have to say we had a comfortable and decent stay.

If you're a on a group vacation and on a budget, you night consider Strand Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room away from construction site if you wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Rochor
Hotel Bencoolen
Hotel Bencoolen
#155 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#111 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Victoria Hotel
#105 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bayview Hotel Singapore
#191 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
V Hotel Bencoolen
#185 of 300 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
RELC International Hotel
#153 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel

Address: 25 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189619, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.