We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Strand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strand Hotel
25 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189619, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just Right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was so confused which hotel to go as trip advisors has all kinds of review.i will give thumps up for Strand hotel. Its a good three star experience if you take deluxe room and ask for room which has behind road view.

Its perfect location for MRT, Bus station and food options.Also, there is a Seven eleven opposited of this hotel. That makes it easy for u. Dhobby ghaut is walkable from there

Great value for money. i dont think you have any such option in Singapore....Just go for it

Room Tip: Choose room away from the MRT construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    99
    47
    17
    7
See reviews for
92
35
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed a week and the price was reasonable, the room offer cheap polyester quality pillow and bedsheets and the room was poorly lighted. The location just opposite a a Seven Eleven store for cheaper beer and drinks to bring back to your room. A large dinning area Food Court called Kopitiam. You could eat cheaply and all sort of Asian fares cooked in front of you and reasonably cheap, the coffee was better there too.. We had two unsmiling old looking and unfriendly bell boys from check-in-and-checkout time. The noise level was not acceptable because the subway construction below our room windows. If you want to sleep late, forget it, the housekeeping staff talk loud and make all sort of noises while pushing laundry trolleys and vacuum cleaners as early as 8 am.. we complained but every day was the same and that forced us to wake up. Breakfast was include but really silly offer, the food is quickly cooked and tasteless and the buffet displays was with cheap bread, cheap marmalade and margarine. The cereals were the cheapest you could find in supper markets and honestly, the coffeehouse look clinical and so uninviting, with plastic chairs, fake leather sofa and the coffee, you would not even touch it. When we asked for quality freshly brood breakfast coffee, they charged us the same price as a five star hotel, even when we told them we would not eat the breakfast, just to quality cups of coffee, disgusting! The only people who were friendly were the old ladies at the front desk. The price was very reasonable and location is perfect as it is walking distance to Orchard Road and Raffles City. beware that at night, there are lots of Filipino lady Boys (Transvestite) looking for sex and the occasional china prostitute who will accost you at the entrance of seven eleven. they are petty thefts, so don't even think of bringing them to your room. also some Indian men, coming to you and saying 'You are a Lucky Man' beware, they are conman and want to tell your for and ask for money, they are not from Singapore and are petty thief as well. By the time you look for help, they are long gone and in Singapore, you don't see a single policemen ion the street which at night is frustrating if you are in trouble. The Strand Hotel allows China prostitutes to use the hotel and they are making too much noise in the wee hours of the morning, shouting in the corridors and smoking in non smoking floor.. so cheap but with the problems of a non star hotel.

Room Tip: ask for corner room away from the noice facing the hotel with subway constructions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Simply love the spacious room like old time, able to run around so to speak. Its an old hotel, hence a liftups for the room will be great. Great location for almost everything, like sightseeing, shopping and looking for food. MRT Bras Basah is just 2min away, Dhoby Ghaut is some walking distance, buses are everywhere on Orchard Road..

Room Tip: Its just right place to stay for a family setting. Location is just at where you want to be.. Shoppi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were a family of 10 when we stayed at this hotel for 5 days - 2 family rooms (2 queen size beds). 1 room had no issues with the beds, bathroom. The other room had an issue with water leaking at the shower area (only during taking a bath) but it was tolerable. Each rooms were equipped with coffee, kettle, 4 free toothbrush+toothpaste, 4 room slippers. We had no problems with the sockets because most of us have been to SG before and we already brought a universal adapter.

Check In: We didnt encounter any problem but it took too long. They had to get all our passport names (so we had to give them our passports), all 10 of us.

Check Out: The trainee made a mistake by overcharging our credit card for S$330!!! Good thing we double-checked all the credit card receipts given and noticed the overcharging. Though it seemed liked an honest mistake, but, it was not acceptable. We had to go back&forth with all the many receipts (because the terminal didnt allow them to charge the overall amount of S$1,920, so they had to divide it....hassle).

Breakfast: Was okay, not the best breakfast, but not bad either. It was enough to fill our stomach before lunch time. However, it was the same breakfast from Monday to Sunday.

Location: Very convenient, 2 MRTs in the area - Bras Basah, Dhoby Ghaut. Fast food place Kopitiam, and 711 were right across the hotel. Thumbs up!

Airport Service: Well, knowing and doing our research about the front area being closed for the MRT construction, we didnt rely on simply asking the staff to hail a cab for us. We were 10 with multiple luggages so it would be a nightmare hailing a cab. We hired a van - very affordable, S$50-60 going to the airport. Great Option!

