We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chinatown Hotel

Chinatown Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chinatown Hotel to your Saves list
Chinatown Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 Teck Lim Rd, Singapore 088388, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

.... but if you explore the city, end up in your bed deadtired at midnight: it'll do.
breakfast? who cares, great alternative at Mac only 5 minutes away.
Depending on the other visitors it can be quiet.
The staff did their best to get us a quiet room and actually refunded because we ended up in a smaller (but nicer) room.

Room Tip: stay away from room 303: noisy switchboard of the elevator is right next to this room. Also there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    11
    13
    15
See reviews for
2
8
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Booked the hotel via Agoda for a night. Due to unforeseen circumstances unable to stay for the night. Contacted Agoda to change the date to a week later, Agoda tried to arrange with the hotel but it was rejected. Understandable. Agoda's staff was helpful and patient to listened on my unfortunate event. Contacted the hotel directly hopefully they will be considerate. I regretted the call to the hotel. Spoken with a staff named ROBIN. Unfriendly tone and usage of vocabs. Immediately rejected my request without listening. When requested to speak with the Manager on duty claimed Manager is off and no one can assist. ROBIN indirectly telling me, there is no other channel of escalation. To my shock, towards the end of the conversation, he told me he's the one who make decision and sounded heck care. From the review in Tripadvisor, it seems no point for me to escalate the matter to the Manager or owner of the hotel. Only can wish Chinatown Hotel best of luck to has such a staff.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Chinatown hotel is not a tourist low cost hotel to stay, it's more like a spot for Singapore General Hospital to sleep overnight here because it's just munite away of walking from the SGH. And the facilities of this hotel was terrible, the rooms were small, though the hotel serves breakfast, the breakfast area was too small to have breakfast. It can only contain the maximum of two small families. Overall, not recomended for tourist

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stay in Singapore with some frequency and wanted to be close to Teck Lim Rd. on my last trip. I booked a room at Chinatown Hotel for about 85 SGD per night, which seemed rather pricey considering the overall tripadvisor review, but it was a last minute booking. Although the location is excellent, the room itself was terrible. There is only one outlet in the entire room, and it is located in a back corner under a table, requiring you to get on your hands and knees to even attempt to plug anything in. The towels were incredibly dirty, with hairs on them from a previous guest. The walls are paper thin and we spent the entire morning listening to the conversation taking place in the room next to us while we tried to sleep. Lastly, the person I was traveling with woke up with a rash on his back, presumably from the bed. Although the location is amazing, this hotel is overpriced for what you will be getting and you can certainly find a better deal in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

The location is about approx 5 - 10 minutes walk to either outram park or chinatown mrt station.
Room is quite clean and quite comfy.

Tips: take a walk to chinatown area (smith street) that has variety of eating places.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Not a place to come if you're not a student with a low budget. Very small rooms. Not so clean. Location is the only good thing. Rooms are very practical. Not much else to do in it.

Lightswitches didn't work in my room. Staff were slow.

Overall, my experience here was subpar. The only reedemable quality was the cheaper price. But I woudln't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

My partner and I wanted to walk all of Singapore in a week, so we needed a hotel for long term stay. As we are both students, we needed a budget style accommodation. As you may have discovered, hotels in Singapore are extremely expensive due to the shortage of land and high cost/quality of life. Within the budget hotels range, Chinatown is at the top. It is located in the nicer district and is more safe. We did examine other accommodations such as Pearl and Ruby, but these motels are quite scary. So Chinatown was the best we could get.

Here is the thing: if you are a student on a budget, this is the best choice you can make. If you are willing to spend a little more, you can get a much better hotel through a travel agent by adding around 15USD more per night.

Since we live in Taiwan, room size was not an issue for us. The room was reasonably sized with adequate lighting and a working air conditioner. The rest was disappointing. The bed cover had a huge stain in the middle. For peace of mind, we assumed it was spilled coffee, though based on the dirt inside the coffee machine, I doubt it was used in the last century.

The actual bedding was clean and the bed was reasonably comfortable. What irritated me the most was the shower. Yes the shower is not separated from the toilet area, but if you visited Hong Kong, its nothing special. The problem was, the hot water did not flow properly so we had to shower under a tiny stream of water.

Our first experience with housekeeping was also disappointing. We were still in our room at 10am when housekeeper showed up. We asked her to come back later, but she stated that it aint gonna happen. Again we kept our positive spirits and traded some dirty towels in exhange for fresh ones.

The second day an older lady was cleaning the place and she was much nicer and did a wonderful job restocking the room and providing us with clean bedding. We did not see any roaches, be it ants or cockroaches.

In short, if you just need a place to sleep, Chinatown hotel is acceptable, but if you want more, this is not a place for you. If you demand nothing and expect nothing, you should have an OK stay. The hotel is safe and hotel desk staff is nice (depending on who is onsite, but hey its Singapore).

Since its unfair to end on a sad note, I would say the location of the hotel is quite nice, near Chinatown station, within 25 minute walk from the docks and entertainment district, on the purple line that gets you to all major destinations. Chinatown is 5 minutes walk. The hotel is situated within a quiet street and has a few bars around, some more fancy than others. Occasional working lady was spotted in the vicinity but it is not frequent.

Room Tip: Insist on inspecting the room before hand, but I think they are all more or less the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chinatown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinatown Hotel

Address: 12-16 Teck Lim Rd, Singapore 088388, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chinatown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Chinatown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinatown Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinatown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.