Rooms: were pretty acceptable. we didnt want to be choosy and nitpick because afterall, it wasnt a 5-star hotel. It has the basic necessities you need.

Housekeeping: No issues, kept the room clean, nothing was missing

Staff: Well, Singaporeans are not the most smiling and kind people in the world and so we had to excuse them for looking stiff and haggard. however, we did encounter few staff who had some smile to their face and were kind. I guess, the kindness campaign of their government is working.

Overall Experience: We had an overall pleasant experience. We weren't in the hotel most of the time - we leave 830-10am, come back 9-11pm. The times that we were there were okay for us.

If you're a group of 8-10 and on a budget, looking for descent place to sleep, this hotel may work you. =)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel and booked the family room for the five of us. It was really spacious and fit all of us just fine.

What I love most about this hotel is the convenience of its location! The Ben Coolen train station is right around the corner. There's a 7-11 right across should you need supplies. And there's a 24-hour Kopitiam food court across in case you get hungry.

When traveling in Singapore, you do a LOT of walking so it's a big plus to be staying at a hotel that's near a train station.

The rates aren't bad at all, and the room is pretty decent for the price. I recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is clean and basic. The room was very large and the beds comfortable enough. The staff are reasonably helpful. The bathroom is also very spacious. Prices are very reasonable for this part of the world.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I chose this hotel because I thought it was near Dhoby Ghaut MRT (which intersects 3 MRT lines) and the famous Orchard Rd based on google map. Guess what? It's not as close as I thought but overall, not a bad hotel.

Pros

1. Affordable. Based on my reviews of the hotels near Orchard Rd, it is one of the more affordable hotels in that area. I paid about $160/night for 3 people which includes breakfast. The standard rate in other hotels in the same area was about $180-250/night.

2. Near Museums. The hotel was just just a short block away from the Singapore Art Museum and National Museum. Normally, these museums will charge a nominal fee ($8-10/person) but there are certain times or days that entrance fee is free. For Singapore Art Museum, entrance fee is waived every Friday night while the National Museum can let you in at no cost starting at 6pm - onwards (museum closes 8pm). We went in the National Museum and they have really excellent and interesting exhibits.

3. Kopikiam across the street. This Kopikiam looks like a foodcourt frequented by nearby employees and students. It is open 24 hours, good local food, affordable meals (S$6-8) and really just across the street from the hotel.There is a 7-11 beside it. The food is okay but not really something to wow about. Some local dishes but there are also other international offering like Korean and Japanese food. I like ordering from the stall which sells duck and my mom really loved the Longan drink.


Cons

1. Street closed in front of the hotel. Apparently, they are constructing an MRT station in front of the hotel which makes it difficult for taxis to drop check-in guests with luggage. We were dropped at the side of the hotel and had to struggle with the luggage with no one to help us (even the driver). What's worst was that there was only one lane for traffic and there was an oncoming truck so we had to hurry up getting off.

2. Difficult to get a taxi. Since the road was closed, you would need to go to the next hotel (Rendevous Hotel) and que up at the taxi bay to get a taxi. But, of course, the bellhop/guard would prioritize their hotel guest first so you might have to wait a bit. I didn't see any other near taxi bays nearby. For our trip to the airport, we had to ask the Strand Hotel guard to help us find one. Even then, we had to wait about 10-15 minutes since taxis seldom pass by the hotel.

Note: There is a bus stop just some steps away from the hotel and an MRT station (Basah) a block away which only serves 1 line.

3. Limited breakfast choice. The rate for the hotel includes breakfast but you might be disappointed. It consist of 2 chicken hotdog, egg (scramble/sunny side), rice hashbrown/pork and beans. On a table on the side of the room, there is juice, tea, coffee, bread and vegetable noodle. Not bad, right? But its the same thing they offer every day so by the 3rd day, you're actually sick of seeing the food. The server don't even ask how you would like the eggs prepared, they just put the plate in front of you.

4. Have WiFi in the room and better cable channel choices.

Rooms were okay but terrible view (back of the hotel). We had to close our curtains the whole time because there was a building next door that can see into our room. Although the hotel is really near Orchard Rd, it is very far from the stores/malls. It is also a bit of a walk to Dhoby Ghaut MRT station and the road closure (will open in 2017) makes it difficult to get taxis. If you want to explore Orchard Rd and want a convenient hotel, the Strand Hotel is probably not for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel

Address: 25 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189619, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#122 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#122 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.